Tick Travel Insurance logo

Tick Travel Insurance Travel insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 15 travel insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent Tick Travel Insurance travel insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Green Tick Travel Insurance: Disastrous Experience

    My recent encounter with Green Tick Travel Insurance has left me deeply disappointed and frustrated. Despite purchasing top cover, including 24-hour medical assistance, the company has not only failed to pay our claim over two months after the event but has also shown a complete lack of assistance during our time of need. This review aims to shed light on the abysmal service provided by Green Tick Travel Insurance, cautioning potential customers to think twice before entrusting their travel safety to this company. Unfulfilled Promises: One of the main reasons we chose Green Tick Travel Insurance was their promise of comprehensive coverage and round-the-clock medical assistance. However, when I found myself in a dire situation, their response was far from what we expected. I required timely medical assistance, needing to access urgent services, including a medical evacuation. We had requested preauthorisation and, it became evident that their claims of providing assistance were nothing more than empty words. Could not get a timely response and therefore had to pay significant costs upfront for potentially lifesaving treatments. We were fortunate to have access to a credit card and funds via family back in Australia to cover up front costs. Lack of Payment:To add insult to injury, Green Tick Travel Insurance has not yet paid out our claim, despite the fact that we held what we believed to be top cover. Their lack of transparency and failure to pay out our claim in a timely manner is not only disheartening but also raises serious questions about their integrity as an insurance provider. It is clear that their commitment to their customers’ well-being is nothing more than a façade. We have since been asked to fill out form after form and answer not applicable questions. Unhelpful Customer Service:When we finally managed to reach their customer service department, we were met with unhelpful and dismissive attitudes. Instead of addressing our concerns and providing the assistance we desperately needed, they seem more interested in deflecting blame and avoiding responsibility and have since stopped replaying to emails and despite numerous requests have not returned out calls. This complete disregard for customer satisfaction is utterly unacceptable and reflects a lack of professionalism on their part. Conclusion:My experience with Green Tick Travel Insurance has been nothing short of a nightmare. Their failure to fulfill their promises, refusal to pay our claim, and unhelpful customer service have left me with a bitter taste in my mouth. I strongly advise potential customers to steer clear of this company and explore other options for their travel insurance needs. Green Tick Travel Insurance has proven itself to be unreliable, unworthy of our hard-earned money and untrustworthy to take care of travel insurance needs.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jarrod, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Don't fall for the Tick scam!!

    I found the travel insurance policy which I purchased with Tick to be a total waste of money. My luggage was recently lost by the airline whilst travelling. I had originally purchased the most premium of Tick's insurance policies, however when I contacted their claims department, the only items that they told me that they are prepared to reimburse me for is for essential clothes and toiletries. The stipulation was that all non-English receipts need to be officially translated. The thing is that I can buy some basic clothing for less than €100 Euros but will spend 3 times as much in getting all invoices translated. So basically it will cost me more money to lodge a claim. I will also not be reimbursed for the laptop which I kept in my suitcase. I am therefore cutting my losses and will cut short my trip and return early as it's simply going to be too expensive to both holiday and replace my lost items. By the way, Tick will not cover the cost associated with my change of ticket request. Despite having top cover and being insured for delayed baggage, personal belongings, and cutting my trip short, Tick have simply broken all the rules and not interested in looking at looking at my claim. I will not use Tick again and I don't recommend them. Please avoid at all costs. The Tick brand has no value and seems to be a complete scam

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mario, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Terrible experience with tick insurance

    My father in law passed away in Germany 5 days prior to my flight back to Australia. Tick insurance rejected my claim for cancelled airfares - which I had to cancel for obvious reasons - due to the death being in Germany, not Australia. This feels like a loophole they are using to avoid a very legitimate claim. I shouldn't be surprised, I guess, but this is not what I would have hoped for with the top level of cover and is certainly not what I needed at this time.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Discourage, Delay , Deny was my Travel Insurance

    Tick Insurance has it covered ..... you sort of. For example be aware that if you make a lost baggage claim you will require proof of ownership, which means a receipt for each and every item in your baggage that you wish to claim for and then these items are subject to a depreciation schedule.. In your PDS page 50 " proof of ownership" to be read in conjunction with page 27 section E1 personal baggage Medical Claim be aware you will need to provide a copy of your outward and inward flight itineary, medicare number, receipts for medical expenses claimed along with a copy of bank credit card statement showing payment for items claimed. Most importantly you will need a medical certificate from your doctor ouitlining your "exact" diagnosis and without this your claim will be rejected as in my case and this took 29 days from when the claim was lodged until I was advised of my rejected claim. Worth asking about alchohol tolerance if any as this information is available to your insurer via hospital blood test so worth knowing if your insurance is still with you. Tick unbelievably has award winning rating mainly based on competitive pricing and the level of apparent inclusions.... how would your baggage claim work for you

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    AVOID THIS COMPANY

    AVOID THIS COMPANY This company screams dodgy. I purchased travel insurance through them and then received an email asking to submit a review of my experience. (you literally haven't done anything, but explains how they have some good reviews on here) One of my flights got cancelled etc, so I logged in to submit a claim. The Portal just goes to an error message page. this kept happening for the new few days. I finally emailed them on two occasions and have not heard a peep back. AVOID this company.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Natasha, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Legitimate claim

    Tried to deny payment of legitimate claim which was covered by their PDS. Took 9 months and application to AFCA for them to finally settle.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Stephanie, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Scammers/thieves.

    I bought cover with the option to cancel three months before COVID hit. I rang to tell them my wedding holiday was cancelled and they told me the cancellation period was 14 days after purchase. They have since told me I qualify for a refund less than 43% of the purchase price because my policy did come into effect for those 14 days. If I had have gone with the policy that didn't allow cancellation they would have offered me a full refund. Avoid at all cost.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jesse, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Easy to deal with.

    Tick insurance have great rates even on the snow add on. Very easy to claim if needed, all sorted in a timely fashion. I would use them again and again.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Judith, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

    We are elderly and had saved for this trip for some time. Booked and paid with Virgin, and trick Insurance last to November. Despite emailing every possible piece of information that we had been given, including bank statements, it was never enough. So, in frustration I asked for my money ($840) back for no service. Hell no, they are keeping it come what may, and pretend that "sorry, we just can't give it back", as though their hands are tied despite desperately wanting to do the right thing. In my honest opinion a Parisian sewer rat would have more morals than this crowd.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Greg., Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Do Not Insure With Tick Travel Insurance!

    I am in a situation of been ripped off due to "Tick insurance". I have logged a claim for a family trip to Vanuatu for a friend's wedding that was cancelled with insurance taken out in 2019 pre COVID-19 for a trip in April 2020. Got the wonderful news months after the claim after extremely poor communication (lack of a phone number to talk to someone, no responses to questions regarding cancellation and long timeframes) that our claim was rejected as credit was offered by the travel company. A credit is all well and good if you can use it! My wife is pregnant with our second child due in Sept 2020, so a trip to a country that has malaria problems with a newborn that cannot take preventative medication until 18 months. In addition our first child would need an extra seat incurring extra cost due to age requirements. This rules any use of these credits out and any suggestion we can use the credit is ridiculous. THIS WAS MENTIONED IN THE CLAIM sent to Tick! I have my suspicions that the claims have not been reviewed fairly or thoroughly due to generic statements in your reply and lack of correspondence. It is appalling that Tick is preying genuine claims and in my case an expecting family. I have lodged an internal dispute hoping that common sense will prevail on Tick's behalf. Unfortunately Tick has not responded within its two week commitment window. After a phone call to the call centre by us, there was a commitment by Tick that we would be contacted within 48 hours, which didn't happen. After a further follow-up call we still cannot speak to anyone but a call centre operator who cannot help us. I will be forced to pursue other means to recover my rightful insurance claim. Extremely disappointed in Tick to say the least! Tick do not have any social media pages, although I have tried to reach out to the parent company. Tick just need to do the right thing that so many other travel insurance companies are doing currently and pay up! Regards, Swindled Tick Customer

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Joshua, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Not good, very bad

    They don't pay on your policy. Don't waste your money.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Joseph, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    go else where

    Don't waste your money go with some one else they are no go. They don't pay up on a policy.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Joseph, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    They are hopeless, don't go there

    Don't trust them, they don't pay up when you claim. They give you a heap of lies as to why. It's a waste of money. Just stay away and money go else where. Don't waste your money.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Joseph, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Poor customer service and hiding behind policy

    Spend each week trying to get hold of their customer services only to be promised a call back or email response. Having brought their comprehensive travel insurance I was told they would honour any cancellation claims however, I have found out that their requirements are designed to make any claim almost impossible. The travel agents and accommodation places are not responding to emails and according Tick I need them to provide a cancellation certificate. GotoGate and MyTrips have even disconnected their hot line. I also had a boat trip in Colombia booked and they are not responding. Airlines such as Copa and Interjet will not provide any information saying I need to go travel agents I booked through. It's a vicious circle where travel agents do not respond and Tick Insurance (after getting a response) refuse to pay out on any claim unless they have a formal cancellation certificate. There is no compassion or understanding of the impacts of COVID and being able to get cancellation certificates. I have provided my credit card and bank statements sowing payment, airfare tickets and accommodation bookings all clearly labelled non refundable. Think twice before purchasing Tick Insurance You may think you are covered however, this assumes you are able to get all the information required under their policy which may not be attainable in extreme events such as the COVID pandemic. ---- Since writing the above, TICK Insurance have completely and utterly attempted to frustrate things further with the same requests. The most recent is to get a cancellation notice from the US Department of Immigration to say my Visa application is cancelled. Similar to hotels with a non refundable non cancellation policy, the US Dept of Immigration are not going to cancel nor provide a cancellation notice yet TICK are refusing to cover the costs. I would add TICK customer service could not be this poor. They have made a decision to frustrate claims in the hope their customers give up and go away. Very poor given the circumstances. All I want to be reimbursed for out of travel expenses which are covered under my comprehensive travel policy. How can this be unreasonable? Please re-consider TICK if you are looking at travel insurance. It's a Policy thwart with exceptions and terms which make it impossible claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Called me a liar.

    I tried to reschedule my insurance today as it was no longer needed due to coronavirus but got told by a customer service rep that I had called the day before to confirm I needed it and it is now too late. Considering I was at work the whole day and have no recollection of doing this they assure me I did, however they can't tell me when I called, who took the message or why I would need insurance for a trip I had cancelled five days earlier. Tried to speak with a manager but they were all too busy so I'm not expecting any joy from this mob. Price is pretty cheap but you get what you pay for I suppose, I won't be using them again and can't recommend them as an insurer.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.