Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Price
7.9/10
Features
7.4/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Convenience
7.8/10
Trust
8.2/10
Based on 137 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured personal loan from Great Southern Bank

Unsecured Personal Loan

interest rate
9.39% p.a.
comparison rate
9.64% p.a.based on $30,000
over 5 years

Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.39% would cost $37,881.66 including fees.

Promoted

Recent Great Southern Bank customer personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I got to speak with a real person!

    Very easy application process with real, genuine personalised service. Highly recommended,

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible to deal with

    Terrible company to deal with, terrible customer service, not very flexible most certainly not helpful at all. Would not deal with them at all for anything ever again.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    L, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Info brokers not lenders

    Just no good at their jobs. Awful experience and they take forever and ask unnecessary questions in my opinion sounds like pulling information to sell off instead of giving loans out.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Micheal, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst lending experience

    Honestly this was my worst lending experience. I work in the same field but applied for personal loan through these guys and this was by far the worst experience, reason being, I was asked 3 types of contracts 2 being my employment contracts, my home loan being 1 of them, home loan statement, and my acceptance letter, on top of my employment letter. I was asked for 3 payslips, and they wanted a loan approval letter for a loan I haven't got yet, this process took a week and half and they said dont proceed with the application if you don't have your future loan loan letter. Being in same line of work I found this to be the worst experience and un-logical, during the process I was told our policies are different to yours, asking for a document for something I don't have has nothing to do with policy.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Nazz, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Online is great and they keep up to date.

    CUA is very helpful and are willing to look at other products which will work better for what we were looking to do. Their staff are all very helpful in each of the branches I have gone into. The only negative is they have shut down to many of the branches and ATMs.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Glenice, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    The worst banking ever!

    CUA had a good personal loan with good terms at the time. We applied for the loan and waited a week to receive a call. After a week, I called to see how are we progressing with approval and then they requested a new document. Document was provided and a week later another 2 documents were requested. Every week for next 5 weeks, there was a new specific document requested, but no approval. I couldn't continue to wait any longer so in week 6 from submission I said that they are to let me know immediately are we approved or is the application declined. The only thing they said that the lender that was looking after us has left the company day before and they will need to start the same application from the beginning.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sasha, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Age Pensioners who need help can depend on CUA

    Not long ago I applied for a loan from CUA to pay for costly white ant damage to my home. The loan was quickly sorted out and I was able to pay for the damage. CUA has a very friendly informative approach particularly to Pensioners with their accounts and is in an easily accessible location in my local shopping centre.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lorna, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    An hour off my life I will never get back!

    I have a full-time secure government job earning good money. Got conditional approval but when consultant called to confirm everything, I was instantly declined. It was more of an interrogation than chat and his accent was so bad I had to ask him to repeat nearly everything! Waste of credit check which has now dropped my score!

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mandy, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    None of the worries of dealing with a big bank!

    The staff were polite and helpful. The product was explained in detail. The application process was smooth!

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Low rate loans and easy to use apps.

    CUA are a very easy bank to deal with. Their interest rates are much lower than other banks (Especially the major banks... Upwards of 5% or 6%), and the app I use for the bank is incredibly easy to use and is very secure. Instant transfers (literally instant) are a great way of spruiking what they have.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Joel, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Definitely worth considering

    Branch staff are great. Phone and email is not good.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good rates but bad service.

    Great Competitive Rates and Features on CUA’s unsecured personal loan. 9.89% compared to others providing for 11.90- 14.90%. I bank with CBA but their personal loan was 11.90% and had less features such as no fee payout anytime, no monthly fees, free redraw on fixed loans. The process for applying for this loan was horrendous. Have dealt with the Big 4's subsidiaries such as Bankwest and in the past and I am used to speedy responses and great customer service. Loan approval should not take greater than 2 days! CUA takes 16 days! Cua was a surprise! A simple personal loan with great credit history took more than 2 weeks. Their lenders leave you in the dark on what is actually going on, and never ever call you back even though they say they will. Some statements about apps going to assessors and documents required. I furnished all docs as required within minutes of request. Then I was sent on a mystery wait for days. I think they just either have too much to do or don't bother to speed up the process whatsoever. In hindsight, i went back on the CUA website and they do not state a processing time for this very reason. Could take half a month or a month. Who knows? Only a CUA insider can tell us why they are so slow in processing simple personal loans. I have received a $1.2M home loan in under 2 days from CBA with less mucking around & less docs. They are hell nervous and risk averse in my perception. Due to the great rates, i was forced to bite the bullet and put up with this horrid service while the loan was processing. On certain instances the lender had no clue what he told me just a few days back that he would call me by a certain time and provide approval docs. 2 days post this appointment, i had to chase up yet again. Lender says again it is with the assessor not realising what he said last time. Quite unprofessional and under experienced lenders i think. If you are in no rush and willing to wait it out, then this may be just for you.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Less
    Anonymous, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    You feel like family.

    Super low interest rates, always helpful and see the human side of the account not just the number.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Hayden, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Customer oriented with a good range of products.

    Friendly and efficient with good interest rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Carolyn, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very helpful.

    I like CUA because they have always been there to help us when we needed it and have given us the best deals.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Maria, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • No Fee Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $34,757.21 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.40% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.36% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.40% would cost $34,449.07 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 25.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 29.2% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.49% p.a.to 19.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.76% p.a.to 20.26% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.49% would cost $35,405.64 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.to 19.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.64% p.a.to 21.35% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.25% would cost $36,103.67 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 235 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.