IMB Bank home loan reviews

IMB Bank
IMB Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.2 / 10

based on 20 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from IMB Bank

Recent IMB Bank home loan reviews

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive premiums and great service

IMB rates are competition and their customer service is great

Full review

IMB rates are competition and their customer service is great

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glenn (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

An efficient and trustworthy bank

As far as banks go, it would take a very good offer to make me change to another provider.

Full review

As far as banks go, it would take a very good offer to make me change to another provider.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoff (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Exceptional customer service.

The main pro of our home loan with IMB is our mortgage consultant. He's a mobile lender and is always on call. When queried, he gives us the most accurate and up-to-date information needed to make us at ease with any of our financial concerns....

Full review

The main pro of our home loan with IMB is our mortgage consultant. He's a mobile lender and is always on call. When queried, he gives us the most accurate and up-to-date information needed to make us at ease with any of our financial concerns. Being mobile comes in handy since the main con is that there are limited branches of this building society.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Therese (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Budget Home Loan Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Would recommend

Personal service. Great rate

Full review

Personal service. Great rate

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tracey (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good customer service.

Good customer service but lacking in communication reply rates

Full review

Good customer service but lacking in communication reply rates

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Neil (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly, approachable and great customer care.

Personalised service like a small bank with big bank options.

Full review

Personalised service like a small bank with big bank options.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patricia (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Essentials Home Loan Special Offer (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They remember your name!

IMB have been really great - after getting our home loan with them after previously after an account with the big four, the customer service difference was amazing. They really do remember our names when we come in! Also a really competitive rate...

Full review

IMB have been really great - after getting our home loan with them after previously after an account with the big four, the customer service difference was amazing. They really do remember our names when we come in! Also a really competitive rate compared with the rest of the market.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Liz (ACT), reviewed over 2 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Essentials Home Loan Special Offer (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good

IMB is great.

Full review

IMB is great.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jane (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Budget Home Loan Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Over twenty years with them

I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had...

Full review

I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had all my incoming finances landing there, over 30K/mth. A lot of this was outgoing business expenses but I was earning very good money. I was utterly shattered when they rejected my application for a home loan, over twenty years with them and I was treated like a number. Anyway, I did get my home loan from another bank, and they have the pleasure of earning interest from my financial activities.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

High rates.

The bank is mostly looking after its own profit.

Full review

The bank is mostly looking after its own profit.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Marina (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great overall

Great service, local and loan charge also fees are a good price.

Full review

Great service, local and loan charge also fees are a good price.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer relations

Competitive

Full review

Competitive

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kees (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Personal service from both the manager and counter staff. They know me by name and I can contact them directly.

Full review

Personal service from both the manager and counter staff. They know me by name and I can contact them directly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Letitia (ACT), reviewed over 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great direct email contact

I thought about leaving the current bank, however a girl in customer service was fantastic! I now deal with her directly via email and she's been able to think outside the box to an amazing level and helped me through a difficult transition. If it...

Full review

I thought about leaving the current bank, however a girl in customer service was fantastic! I now deal with her directly via email and she's been able to think outside the box to an amazing level and helped me through a difficult transition. If it wasn't for her, I would be looking around at other options.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Cassie (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great services

Good rates and service, not enough locations.

Full review

Good rates and service, not enough locations.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ambers (ACT), reviewed over 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service without the gimmicks!

The bank manger at our local bank has always made time for my husband and I. We have two morgages through the bank (one variable and the other fixed/variable), and no matter how many questions we've had,or how silly they may seem, we have always...

Full review

The bank manger at our local bank has always made time for my husband and I. We have two morgages through the bank (one variable and the other fixed/variable), and no matter how many questions we've had,or how silly they may seem, we have always been able to contact her and recieved a quick response. The interest rates are not the lowest, but they are competitive. At the end of the day however, excellent customer service counted a lot towards our decision to go with IMB for our morgages and bank accounts.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rebecca (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Take your money and that's it

After being with this bank for several years and paying them 100's of thousands in interest we wanted to extend an interest only period on one loan, they made us jump through hoops and then denied us this, even though our serviceability is good....

Full review

After being with this bank for several years and paying them 100's of thousands in interest we wanted to extend an interest only period on one loan, they made us jump through hoops and then denied us this, even though our serviceability is good. The reason, apparently they no longer want to do business in Queensland. We then shopped around to refinance and found we can save 12k per year by changing banks. They are making this chore impossible by not doing what they are supposed to do, by not sending us the 1 form that will allow the process to roll on, now we are going on leave tomorrow and will not have phone or email contact for 2 weeks. so delaying tactics. Thanks a bunch IMB, I won't be recommending you to my worst enemy.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Yvonne (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Budget Home Loan Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Personal service, real people, good products.

The IMB still gives you the old fashioned service whilst being a modern organisation.

Full review

The IMB still gives you the old fashioned service whilst being a modern organisation.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Julie (ACT), reviewed almost 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Professional

Great customer service. Made the process of betting a house an easy one.

Full review

Great customer service. Made the process of betting a house an easy one.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Budget Home Loan Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Home loan

I find them very helpful and would refer to anyone.

Full review

I find them very helpful and would refer to anyone.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very customer friendly and convenient

The bank has always been helpful and if we need any help the Manager is always happy to meet us or discuss issues over the phone.

Full review

The bank has always been helpful and if we need any help the Manager is always happy to meet us or discuss issues over the phone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Local business but average service

I'd like it if they could call us and keep us up-to-date with mortgage options. In the beginning we received a couple of calls to see if we were happy and if there was anything they could do for us, but there hasn't been a call in years. Also,...

Full review

I'd like it if they could call us and keep us up-to-date with mortgage options. In the beginning we received a couple of calls to see if we were happy and if there was anything they could do for us, but there hasn't been a call in years. Also, apart from asking if there was anything they could do for us, it would be proactive and good customer service if your mortgage manager looked at your accounts, did an assessment for you then called you and told you "honestly!" if there were financial options that they offer that would be good for us based on our overall use of all accounts. Aside from this (which I really do think would be great), I do have a bitter taste in my mouth. I contacted them just over 4yrs ago and put a question to the mortgage manager. After further conversations, over the years since and in more recent years with other institutions, family and friends , I have become aware that I was deliberately mislead with the answer to my question. The answer given was of financial benefit to the bank and not an honest and direct answer to my direct question. I feel really disappointed still about this and because of the answer given and advise I took as legitimate and our best option, we are in a worse financial situation than we would have been should my question be answered honestly. The answer that should have been given would have been a better financial outcome for us rather than for them.... I disrespect them for this as this is NOT how I (or staff that work for me and that were trained by me) conduct my business and I work in the Jewellery industry!!! I train my staff and expect no less than honesty (what they would expect themselves). Honesty can shock some people when they receive it but they are never disappointed with it ("refreshed" more like it). I have found that you gain much much more respect and an outstanding positive reputation (goodwill). Along with the goodwill comes future business and business growth etc... I expect all business to conduct themselves like I do (naive probably of me) but I certainly expected this of my bank that is in it for the "long haul" with us for the biggest investment in our lives. And that's not what I have received.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

The local branch in Bowral were fantastic in explaining everything and helping through the whole process of getting the loan and everything involved.

Full review

The local branch in Bowral were fantastic in explaining everything and helping through the whole process of getting the loan and everything involved.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Essentials Home Loan Special Offer (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing service with the rates to match.

Amazing service. Never have to wait in line. Great home loan rates. No hidden fees. Staff know what they are talking about and are passionate to help me with any enquiry. I also appreciated consistent communication throughout the entire loan process.

Full review

Amazing service. Never have to wait in line. Great home loan rates. No hidden fees. Staff know what they are talking about and are passionate to help me with any enquiry. I also appreciated consistent communication throughout the entire loan process.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Judy (ACT), reviewed about 5 years ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

A life long committed competitive service and frie

They contact when unusual tranactions occur. Regularly in contact (but not annoying) with ideas to help assist in reducing loans, internet payments and redraws on line. Loans manager and other staff extremely friendly. Very, very quick to get...

Full review

They contact when unusual tranactions occur. Regularly in contact (but not annoying) with ideas to help assist in reducing loans, internet payments and redraws on line. Loans manager and other staff extremely friendly. Very, very quick to get back to you with answers. Biggest issue is limited monthly transactions, this varies on how many account you have with them. Have used them for 25yrs now for loans, credit card, savings account, service hasn't changed. Highly recommend for good honest all round banking with competitive rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Refinance your home loan and get a surprise bonus $1000 into a USaver account (Offer conditions apply)
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Refinance your home loan and get a surprise bonus $1000 into a USaver account (Offer conditions apply)
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan Special (LVR<=89%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan Special (LVR<=89%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    • $0 home loan application fees
    • $0 annual fee on your choice of a rewards credit card
    • $0 property valuation fees with your home loan application

    interest rate

    3.70% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.13% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $250

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 home loan application fees
    • $0 annual fee on your choice of a rewards credit card
    • $0 property valuation fees with your home loan application
    • Interest rate: 3.70% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.13% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $338.20
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 315 Bankwest home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Home Lender of the Year 2018

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Home Lender of the Year 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 510 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top