Shannons logo

Shannons Home insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
7.7/10
Value for money
7.4/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
8.1/10
Claims handling
7.7/10
Trust
7.6/10
Based on 49 Shannons home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Shannons home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Shannons Contents Insurance

    STAY AWAY, KEEP CLEAR, AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS. We didn't believe the negative reviews given to Shannons before we took out both contents and car insurance with them. Bad mistake. I spent over an hour on the phone - most of which I was so she could converse with her superiors ( now I know why). They were trying to work out a way to get out of paying up for a theft claim. They couldn't deny it. We had a police report, number, statement and follow up police reports for them . then they said they wouldn't put it though as a theft because their system didn't update my address properly - which they apologised and said it wasn't my fault... it was theirs. So they would put it through as an unspecified personal effect.....which they then said because it wasn't a thing that was carried around every single day, it wasn't covered. The are great at sucking the $$$ outof you, but give nothing in return. I am cancelling all policies with them. I'm just glad I haven't had to deal with them with the car..... STAY AWAY FROM THEM

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tammy, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    SHANNONS TOTAL DISGRACE

    I have had a water pipe burst in the roof, wetting a book shelf containing photo albums, books and computers. I have baby photos completely ruined. After 1 month i have still not spoken to my case manager. Shannons have organized to fix and replace everything that can be done easily. They have totally ignored every request i have made in writing and over the phone to put me in touch with my case manager so i can get my photos looked at and restored. I have spoken with no less than 6 different claims managers and all have told me that they will contact my claims manager via email and phone. WORST COMPANY EVER.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    30% more expensive than comparable policies

    After being customer for many years without any claims, the premium increased to $3300, we decided ti look around and found a policy with seniors ins that covered the same things, for same value and same excesses, for $1300 cheaper than Shannon's, I contacted Shannon's about this and was told that they cannot adjust or discount the policy Very disappointing Shannon's, no loyalty at all.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Sharyn, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    A terrible company that puts policy before people

    I was with Shannons for several years and was quite satisfied at first, but in time, this company revealed an underlying structure full of poor procedures and protocols, its assessment teams hide behind policy guidelines and in no way demonstrate empathy for their policy owners. From the outset, we were taken in by a product called "Accidental Loss or Damage protection". Knowing that it is quite feasible to experience multiple situations where items may be lost or damaged, I asked the Shannons representative what the maximum number of claims would be." She responded that there isn't any limit and that providing it was all genuinely above board you can't be penalized for "bad luck". In due course, we made several legitimate claims for items that were lost or damaged. Also over that time there was a cyclone and our home was burglarized. Suddenly I receive an email from Shannons stating that as I have exceeded their maximum claims limit, they would not be renewing our policy. I wrote a desperate plea to Shannons laying down my case that I was given erroneous information by a Shannons Rep, that even when the claims were over the limit their assessment teams still approved further claims instead of refusing them on this basis, which would have been far more bareable than having a policy cancelled. The response I received was so impersonal, she hid behind company guidelines, that I had exceeded the company's 'maximum number claims limit" and used it to justify why she had chosen not to reconsider our situation. Incidentally, I haven't yet seen where this has been explicitly stated on the policy. She didn't reply to any of my concerns presented in a rather lengthy letter, instead, she merely stated, "My justification is within our own business underwriting guidelines that are not something that can be shared in more detail other than what I have explained" A total smoke screen! My home and contents have now been completely uninsured for 6 months. I have attempted to find alternative insurance but no company will insure me on the basis that I now have too many claims over the past 5 years. My son walks about the house every evening when we've gone to bed, concerned about the possibility of a fire and checks every switch and power cord, It's very emotionally draining for him and us. Shannons were cold and impersonal and offered nothing to ameliorate the problem. I posed a variety of options to them, ie, just whole house insurance in the event of a fire with perhaps a much higher excess, but Shannons is not even willing to give a response beyond, "Sorry sir, you have exceeded the maximum number of claims over a 5 year period" Please, do yourself a favour, avoid Shannons and find an insurance company that puts people before policy.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    James, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Been with Shannons for many and never found fault

    Many years with Shannons for both vehicle and house and contents. Always competitive and excellent service. recent personal reasons had to drop House and Contents cover but will return to Shannon's in due course. Cannot fault their past excellent service and have recommended them to others.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Don't do it! Worst company I have ever used!

    We were customers of Shannons (both home and motor) for years and never claimed. Called recently to lodge a claim we needed on our accidental policy and found out they had cancelled our policy for no reason AND DIDN'T EVEN TELL US. We were gobsmacked and so angry. They said it was due to payments but we have always paid, and our adjoined motor policy is fine! Not only could they not actually answer my questions when I asked for more information they were stand offish and offered no solution or even apology. Now we have to start up a whole new policy for somewhere else and lose our no claims and it has cost us financially. Don't risk it, just look at the reviews these guys are a farce.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Natasha, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    Do not use for home insurance

    Shannons are good to deal with for classic car related issues. They are absolutely terrible when it comes to making home insurance claims. Reminds me of AAMI from the 90’s. Near on impossible to contact someone to process a claim. We have been waiting for over 6months and continue to pursue them to finalise. Lots of “ducking and weaving”. I’m assuming the tactic is to make customers give up... Feels like it’s outsourced overseas however I can’t factually verify.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Roland, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    Good customer service, quick response

    Not to bad, Good customer service, quick response. Honoured everything within our policy.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    I highly recommend this insurer

    Both my husband and I have had our home and motor vehicles insured with Shannons for several years now. I have now purchased a home in Victoria and will shortly be moving there. In arranging building insurance for the period prior to occupation of the property, Shannons were fantastic in understanding my personal situation (as this was a sole purchase on a joint membership) and went out of their way to advise and provide an insurance quote that could not be beaten by any other insurance competitor. When I finally occupy my home, I will be taking out a home and contents policy with Shannons, again at a competitive rate and any rebate from the current policy will be put towards the new policy. I rely entirely on their proven integrity and transparency. I have not once encountered anyone who had a bad experience with Shannons. Good work. If I had any negative comments, it would be that they use their discretion as to whom they accept as policy holders(as I know of some that were rejected), and that has to work in my and every other policy holder's benefit. I highly recommend Shannons to anyone who relies on the integrity, competitiveness and performance of their insurer. Thank you.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Trust
    Less
    Anna, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Shannons Contents Insurance

    Great and pleasant company to deal with.

    I've been with 2 insurance companies over nearly ten years, Shannon's is a down to earth company and we speak the same lingo!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jonathan, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Shannons Home Insurance

    No problems for years.

    I think they are a good price. They are always helpful and easy to deal with on the phone and via email. Small company I think I prefer that. Bundle deals.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nikky, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Excellent company.

    We have two policies with Shannons, one for home and contents for our home, the other is building insurance for our holiday home. We made a claim last year on our holiday home and it was paid out in full. I phoned them to query the amount I was being charged for the holiday home and they gave me a discount on both the holiday home and our home insurance. Can't ask for better than that. Insurance rates seem to be about average. No problems at all, very professional company.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Margaret, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Stay away from this company

    Absolute disgrace in handling a claim for an electrical failure in our air conditioning system. Want report after report for why capacitor failed, deliberate procrastination and delays . Case manager is appalling. I am not one to write reviews but so angry with treatment from Shannon’s I had to vent.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Marvelous setvice

    Shannon’s home and contents insurance is great. I recently had a first claim with them and they were fantastic to deal with. Shannon’s made the whole process easy and their professionalism and prompt pay out was amazing. Can’t recommend Shannon’s highly enough to anyone wanting home and content insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Shannons Home & Contents Insurance

    Terrible.

    May be cheap but you get what you pay for. Not interested in solving a claim, drags on and on and on.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Douglas, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.