MyState Bank logo

MyState Bank Bank account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 109 bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured bank account from MyState Bank

Glide Account

account fee
$0.00
Payment Options
Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
interest rate
0% p.a.

Promoted

Recent MyState Bank bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    1990's Banking at its Best..

    Do you yearn for the old days of last century when you do your banking? Do you enjoy filling out forms, wasting your time with emails, document scanning and phone calls? Do you enjoy getting slugged by sneaky fees? Do you enjoy systems that have been created to hinder the customer rather than help them? Then MyState Bank is for you. I opened a simple transaction account and a savings account. I'll now be leaving one cent in both so they continue to incur costs to MyState. They are a small bank with no aspirations to be anything else. I don't yearn for the past when it comes to 2022 banking. Tl;Dr Sneaky Fees/low withdrawal limits/Incapable of transacting without paper/Poor app/Bad Customer Comms. To rephrase an ad logo from the past - "Just don't do it!"

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Edward, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    Super polite and helpful staff

    Had trouble logging in to my online banking, and put off making the phone call because I hate doing them. The lady I was super polite and extremely helpful, to the point and confident in what she was doing.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Madison, Tasmania, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • MyState Bank Glide Account

    My state Bank is untrustworthy.

    We had a horrendous experience with this bank. They offered a good rate so we left our bank and went with them. In the very first month, they increased our interest rate and kept increasing it. They don’t have a branch in Vic and waiting for hours on the phone was exhausting. Will never recommend this bank to anyone. In my experience they are untrustworthy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shirley, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Glide Account

    Changed from the big 3 banks but disappointed

    Transferred 3 home loans across from one of the big three banks. High hopes for a no frills low cost service. Customers service is ok but the fees are ridiculous. In the midst of moving house and transferring all my direct debits, bpays etc to mystate from my other bank I realised after a fee weeks transferring our pays from the other bank was delayed. This meant alot of my bpays bounced. Mystate charged me $30 a pop per transaction. Over a few weeks this equaled $570!!!!! An honest mistake on my part in the transition to a new bank but seriously. Nothing like a big old welcome like a swag of fees. Called the call centre and there was no grace on this, they didn't care. Basically the savings I would have made over the year on my interest rate just got used up in a few weeks on fees. Wish I never changed banks. Never hears of such a high fee for declined payment. Not really easy to use the app and doesn't have a lot of features. Read the fine print and remember convenience is sometimes worth paying a little extra for. Especially when you have a family, work life etc.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Susan, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    Yes you Can.... But no you Can't

    With them 2 days on savings and got out of there. Transfer rules for bill paying don't make sense. Non responsive when deficiencies pointed out. They need to go back to the drawing board with a heading "Customer comes First".

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    TERRIBLE BANK

    After spending at least one hour to activate my new card, I gave up, have transferred all my money to a good bank. One that has branches. it is called B O Q(bank of Queensland). what a waste of time the :My State Bank; is, I wont mention the time wasted trying to get this card in the first place.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wolfgang, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    Get paid to save money

    Only bank I have found will pay interest to you for keeping money in their bank. Has been easy to deal with.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    Bad service

    This is a horrible bank. I transferred money from this bank to other banks and even after 24 hours that money was not deposited in another bank account. No other bank services are so pathetic.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Purbasha, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • MyState Bank Glide Account

    Interest rate slashed. Glitchy app.

    Terrible. Signed up for the bonus interest rate on the savings account only to have it slashed - repeatedly. Defeats the purpose of signing up in the first place. If you don’t live near a branch and do most of your banking online, be prepared to wait anywhere from 15-30 minutes to reach a customer service operator when using phone support - they are helpful once you get through (if you can be bothered to hold for that long). The mobile app is full of glitches - regular issues logging in, constantly freezes on you, password reset was a nightmare (prompting a call to the telephone support, because what else can you do?? And then the waiting begins *again*). Ironically I’ve updated the app today (after receiving a prompt to do so and a message saying they’ve fixed a lot of the glitches) - only to find none of my sign in details are recognised, password reset has failed, and I can no longer access my account / savings. Closing my accounts ASAP - I’ve banked with plenty of places and this is by far the worst. I’m about to apply for a home loan and my broker recommended the MyState product owing to a competitive interest rate. Safe to say I’ll be going with a different lender, whose customer service leaves me feeling valued and supported.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    Worst bank ever

    One of the worst banks ever, don’t trust what they say I am glad we are changing.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shaun, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Glide Account

    Poor technology, terrible communication.

    They are an immature bank with terrible technology. I applied online for an advertised high interest saving account, they received my first deposit then I wasn’t able to transfer money between internal or external accounts. After many attempts to contact (busy call centre is only option), then I was rudely told it was a glitch in online applications and my account has been marked suspicious so now I have to print forms and send back (electronic forms are unavailable) and they wouldn’t be able to help me further. They have my money. I can’t get interest rate as no card is being sent for me to achieve 5 uses. And I can’t close accounts unless I send forms which will take weeks. Other banks have much better apps, websites and thankfully all online facilities to ID check. I wouldn’t bother with this bank. They dropped the interest rate anyway after all that effort.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Georgia, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Glide Account

    Bad bad bad.

    Really poor customer service, extremely rude, they try to scam their customers, website is absolutely horrendous, IT and account log in issues all the time. Just isn't worth it, other banks more deserving of your business.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Craig, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    Don't care about customers.

    I've been with MyState for about 5 years now, but I'm pulling all my business out. They have closed all Queensland branches and wait times when you call are ridiculous, never less than 15 minutes.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Noel, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Bank Account

    It's OK.

    The customer service isn't great. No local branches.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Cassie, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Glide Account

    App and website is buggy and slow

    The App and website for this bank is buggy and slow and on both it wont even allow for internal account transfers without constant issues and customer service either doesn't answer or isn't available. I've had this account for only a day and it's so annoying it makes me want to change back to my old bank.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Go Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Edge Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Account

      account fee
      $4.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $1,800 per month or account holder is under 25
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 101 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.