Thumbnail icon for SGIO

SGIO Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.0/10
Value for money
7.6/10
Policy coverage
7.9/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Claims handling
8.1/10
Trust
8.2/10
Based on 65 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent SGIO home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • SGIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Rip off merchants.

    I have paid my premium for 17 years on an itemised item and when I go to lodge a claim they are only willing to pay 1/3 of the cost based on "insurance prices". They are absolute scammers. The customer service is non-existent with people who do not have a clue what that are talking about. I cannot wait to leave this company.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Andi, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • SGIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Not too expensive and consistently good service.

    I have been with SGIO for 31 years. I find they are a little dearer than some competitors but their customer service is much better and they do not try to avoid paying on claims on spurious technicalities (which I have experienced with other major insurers).

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Raymond, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Disgraceful service

    I have been with SGIO for cars, home and contents insurance. They have no respect for brand loyalty or the fact that I had made one small claim in the 8 years I was with them. When I actually needed to make a claim (relatively small but significant to us) I was denied and was hand-balled to the builder, who hand balled straight back to insurer. In the end my claim was denied and this happened on two seperate occasions.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Natalie, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • SGIO Home Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great prices

    Very good pricing and helpful.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Shelly, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Poor customer performance

    I have had home and contents insurance with them for 12 years now and not once have they contacted me or offered me a better deal.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I have very high satisfaction with SGIO

    SGIO are very fast and fluent when they help you with claims.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Colleen, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • SGIO Home Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great customer service

    Very happy with the quality of service. I would recommend this provider to others.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Less
    Zachary, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent customer service

    I highly recommend this insurer as I am extremely satisfied with their quality customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gavin, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Helpful, efficient and prompt.

    SGIO handled our claim efficiently and promptly, the assessor was extremely helpful and handled our case with respect.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mary, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Premiums competitive and service is excellent.

    SGIO is a great company that offers good premiums and a great product. They have always paid out any claims we have made quickly and without issue. I have been with this company for many years for this reason and feel confident our home and contents are in safe hands.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Deborah, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good

    Always good service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rhonda, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Outstanding customer service, setting the example

    They may be a little more expensive, accidental damage, personal property out of the home and motor burn out etc are optional extras. However the customer service is second to none. They can't help you enough. Businesses could learn a lot from SGIO on how and what customer relations and service is. Call centre is in Australia, which is a major plus for myself (total onshore operation).

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Shayene, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Ok

    N/A

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jaminder, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • SGIO Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive premiums and good customer service

    Staff generally pleasant to deal with, gave me a goodwill gesture of $200 when I lost a ring that turned out to not be covered, cheaper than other companies.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kylie, Western Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • SGIO Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent

    Great company, great service.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Toni, Western Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.