Greater Bank logo

Greater Bank Bank account customer reviews

Overall rating
8.9/10
Price
8.4/10
Features
7.8/10
Customer service
9.1/10
Convenience
8.7/10
Trust
9.1/10
Based on 268 Greater Bank bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Greater Bank bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Excellent

    Very good to deal with. Been there over forty years.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Judith, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Emily

    Amazing team

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emily, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Greater Bank Bank Account

    mpghobson@gmail.com

    I have been with this bank for 20 years and always happy with their service and products. No cons.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maria, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Greater Bank Bank Account

    Great choices start at the Greater Bank

    I transferred from a other major bank years ago, and have never been happier with a bank, there is barley any to no fees and customer support has always been amazing when and if needed

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Anita, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Greater Bank Bank Account

    Top rates

    All over great competitive rates

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kurt, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Great bank Great Service Friendly Helpful Staff

    Over the years Greater bank has saved me thousand of dollars on Bank fees - Staff always friendly and helpful. Locations are convenient

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mary, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Ashley

    There just stranded nothing extra just very black and white that works for some people but some people like a few extras thrown in

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Ashley, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Great Bank!

    They don’t treat me like the big banks did. Great customer service. Never had any issues that weren’t sorted promptly.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kim, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Great, reliable bank - highly recommend!

    This bank is amazing. It’s especially great for uni students, like me, or people who want to get their first bank account, or people who are just trying to set themselves up. This is because there are no account fees, and the process of setting up an account is really simple. The only issue is that they don’t have a branch in Canberra, but most stuff can be done online anyway. Overall, I really recommend it!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alex, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Deanna

    Staff are so helpful in advising the correct accounts to open when first setting up with them. They continue to offer friendly assistance when required. They are community orientated giving financial assistance to many local charities and associations. They have easy to use internet banking and an excellent call centre that answers phone promptly.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Johnson, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Greater Bank Bank Account

    Avoid unless your time is of no value

    After having a search online for a new transaction account and wanting to avoid the big four I settled on Greater Bank. They had your standard no fees but perhaps it is my love of a good red that sealed the deal as they’re based in the Hunter Valley a regular holiday destination of mine. Unfortunately that is where the positives finished. They advise that they accept customers nationally, that a Australian Drivers License and Medicare Card are acceptable forms of ID and the final piece to confirm what I thought would be a hassle free sign up was completion of all mandatory fields. Sadly how wrong I was. What followed was a freeze on my account once deposits were made by accounts not in my name. Why? Because greater needed to contact the two depositing account holders, who were from different financial institutions to confirm the details and that these were in fact correct. This entailed Greater firing off an email and then sitting back and doing nothing, waiting for the other institutions to action by contacting their customers and being informed that yes there is no problem and relaying this back to Greater. Then I was informed while the checks were passed they did not accept my ID. My State Issued Drivers License or my Medicare Card as one displayed no middle name (standard practice in my state) and the other only my middle initial (standard practice). There is no requirement for sign up anywhere along the process to enter a middle name, nor any advise that I would be discriminated simply for being from interstate or for not having a passport and even worse they don’t really care for the 100 points of ID process of verifying one’s ID, which I believe may actually be the legal way to do so. Maybe that’s how they got their name, “Greater” than the law…….. However all hope was not lost after communication back and forth my account was finally unfrozen. I felt like this situation was handled poorly to say the least but thought it’s done, move on and forget about it. Then I made the mistake of opening a savings account with them. Simple process to open being an existing customer but not so simple once they have your money. The savings account once funded was frozen and I’m told that I need to verify yet again to access the account. To cut an even longer story short their solution was for me to get a Passport, have that certified and sent in to allow me access to my savings as it is bank policy. Yet not acknowledging the fact they were contradicting their bank policy with my transaction account which was in full use without the passport requirement. The end solution was to wait it out for them to eventually post a cheque out to me, which took so long I started to doubt I would ever see it, to deposit into an alternative financial institution and close my account. Simply because I could not produce a passport. This process was nothing but a long, draining and drawn out process that came about from their own ridiculous policies, false advertisements/marketing materials and contradictory sign up practices. Then drawn out by their staff who simply had no clue. So I’m glad my account is closed as I don’t want a financial institution that treats their customers like garbage.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Benjamin, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Not a bad experience

    We have had no problems with the greater, no fees on the accounts, no spam email.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jessica, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Greater Bank Bank Account

    inconvenient

    Contacting via phone is difficult and not.avalible outside limited hours, often find service in branch unsatisfactory and in some cases quite rude also there are very few branches and the branches are out of the way , which goes for ATMs as well. Replacement cards and basic services seem to be a nuisance often with poor turn around time.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Greater Bank Bank Account

    A great bank to bank with.

    Greater Bank is a trusted and fair bank you can trust with your money and privacy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vanessa, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Greater Bank Access Account

    Good service

    Have been with Greater Bank since 1973 — find them easy to communicate with on queries I my have. Security seems to be of a good standard. They were the only bank that would lend a single person a home loan after divorcing in 1983. I only have a complaint about the time it takes to use their atm — long waiting for use

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Spend Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID, Samsung Pay, Fitbit Pay, Garmin Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 107 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.