Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Personal loan customer reviews

Overall rating
8.0/10
Price
7.9/10
Features
7.4/10
Customer service
8.1/10
Convenience
7.7/10
Trust
8.1/10
Based on 142 Great Southern Bank personal loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Great Southern Bank personal loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan

    Generally good with some caveats

    Really approachable and easy to get quotes, would recommend doing broader research and making sure it's right for you, customer service was the only limiting factor.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christian, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan

    Low interest

    Great low interest rates in my fixed term loan. Customer service cannot fault. Only issue is logging into the phone app, not user friendly and does not remember me each time

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kasi, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Avoid at all costs!

    Have had multiple loans with CUA before they changes their name without notifying their customers. Have had terrible dealings trying to close out my account which was actually paid in full over 12 months prior. Apparently I hadn't called after making the final payment so the account remained open and interest grew. I received a 'new' final payout figure of $153.00 (Interest). I have not received a statement for over 12 months so had no idea I had monies owing. Turns out this is to 'save paper'. I'm all for saving the environment, don't get me wrong! When most banks go paperless they chose to send statements via email. When I paid this final amount the day I got the figure, it took 2.5 days to clear and now I owe 10c in interest. I'm not willing to make this 10c payment on principal and I've been placed on hold for 36 minutes and still waiting... I would suggest you avoid this joke of a bank at all costs!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    Online application not check.

    After applying for a car loan online I was unsuccessful. As directed online, I was told to phone if I wanted clarification. I did. All I was told was that the program worked it out. I asked further questions as we have a home loan with GSB (which has money available for redraw) and had a previous personal home loan which was paid out early. I also checked my credit rating which is excellent. Nothing. I was simply unsuccessful. No going through the details of what I had entered to check if I had filled out the online application correctly. Started another application for a reduced amount and stopped. GSB phoned to see if I needed help with this application. I represented the first loan scenario and a review was taken to see why I wasn’t successful. Low and behold, I had claimed $200 per week for phone use instead of $200 per month. My application would have been successful. Thank goodness for Mazda finance. Approved in less than 24 hours and I got to work with a person faced to face. I’m now taking my home and contents insurance and car insurance elsewhere. GSB have lost my trust.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan

    Hard to close account

    Very difficult to close the personal loan account, no one contacts me or responds, it is very hard to get in contact with CUA or great southern bank and the credit is still listed as active on my credit file, not happy at all.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matt, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    I got to speak with a real person!

    Very easy application process with real, genuine personalised service. Highly recommended,

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan

    Terrible to deal with

    Terrible company to deal with, terrible customer service, not very flexible most certainly not helpful at all. Would not deal with them at all for anything ever again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    L, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank

    Info brokers not lenders

    Just no good at their jobs. Awful experience and they take forever and ask unnecessary questions in my opinion sounds like pulling information to sell off instead of giving loans out.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Micheal, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Worst lending experience

    Honestly this was my worst lending experience. I work in the same field but applied for personal loan through these guys and this was by far the worst experience, reason being, I was asked 3 types of contracts 2 being my employment contracts, my home loan being 1 of them, home loan statement, and my acceptance letter, on top of my employment letter. I was asked for 3 payslips, and they wanted a loan approval letter for a loan I haven't got yet, this process took a week and half and they said dont proceed with the application if you don't have your future loan loan letter. Being in same line of work I found this to be the worst experience and un-logical, during the process I was told our policies are different to yours, asking for a document for something I don't have has nothing to do with policy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nazz, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Online is great and they keep up to date.

    CUA is very helpful and are willing to look at other products which will work better for what we were looking to do. Their staff are all very helpful in each of the branches I have gone into. The only negative is they have shut down to many of the branches and ATMs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Glenice, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank

    The worst banking ever!

    CUA had a good personal loan with good terms at the time. We applied for the loan and waited a week to receive a call. After a week, I called to see how are we progressing with approval and then they requested a new document. Document was provided and a week later another 2 documents were requested. Every week for next 5 weeks, there was a new specific document requested, but no approval. I couldn't continue to wait any longer so in week 6 from submission I said that they are to let me know immediately are we approved or is the application declined. The only thing they said that the lender that was looking after us has left the company day before and they will need to start the same application from the beginning.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sasha, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank

    Age Pensioners who need help can depend on CUA

    Not long ago I applied for a loan from CUA to pay for costly white ant damage to my home. The loan was quickly sorted out and I was able to pay for the damage. CUA has a very friendly informative approach particularly to Pensioners with their accounts and is in an easily accessible location in my local shopping centre.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lorna, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    An hour off my life I will never get back!

    I have a full-time secure government job earning good money. Got conditional approval but when consultant called to confirm everything, I was instantly declined. It was more of an interrogation than chat and his accent was so bad I had to ask him to repeat nearly everything! Waste of credit check which has now dropped my score!

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mandy, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    None of the worries of dealing with a big bank!

    The staff were polite and helpful. The product was explained in detail. The application process was smooth!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Great Southern Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    Low rate loans and easy to use apps.

    CUA are a very easy bank to deal with. Their interest rates are much lower than other banks (Especially the major banks... Upwards of 5% or 6%), and the app I use for the bank is incredibly easy to use and is very secure. Instant transfers (literally instant) are a great way of spruiking what they have.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Joel, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.75% p.a.to 26.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.75% p.a.to 26.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 2 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.75% would cost $35,430.23 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.76% p.a.to 24.03% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.55% p.a.to 24.98% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 3 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.76% would cost $35,173.52 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.57% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.19% p.a.to 8.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.57% would cost $35,528.12 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Express Personal Loan

      interest rate
      14.95% p.a.to 27.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      29.30% p.a.to 42.8% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Repayment terms from 2 years to 4 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 14.95% would cost $14,324.71 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Debt Consolidation Loan

      interest rate
      6.57% p.a.to 18.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.19% p.a.to 19.39% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.57% would cost $35,528.12 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 240 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.