Thumbnail icon for G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
5.1/10
Price
4.9/10
Features
4.3/10
Customer service
5.0/10
Convenience
4.7/10
Trust
5.7/10
Based on 7 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent G&C Mutual Bank personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • G&C Mutual Bank Fair Rate Personal Loan - AA Rated Borrowers (Variable, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive costs with easy and quick approval.

    Great bank to do business with. Staff easy to understand and deal with and supportive of my needs. Online facilities simple and easy to follw

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Warren, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Useless processes and need constant follow up

    The personal loan application online was great. It went downhill from there. We had to constantly follow up to get our money through. All up it took 8 working days from application to receiving the money in the account (the website and confirmation email states 3-5 working days). If we didn't follow up constantly it would have taken heaps longer. Now we have gone to transfer the money over to our everyday bank account to withdraw the cash -- once online banking login is blocked from doing withdrawals and the other can only transfer 33% of the total loan in one day. I regret applying and will stick with my usual bank from now on.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anonymous, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    You're a member not a number.

    This personal loan is actually an overdraft and has been my saviour many times. It cannot work miracles because as a pensioner my Income makes gradual reduction difficult. Unfortunately, my Superannuation was less than sufficient for my retirement- but that isn't the bank's fault, the G&c Mutual Bank (formerly S.G.E) are supportive and understanding.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Janyce, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    HORRIBLE! nasty people! charge you $80 if you dont answer the phone when they call! its absolutely ridiculous! NEVER go with them. Untrustworthy and rude! DONT GO WITH THEM!!!

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Laura, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    Their selection criteria for loan approval is a little bit strict, but worth striving for.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bob, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    The interest rate went up with interest rates but never came down. Tip: don't take personal loan with SGE.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Roger, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10

    The interest rate on my SGE personal loan was a crippling 15.5%! I got a car loan through them and at the same consolidated credit card debt to a personal loan. It took me so long to pay it off. I would never do it again.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, New South Wales, reviewed about 11 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      8.00% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $150.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.89% p.a.to 23.07% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $300.00upfront
      and
      $10.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,490.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.99% p.a.to 28.69% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.69% p.a.to 29.55% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $500.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.35% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $250.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $36,738.90 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.79% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.83% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
      fees
      $299.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.79% would cost $11,380.22 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 226 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.