GIO logo

GIO Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Value for money
7.2/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
7.8/10
Claims handling
7.6/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 162 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent Insurer

    I have been with GIO for twenty years and always have been wonderful.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liz, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Go with GIO for insurance.

    We are very happy with GIO. GIO have been excellent for claim service. They have competitive prices for their premiums. It's best to compare prices with other insurers when deciding on any type of insurance. Talk to family and friends about their experiences with various companies before you decide.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Bundle with GIO.

    GIO is an excellent insurer. I have my building and contents insured with them and receive a good discount for having both with them. They have been around for a very long time and I consider them trustworthy.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No responsibility.

    Had a water leak behind the shower wall due to a leaking spindle. Three different assessors sent and 3rd recommended that GIO remove the shower wall to investigate possible damage and mould. Recommendations ignored. The cause of the water damage was their responsibility. They are happy to take your premiums.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    A company to give one peace of mind.

    A great insurer. I have made a few claims, house got flooded from a burst pipe and it only took one phone call to the claims centre They handled the rest, moved furniture packed up books etc. drained the waterbed. Couldn't have been more helpful all within 12 hors of the pipe bursting. All repairs done at moved back in by the following week.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Garry, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    High price for insurance

    The pricing is too high. I’m a little disappointed as I live in a low risk area.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Joy, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Recommend

    Good

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The best around

    Best cover and rates, great customer service, saved lots by bundling house, contents and car insurance.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marianne, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good

    GIO is a good company.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not explicit enough when signing

    Flood & acts of nature were not in the document.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Marianne, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    I have been with GIO for years and with good deal

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cynthia, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Rates are high and could be more competitive

    Rates are high and could be more competitive

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • GIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Fairly good service and reasonably priced

    We're reasonably priced compared to others

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Less
    Judy, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent customer service

    I am happy so far with is insurer.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dung, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • GIO Classic Extra Home & Contents review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Satisfied service

    Happy with product

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Less
    Alison, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.