GIO logo

GIO Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Value for money
7.2/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
7.8/10
Claims handling
7.5/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 171 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The best insurance company by far.

    Always ready to listen to better insurance deals and even better they beat the competition.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Shirley, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad! don't use as they try everything to not pay.

    I had a claim made on the 2nd of November 2020 and to this day, March 30 2021, they have still not made repairs, settled the claim or taken action. I have contacted their internal disputes team five times now and each time they make promises to sort it, they end up not doing anything. Don't waste time with internal disputes, go straight to AFCA and make a complaint. My house is mouldy, my family are stressed and exposed to mould. They have tried to cancel my claim, but had to honour it. They have investigated me for fraud and found nothing. They are continually trying to find a way out of providing insurance and it's now five months after the damage was caused. I have had private builders come in and quote it and try to get it fixed but GIO/Suncorp do nothing apart from make drama. Honestly, they are very bad. I would also be concerned if you're a shareholder of GIO as they clearly have no employee training that works, everyone is working from home and getting calls returned or even answered is a struggle. I have had case managers cry on the phone as they simply don't know what they're doing and must be getting worked to the bone by the management of GIO/Suncorp. I would use another brand like NRMA as GIO simply try everything and anything to get out of the claim including going through phone records, police checks, etc and for what? A water leak in the bathroom! They have made me feel like a primal, exposed my family to mould and health risk, don't respond to calls, don't make decisions to get things sorted. Very bad insurance company. Don't use. trust me, they're the worst.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chad, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Are you with GIO? Get same comparative quotes NOW!

    Been with GIO 30+ years. Latest renewal cost has gone through the roof! We are not in any 'risk' zone. Building insurance ONLY is now 50% more than Westpac's building AND contents. Combined building and contents with GIO was 260% more. And Westpac's cover is more comprehensive with lower excess!

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great competitive pricing.

    Competitive pricing and great turnaround on claims.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Grant, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Very approachable, easy to understand and very accommodating. Always willing to review premium when up for renewal.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Western Australia, reviewed 16 days ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I would strongly recommend GIO

    I really like my GIO Home and Contents Insurance because they are excellent in providing all the requirements needed with attention to detail. They have a good team of assessors and customer service personnel and their premiums are highly competitive. Sometimes the person they allocate to do the work can take time however once I voice a complaint it is looked into to my satisfaction. I was given the rolls royce treatment when I had hail storm damage to my skylights and also to my roof tiles about 3 years ago.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sylvia, New South Wales, reviewed 22 days ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Definitely worth paying a little extra for!

    Here me out - you will pay a little more for GIO but they are definitely worth it. We have been with them now for over 3 years and have had to put in a few claims over that time (storms). From the whole claims process, emails, phone calls - each time has been easy and very fast. We have the middle of the range policy but it covers a lot. Friendly staff and their call centres are based in Australia! When they say they will call you by a certain day - they do! We now have our cars with them too. Very happy with this insurance company.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Candice, New South Wales, reviewed 22 days ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    GIO are doing exactly what's promised.

    GIO are so attentive to me as a customer. I have had a claim on a damaged upright stove, the item has been replaced as the only option available is that, in a short time with wonderful, professional tradespeople that complement the quality of the company. Insurance for the contents in my new apartment could not have been made easier than when I visited the GIO office in my own city for information on cover and costing. Personally I feel GIO has the best options and most certainly the best service and information available giving the complete coverage of what they sell plus warranties on their work done and replacements when that is necessary. I would always highly recommend from my experiences in all stages of purchase and claims. They do as they say with careful consideration to detail.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Annette, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Love your money but don't like handing it out

    1st claim in 20 years took 7 months to repair damaged caused by storm. 10 months later repairs are falling apart. Changed insurer in that 10 months as service or lack of was terrible and even though the repairs have a life long warranty its only if you stay insured with GIO. Therefore they won't fix repairs. Arranged independent trade that stated the first repairs were badly done. Cant trust them.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anthony, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent Insurer

    I have been with GIO for twenty years and always have been wonderful.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liz, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Go with GIO for insurance.

    We are very happy with GIO. GIO have been excellent for claim service. They have competitive prices for their premiums. It's best to compare prices with other insurers when deciding on any type of insurance. Talk to family and friends about their experiences with various companies before you decide.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Bundle with GIO.

    GIO is an excellent insurer. I have my building and contents insured with them and receive a good discount for having both with them. They have been around for a very long time and I consider them trustworthy.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No responsibility.

    Had a water leak behind the shower wall due to a leaking spindle. Three different assessors sent and 3rd recommended that GIO remove the shower wall to investigate possible damage and mould. Recommendations ignored. The cause of the water damage was their responsibility. They are happy to take your premiums.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    A company to give one peace of mind.

    A great insurer. I have made a few claims, house got flooded from a burst pipe and it only took one phone call to the claims centre They handled the rest, moved furniture packed up books etc. drained the waterbed. Couldn't have been more helpful all within 12 hors of the pipe bursting. All repairs done at moved back in by the following week.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Garry, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    High price for insurance

    The pricing is too high. I’m a little disappointed as I live in a low risk area.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Joy, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.