Teachers Mutual Bank home loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.7 / 10

based on 77 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank home loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Solutions Plus Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Rewards Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

TMBank - The Bank for Educators

A great mutual bank for the education community and their families. Low fees and great rates coupled with some of the best member service around.

Full review

A great mutual bank for the education community and their families. Low fees and great rates coupled with some of the best member service around.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive products and amazing customer services

Good service and products.

Full review

Good service and products.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

V, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Rude

Rude customer service from loans department - not a service orientated credit union.

Full review

Rude customer service from loans department - not a service orientated credit union.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Fioan, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service; great rates.

I have been with this bank for nearly 40 years and they consistently provide very competitive rates and a high level of service.

Full review

I have been with this bank for nearly 40 years and they consistently provide very competitive rates and a high level of service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susan, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

Good service and good rates.

Full review

Good service and good rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Neil, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and competitive products

We trust them, they are always helpful and you can talk to a person (rather than a computer) easily when you need to.

Full review

We trust them, they are always helpful and you can talk to a person (rather than a computer) easily when you need to.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacqui, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent rate

Good

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Katt, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good rate and great service

TMBank is the bank provider with very low interest.

Full review

TMBank is the bank provider with very low interest.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jone, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exceptional customer service

We have always found them to be very helpful

Full review

We have always found them to be very helpful

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ann, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

The rate is great and never have problem with the bank.

Full review

The rate is great and never have problem with the bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jackie, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best Customer service, products and rates

Not only do they have great products, along with some of the best rates around. They provide excellent service and are a member owned institution.

Full review

Not only do they have great products, along with some of the best rates around. They provide excellent service and are a member owned institution.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We are not just a number...!

Very personalised and understand what we want. Customer Service is always fantastic.

Full review

Very personalised and understand what we want. Customer Service is always fantastic.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carlie , , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy, competitive and great service.

Every time I call over the phone I am only ever waiting 1 or 2 minutes, if that, before I'm talking to someone about my account. I fine their app VERY easy and fast to use at my convenience and fantastic that it shows just the information I want...

Full review

Every time I call over the phone I am only ever waiting 1 or 2 minutes, if that, before I'm talking to someone about my account. I fine their app VERY easy and fast to use at my convenience and fantastic that it shows just the information I want to see relating to my own account. It would be great if I could transfer money from my iPhone app instead of having to go through the main web site.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Robyn, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A great team to be part of.

A bank which places the customer first, easy to access online and staff readily available and extremely helpful when needed. The Teacher's Mutual Bank has always treated their customers as members of the bank, not just numbers.

Full review

A bank which places the customer first, easy to access online and staff readily available and extremely helpful when needed. The Teacher's Mutual Bank has always treated their customers as members of the bank, not just numbers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

NOTHING is too much trouble

Full review

NOTHING is too much trouble

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Frank, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

DO NOT DISCRIMINATE AGAINST CASUAL WORKERS.

MY WHOLE HOMELOAN EXPERIENCE WITH THE TEACHERS MUTUAL BANK, HOMEBUSH SYDNEY, N.S.W. WAS QUICK, EASY, OVER THE PHONE AND VIA EMAIL. THEY WERE PLEASANT, HELPFULL AND THE INTEREST IS COMPERABLE TO THE BIG BANKS. I RECOMEND THEM TO EVERYONE I KNOW....

Full review

MY WHOLE HOMELOAN EXPERIENCE WITH THE TEACHERS MUTUAL BANK, HOMEBUSH SYDNEY, N.S.W. WAS QUICK, EASY, OVER THE PHONE AND VIA EMAIL. THEY WERE PLEASANT, HELPFULL AND THE INTEREST IS COMPERABLE TO THE BIG BANKS. I RECOMEND THEM TO EVERYONE I KNOW. YOU MUST BE A TEACHER OR A FAMILY MEMBER OF A TEACHER.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynne, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

Matched the fixed interest home loan rate of the major banks without any questions.

Full review

Matched the fixed interest home loan rate of the major banks without any questions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rob, , reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great service

Staff who know what they're talking about. Extremely helpful. Cons- distance, lack of face to face communication.

Full review

Staff who know what they're talking about. Extremely helpful. Cons- distance, lack of face to face communication.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheryl, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Fixed Option Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rates and customer service

Very happy with the customer service and competitive rates with this bank, who have allowed me to purchase my first home at age 26. Flexible options mean I can have a partly fixed and partly variable loan for both security and taking advantage of...

Full review

Very happy with the customer service and competitive rates with this bank, who have allowed me to purchase my first home at age 26. Flexible options mean I can have a partly fixed and partly variable loan for both security and taking advantage of changes in the rates. Really easy and the whole thing went smoothly - apparently a rare occurrence for buying property so I consider myself very lucky.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Erin, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A bank that really is there for the members only

TMB have been my bank since 1986 and my family members and many friends over the years now all enjoy their services. The staff are supportive and informative and will readily tell me how to save money. Over 3 car loans and a renovation mortgage,...

Full review

TMB have been my bank since 1986 and my family members and many friends over the years now all enjoy their services. The staff are supportive and informative and will readily tell me how to save money. Over 3 car loans and a renovation mortgage, their services have provided flexibility with lowest costs. Now in retirement, I know my money is safe and there are no fees on the banking needs that I regularly require. I love my Teachers Mutual Bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vkhall, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service and really take care of women

Excellemt service, personalised assistance.

Full review

Excellemt service, personalised assistance.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mira, , reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent rates and community feel

This bank is fantastic for rates, customer service over the phone and internet banking. Overdraw fees are only $10 compared to $40 at other banks. There are no actual branches readily available which can be a slight hassle, but not enough to...

Full review

This bank is fantastic for rates, customer service over the phone and internet banking. Overdraw fees are only $10 compared to $40 at other banks. There are no actual branches readily available which can be a slight hassle, but not enough to impact my overall banking experience.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lucy, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service, comparative and flexible

I have switched home loans a couple of times. I have always found the process easy, customer service excellent and processing time to be within acceptable limits. I had my home loan with one of the big four and I was not as happy with the service...

Full review

I have switched home loans a couple of times. I have always found the process easy, customer service excellent and processing time to be within acceptable limits. I had my home loan with one of the big four and I was not as happy with the service - even though the branch was easily accessible. TMB is not convenient as far as accessibility to a branch but the online and phone support makes up for that. I am very pleased.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laurelle, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive and professional

Competitive rates and low fees.

Full review

Competitive rates and low fees.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Flexibility and quality

Customer service and product is excellent. Prompt responses to enquiries and requests and flexibility.

Full review

Customer service and product is excellent. Prompt responses to enquiries and requests and flexibility.

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access

    interest rate

    3.49% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.53% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access
    • Interest rate: 3.49% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.53% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - $10/month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Special rate of 3.66% p.a. comparison rate applies to a maximum LVR of 80%
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause for eco-upgrades to your home or maternity leave

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Special rate of 3.66% p.a. comparison rate applies to a maximum LVR of 80%
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause for eco-upgrades to your home or maternity leave
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 79 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 499 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top