Shannons logo

Shannons Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 44 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Shannons home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Don't do it! Worst company I have ever used!

    We were customers of Shannons (both home and motor) for years and never claimed. Called recently to lodge a claim we needed on our accidental policy and found out they had cancelled our policy for no reason AND DIDN'T EVEN TELL US. We were gobsmacked and so angry. They said it was due to payments but we have always paid, and our adjoined motor policy is fine! Not only could they not actually answer my questions when I asked for more information they were stand offish and offered no solution or even apology. Now we have to start up a whole new policy for somewhere else and lose our no claims and it has cost us financially. Don't risk it, just look at the reviews these guys are a farce.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Natasha, Western Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    Do not use for home insurance

    Shannons are good to deal with for classic car related issues. They are absolutely terrible when it comes to making home insurance claims. Reminds me of AAMI from the 90’s. Near on impossible to contact someone to process a claim. We have been waiting for over 6months and continue to pursue them to finalise. Lots of “ducking and weaving”. I’m assuming the tactic is to make customers give up... Feels like it’s outsourced overseas however I can’t factually verify.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Roland, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    Good customer service, quick response

    Not to bad, Good customer service, quick response. Honoured everything within our policy.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    I highly recommend this insurer

    Both my husband and I have had our home and motor vehicles insured with Shannons for several years now. I have now purchased a home in Victoria and will shortly be moving there. In arranging building insurance for the period prior to occupation of the property, Shannons were fantastic in understanding my personal situation (as this was a sole purchase on a joint membership) and went out of their way to advise and provide an insurance quote that could not be beaten by any other insurance competitor. When I finally occupy my home, I will be taking out a home and contents policy with Shannons, again at a competitive rate and any rebate from the current policy will be put towards the new policy. I rely entirely on their proven integrity and transparency. I have not once encountered anyone who had a bad experience with Shannons. Good work. If I had any negative comments, it would be that they use their discretion as to whom they accept as policy holders(as I know of some that were rejected), and that has to work in my and every other policy holder's benefit. I highly recommend Shannons to anyone who relies on the integrity, competitiveness and performance of their insurer. Thank you.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Trust
    Less
    Anna, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Shannons Contents Insurance

    Great and pleasant company to deal with.

    I've been with 2 insurance companies over nearly ten years, Shannon's is a down to earth company and we speak the same lingo!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jonathan, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    No problems for years.

    I think they are a good price. They are always helpful and easy to deal with on the phone and via email. Small company I think I prefer that. Bundle deals.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nikky, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Excellent company.

    We have two policies with Shannons, one for home and contents for our home, the other is building insurance for our holiday home. We made a claim last year on our holiday home and it was paid out in full. I phoned them to query the amount I was being charged for the holiday home and they gave me a discount on both the holiday home and our home insurance. Can't ask for better than that. Insurance rates seem to be about average. No problems at all, very professional company.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Margaret, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Stay away from this company

    Absolute disgrace in handling a claim for an electrical failure in our air conditioning system. Want report after report for why capacitor failed, deliberate procrastination and delays . Case manager is appalling. I am not one to write reviews but so angry with treatment from Shannon’s I had to vent.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Marvelous setvice

    Shannon’s home and contents insurance is great. I recently had a first claim with them and they were fantastic to deal with. Shannon’s made the whole process easy and their professionalism and prompt pay out was amazing. Can’t recommend Shannon’s highly enough to anyone wanting home and content insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Terrible.

    May be cheap but you get what you pay for. Not interested in solving a claim, drags on and on and on.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Douglas, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    Will stay with them until I get better offer

    Will probably stay with this insurer because they insure my motoring memorabilia collection, I get so much cover at no extra cost.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Barry, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Shannons Contents Insurance

    Great products, prices and people

    Good people. I've had trouble with insurers before (NRMA) but Shannons have good products and even covers my valued tools in my garage with my policy at no charge. I would really recommend this product and company to any one who need contents insurance.

    Value for money
    Less
    Pete, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Excellent provider

    Excellent

    Value for money
    Less
    Tania, Western Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    They don't have great home loan policies

    I'm sure Shannon's are good in their specialist area, but for home claims, not at all. I don't feel particularly protected by the home and contents policy. I have only made two claims, one for accidental breakage and one for electrical damage: both were rejected after a drawn out process in which I had the feeling that loophole's were being sought. Also Shannon's doesn't offer pensioner's or senior's rates.

    Value for money
    Less
    Jennie, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Nice

    Shannon's has great cover and customer services at a reasonable price

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Hayley, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.