Thumbnail icon for Tick Travel Insurance

Tick Travel Insurance Travel insurance reviews

Overall rating
0.5/10
Value for money
1.0/10
Policy coverage
2.3/10
Customer service
0.8/10
Claims handling
0.7/10
Trust
0.3/10
Based on 4 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Tick Travel Insurance travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do Not Insure With Tick Travel Insurance!

    I am in a situation of been ripped off due to "Tick insurance". I have logged a claim for a family trip to Vanuatu for a friend's wedding that was cancelled with insurance taken out in 2019 pre COVID-19 for a trip in April 2020. Got the wonderful news months after the claim after extremely poor communication (lack of a phone number to talk to someone, no responses to questions regarding cancellation and long timeframes) that our claim was rejected as credit was offered by the travel company. A credit is all well and good if you can use it! My wife is pregnant with our second child due in Sept 2020, so a trip to a country that has malaria problems with a newborn that cannot take preventative medication until 18 months. In addition our first child would need an extra seat incurring extra cost due to age requirements. This rules any use of these credits out and any suggestion we can use the credit is ridiculous. THIS WAS MENTIONED IN THE CLAIM sent to Tick! I have my suspicions that the claims have not been reviewed fairly or thoroughly due to generic statements in your reply and lack of correspondence. It is appalling that Tick is preying genuine claims and in my case an expecting family. I have lodged an internal dispute hoping that common sense will prevail on Tick's behalf. Unfortunately Tick has not responded within its two week commitment window. After a phone call to the call centre by us, there was a commitment by Tick that we would be contacted within 48 hours, which didn't happen. After a further follow-up call we still cannot speak to anyone but a call centre operator who cannot help us. I will be forced to pursue other means to recover my rightful insurance claim. Extremely disappointed in Tick to say the least! Tick do not have any social media pages, although I have tried to reach out to the parent company. Tick just need to do the right thing that so many other travel insurance companies are doing currently and pay up! Regards, Swindled Tick Customer

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Joshua, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    They are hopeless, don't go there

    Don't trust them, they don't pay up when you claim. They give you a heap of lies as to why. It's a waste of money. Just stay away and money go else where. Don't waste your money.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Joseph, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor customer service and hiding behind policy

    Spend each week trying to get hold of their customer services only to be promised a call back or email response. Having brought their comprehensive travel insurance I was told they would honour any cancellation claims however, I have found out that their requirements are designed to make any claim almost impossible. The travel agents and accommodation places are not responding to emails and according Tick I need them to provide a cancellation certificate. GotoGate and MyTrips have even disconnected their hot line. I also had a boat trip in Colombia booked and they are not responding. Airlines such as Copa and Interjet will not provide any information saying I need to go travel agents I booked through. It's a vicious circle where travel agents do not respond and Tick Insurance (after getting a response) refuse to pay out on any claim unless they have a formal cancellation certificate. There is no compassion or understanding of the impacts of COVID and being able to get cancellation certificates. I have provided my credit card and bank statements sowing payment, airfare tickets and accommodation bookings all clearly labelled non refundable. Think twice before purchasing Tick Insurance You may think you are covered however, this assumes you are able to get all the information required under their policy which may not be attainable in extreme events such as the COVID pandemic. ---- Since writing the above, TICK Insurance have completely and utterly attempted to frustrate things further with the same requests. The most recent is to get a cancellation notice from the US Department of Immigration to say my Visa application is cancelled. Similar to hotels with a non refundable non cancellation policy, the US Dept of Immigration are not going to cancel nor provide a cancellation notice yet TICK are refusing to cover the costs. I would add TICK customer service could not be this poor. They have made a decision to frustrate claims in the hope their customers give up and go away. Very poor given the circumstances. All I want to be reimbursed for out of travel expenses which are covered under my comprehensive travel policy. How can this be unreasonable? Please re-consider TICK if you are looking at travel insurance. It's a Policy thwart with exceptions and terms which make it impossible claim.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Dean, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Called me a liar.

    I tried to reschedule my insurance today as it was no longer needed due to coronavirus but got told by a customer service rep that I had called the day before to confirm I needed it and it is now too late. Considering I was at work the whole day and have no recollection of doing this they assure me I did, however they can't tell me when I called, who took the message or why I would need insurance for a trip I had cancelled five days earlier. Tried to speak with a manager but they were all too busy so I'm not expecting any joy from this mob. Price is pretty cheap but you get what you pay for I suppose, I won't be using them again and can't recommend them as an insurer.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.