Thumbnail icon for IMB Bank

IMB Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Price
7.4/10
Features
6.6/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Convenience
7.5/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 106 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent IMB Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • IMB Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not competitive for loyal customers.

    I have just switched from IMB. Their rates are not competitive, especially not for their loyal customers. After you have been on their home loan for a while you may notice that they introduce a new home loan and allow your product to increase in interest rate while their new customers get a much better rate. Also they are not open to negotiating properly, apparently they would rather lose their customers than take the interest rate down. No problems as there are good quality loans out there to switch to, and I recommend taking the trouble to switch as you will save thousands.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • IMB Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Easy and convenient if you want a guarantor

    It was really easy to arrange with a guarantor as opposed to some of the bigger banks. A person came to our house to explain everything which was really convenient. Only negative is the rates are not as low as they could be (but cant really change due to guarantor).

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic rates and friendly staff.

    Love this bank, staff are friendly, borrowing rates are competitive, service is fast. I have had a car loan, and currently home loan, several bank accounts. You can pay out your loan early without penalty. Interest rates are low. Highly recommended.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Vanessa, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • IMB Bank Budget Home Loan (LVR 80-90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy access to online app.

    Totally awesome great customer service and very helpful. Rates are very low. Recommend to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Christopher, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • IMB Bank Essentials Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good tellers.

    Good tellers and easy internet banking.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Less
    Joanne, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive premiums and great service

    IMB rates are competition and their customer service is great

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • IMB Bank Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    An efficient and trustworthy bank

    As far as banks go, it would take a very good offer to make me change to another provider.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Less
    Geoff, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • IMB Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good customer service.

    Good customer service but lacking in communication reply rates

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Neil, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Friendly, approachable and great customer care.

    Personalised service like a small bank with big bank options.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Patricia, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Exceptional customer service.

    The main pro of our home loan with IMB is our mortgage consultant. He's a mobile lender and is always on call. When queried, he gives us the most accurate and up-to-date information needed to make us at ease with any of our financial concerns. Being mobile comes in handy since the main con is that there are limited branches of this building society.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Therese, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Budget Home Loan (LVR 80-90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Would recommend

    Personal service. Great rate

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tracey, Western Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Essentials Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    They remember your name!

    IMB have been really great - after getting our home loan with them after previously after an account with the big four, the customer service difference was amazing. They really do remember our names when we come in! Also a really competitive rate compared with the rest of the market.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liz, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Essentials Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good

    IMB is great.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Budget Home Loan (LVR 80-90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Over twenty years with them

    I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had all my incoming finances landing there, over 30K/mth. A lot of this was outgoing business expenses but I was earning very good money. I was utterly shattered when they rejected my application for a home loan, over twenty years with them and I was treated like a number. Anyway, I did get my home loan from another bank, and they have the pleasure of earning interest from my financial activities.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    High rates.

    The bank is mostly looking after its own profit.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Marina, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 75

      interest rate
      2.78% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan - Refinance

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      3.03% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.06% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $299

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate 300k+

      interest rate
      2.79% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate*
      3.67% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $450

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 548 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.