Teachers Mutual Bank logo

Teachers Mutual Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.5/10
Price
8.3/10
Features
7.9/10
Customer service
8.4/10
Convenience
7.6/10
Trust
8.6/10
Based on 84 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Teachers Mutual Bank My First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A competitive bank

    They are easy to deal with. Upfront about lending options and they are competitive.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Hannah, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    They were OK as a credit union.

    Although they're a mutual bank, they're acting like a 'big' player in the industry and treating customers like the Big 4 do. There is nothing personal or personable about this bank. As a credit union they were OK, as a bank they are not.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank My First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Screwed over first home buyer at last moment

    We chose this bank as they were highly recommended by us by family and our broker. To put things bluntly, Teachers mutual bank screwed us over at the last minute. We had a pre approval (twice!) for a loan on our land which they retracted 2 days before settlement due to a clause in the contract that our conveyancer/vendor/broker stated was a normal contractual clause. This caused us not only significant emotional stress but financial stress as we were unable to settle on time. We were left to find another lender within two days with no responsibility taken by TMB. To do that to two healthcare workers in the middle of covid-19 who have over the 20% deposit and a perfect credit score is ridiculous.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    H, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank My First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great App

    I really like TMB because the app is easy to use and allows me to manage my offset account on from my phone. The interest rate is good, although they have gone lower since I joined TMB so that is an area for improvement. Overall, I am happy with the bank.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank 1 Year Intro Rate Classic Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Friendly with less fees.

    Very helpful. No monthly fees on loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Janet, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Easy to use internet banking system.

    There are very few branches and no ATMs that don't charge a fee for transactions. Their Solutions Plus Home Loan has low fees, offset and redraw and no penalties for advanced payments.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Bronwyn, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    I would like them to be more rate sensitive

    They do not have the best rate. Works for me because they fund for a studio

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive products and amazing customer services

    Good service and products.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    V, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Solutions Plus Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Rewards Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    TMBank - The Bank for Educators

    A great mutual bank for the education community and their families. Low fees and great rates coupled with some of the best member service around.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Rude

    Rude customer service from loans department - not a service orientated credit union.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Fioan, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service; great rates.

    I have been with this bank for nearly 40 years and they consistently provide very competitive rates and a high level of service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Susan, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good service

    Good service and good rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Neil, Western Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service and competitive products

    We trust them, they are always helpful and you can talk to a person (rather than a computer) easily when you need to.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jacqui, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent rate

    Good

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Katt, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good rate and great service

    TMBank is the bank provider with very low interest.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jone, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 533 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.