RAC logo

RAC Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 110 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent RAC home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    RAC: Thumbs up

    I've always found the staff at RAC to be reliable and attentive. I haven't had to put in a claim yet, thankfully, but I know of people who have and it was delt with in an efficient and professional manner. I'm not going to deny it - I do find them more expensive then other insurance companies, but I'm happy to pay knowing that they are based in my home state, Western Australia. I would recommend this company to any Western Autralian who is willing (and able) to pay a premium.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Dani, Western Australia, reviewed 29 days ago
  • RAC Home Insurance

    Good cover and supportive claims department.

    We found when we needed RAC for claims they have been there for us and have been supportive, reliable and good value.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Bernie, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RAC Home Insurance

    Great value for money.

    I like them mainly because they also give me a discount on fuel.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    Okay

    Cannot easily give you a copy of Buildings Only insurance, it takes forever each year for over 20 years!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Susan, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    Reliable insurance

    RAC are a well-established insurance company based in WA. Their service is superb and their policies and premiums consistently the best. Claims are dealt with quickly and efficiently with payments as promised.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lynne, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RAC Home Insurance

    That's service!

    Not always the cheapest but always there when I needed them. On one occasion, they agreed to move my smashed up car from one Repairer to another so that I could have a loan vehicle.

    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lyn, Tasmania, reviewed 6 months ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    Easy to deal with

    I’ve always found them easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Katherine, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    Have thought of changing providers, but haven't.

    We are mostly happy with them, but when we put in a claim a couple of years ago for a pipe leak in our bathroom wall, they didn't want to cover everything we thought they should. Our plumber said they should have covered more.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Patricia, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    RAC are trustworthy and give helpful advice.

    The RAC have a good name and trusted brand, my claim was handled excellently - and even gave me advise on what category I should claim under to get the maximum benefit . I felt like I was being helped - whereas I was expecting excuses to get out of paying anything ! Good customer service and prompt payment of the claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Shane, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • RAC Home Insurance

    RAC are out of touch big time!

    Fence blew down in the recent storms with 4 panels damaged. The fence in question is the James Hardie Fence, rang to put in a claim was advised I needed to get a quote and organise myself (what a joke), after ringing around it became apparent this fence material is now redundant prices per panel to purchase are selling for $265 so 4 x $265 = $1,060, this is without an installation component which I was told will be a minimum day rate what ever that is? So I rang RAC to put in a claim, the person over the phone said RAC would only cover $135 per panel installed, I said you guys are out of the market as they cost $265 with installation, she went on to say if I get a quote send it through for assessment but it wont be approved because they are firm on their $135 rate which is ridiculously out of the market. So the worst part is still coming - she calculates RAC's rate at $135 per panel installed so this comes in at $540 less 50% for next door to pay $270. My excess is $500 so she said to proceed I need to pay my $500 excess and she sends me $270 so I've lost $230. So now I have $270 after I've paid $500 NICE WORK RAC!!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    Would recommend to anyone

    We bought our house first house a year ago and within 2 weeks we had a burst water pipe from removing an old nail and found the previous owner had punctured the pipe! We called RAC on the day and with excellent customer service our pipe and wall was repaired the next day (on a Sunday!)

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Brooke, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • RAC Home Insurance

    Values its members and community.

    I have been with RAC for a number of years. It is great to deal with a locally owned company that values it's members and puts back to the community.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Steven, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    A reliable trustworthy insurer.

    Trusted insurer in WA. Held policy with them since 1984. My claim enquiries were dealt with efficiently. The only dislike is they are unbending with fence replacement. Last year my super six fence collapsed due to storm damage. They only covered replacement of the damaged fence. I had to replace the whole side with colourbond as my neighbour did not want half colourbond and half super six fence as it would look ugly. Their insurance company covered the whole fence. I was $1000 out of pocket.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Carmela, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance

    Great with claims.

    RAC have been great with claims I have put in. The cons are that they seem limited in their coverage of certain things and seem quite expensive for what they provide.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • RAC Home Insurance

    Local insurer in SA.

    Local insurer in SA. Good website and customer service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.