Teachers Mutual Bank home loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

9.2 / 10

based on 25 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank home loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Solutions Plus Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Rewards Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

TMBank - The Bank for Educators

A great mutual bank for the education community and their families. Low fees and great rates coupled with some of the best member service around.

Full review

A great mutual bank for the education community and their families. Low fees and great rates coupled with some of the best member service around.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive products and amazing customer services

Good service and products.

Full review

Good service and products.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

V (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Rude

Rude customer service from loans department - not a service orientated credit union.

Full review

Rude customer service from loans department - not a service orientated credit union.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Fioan (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service; great rates.

I have been with this bank for nearly 40 years and they consistently provide very competitive rates and a high level of service.

Full review

I have been with this bank for nearly 40 years and they consistently provide very competitive rates and a high level of service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susan (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

Good service and good rates.

Full review

Good service and good rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Neil (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and competitive products

We trust them, they are always helpful and you can talk to a person (rather than a computer) easily when you need to.

Full review

We trust them, they are always helpful and you can talk to a person (rather than a computer) easily when you need to.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacqui (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best Customer service, products and rates

Not only do they have great products, along with some of the best rates around. They provide excellent service and are a member owned institution.

Full review

Not only do they have great products, along with some of the best rates around. They provide excellent service and are a member owned institution.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Andrew (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy, competitive and great service.

Every time I call over the phone I am only ever waiting 1 or 2 minutes, if that, before I'm talking to someone about my account. I fine their app VERY easy and fast to use at my convenience and fantastic that it shows just the information I want...

Full review

Every time I call over the phone I am only ever waiting 1 or 2 minutes, if that, before I'm talking to someone about my account. I fine their app VERY easy and fast to use at my convenience and fantastic that it shows just the information I want to see relating to my own account. It would be great if I could transfer money from my iPhone app instead of having to go through the main web site.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Robyn (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A great team to be part of.

A bank which places the customer first, easy to access online and staff readily available and extremely helpful when needed. The Teacher's Mutual Bank has always treated their customers as members of the bank, not just numbers.

Full review

A bank which places the customer first, easy to access online and staff readily available and extremely helpful when needed. The Teacher's Mutual Bank has always treated their customers as members of the bank, not just numbers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

Matched the fixed interest home loan rate of the major banks without any questions.

Full review

Matched the fixed interest home loan rate of the major banks without any questions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rob , reviewed about 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great service

Staff who know what they're talking about. Extremely helpful. Cons- distance, lack of face to face communication.

Full review

Staff who know what they're talking about. Extremely helpful. Cons- distance, lack of face to face communication.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheryl (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rates and customer service

Very happy with the customer service and competitive rates with this bank, who have allowed me to purchase my first home at age 26. Flexible options mean I can have a partly fixed and partly variable loan for both security and taking advantage of...

Full review

Very happy with the customer service and competitive rates with this bank, who have allowed me to purchase my first home at age 26. Flexible options mean I can have a partly fixed and partly variable loan for both security and taking advantage of changes in the rates. Really easy and the whole thing went smoothly - apparently a rare occurrence for buying property so I consider myself very lucky.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Erin (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A bank that really is there for the members only

TMB have been my bank since 1986 and my family members and many friends over the years now all enjoy their services. The staff are supportive and informative and will readily tell me how to save money. Over 3 car loans and a renovation mortgage,...

Full review

TMB have been my bank since 1986 and my family members and many friends over the years now all enjoy their services. The staff are supportive and informative and will readily tell me how to save money. Over 3 car loans and a renovation mortgage, their services have provided flexibility with lowest costs. Now in retirement, I know my money is safe and there are no fees on the banking needs that I regularly require. I love my Teachers Mutual Bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vkhall (ACT), reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service and really take care of women

Excellemt service, personalised assistance.

Full review

Excellemt service, personalised assistance.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mira , reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent rates and community feel

This bank is fantastic for rates, customer service over the phone and internet banking. Overdraw fees are only $10 compared to $40 at other banks. There are no actual branches readily available which can be a slight hassle, but not enough to...

Full review

This bank is fantastic for rates, customer service over the phone and internet banking. Overdraw fees are only $10 compared to $40 at other banks. There are no actual branches readily available which can be a slight hassle, but not enough to impact my overall banking experience.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lucy (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service, comparative and flexible

I have switched home loans a couple of times. I have always found the process easy, customer service excellent and processing time to be within acceptable limits. I had my home loan with one of the big four and I was not as happy with the service...

Full review

I have switched home loans a couple of times. I have always found the process easy, customer service excellent and processing time to be within acceptable limits. I had my home loan with one of the big four and I was not as happy with the service - even though the branch was easily accessible. TMB is not convenient as far as accessibility to a branch but the online and phone support makes up for that. I am very pleased.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laurelle (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive and professional

Competitive rates and low fees.

Full review

Competitive rates and low fees.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Flexibility and quality

Customer service and product is excellent. Prompt responses to enquiries and requests and flexibility.

Full review

Customer service and product is excellent. Prompt responses to enquiries and requests and flexibility.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service; no pressure; you choose.

They provide easy to understand information that helps you to make an informed decision. Personal contact is pleasant and personable, not robotic and aggressive. They treat you like they care. You are not just a number but a real person. If they...

Full review

They provide easy to understand information that helps you to make an informed decision. Personal contact is pleasant and personable, not robotic and aggressive. They treat you like they care. You are not just a number but a real person. If they feel you could be better serviced by the bank they will inform you of your options in an informative manner. Their home loans options rate much better than the big banks and they are quick to pass on adjustments if there have been interest rate changes.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

Set up to help teachers and their families. Excellent options for all types of banking.

Full review

Set up to help teachers and their families. Excellent options for all types of banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Solutions Plus Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Rewards Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Customer friendly services provided

I like the bank because it has a low interest rate and it is customer friendly.

Full review

I like the bank because it has a low interest rate and it is customer friendly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank My First Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and good range of products

Teachers Mutual Bank provides up to date products with accurate information to thear customers. Customers are able to make advance payments in order to maximise savings on interest. Advisers are well- informed and treat each customer with interest...

Full review

Teachers Mutual Bank provides up to date products with accurate information to thear customers. Customers are able to make advance payments in order to maximise savings on interest. Advisers are well- informed and treat each customer with interest and respect. Advice ie easily accessible and appropriate.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and great service

TMB passes on every interest rate reduction under this product. The bank prides itself on serving its members and profits are re-invested to ensure members are getting the best products and service. You can speak to real people if you need...

Full review

TMB passes on every interest rate reduction under this product. The bank prides itself on serving its members and profits are re-invested to ensure members are getting the best products and service. You can speak to real people if you need assistance or clarification and the application process was quick and easy. They are a great bank. I'd recommend them to anyone.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Bunch of robbers the lot of them

They just charge too much for what they do.

Full review

They just charge too much for what they do.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good old fashioned service

TMB provide exceptional member service, always putting me first, listening to my needs & designing an appropriate solution.

Full review

TMB provide exceptional member service, always putting me first, listening to my needs & designing an appropriate solution.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 527 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top