Bank First savings account reviews

Bank First
Bank First's overall rating for savings accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.9 / 10

based on 25 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured savings account from Bank First

Recent Bank First savings account reviews

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Friendly and easy to contact, however there are too few offices that are located miles away from where I live.

Full review

Friendly and easy to contact, however there are too few offices that are located miles away from where I live.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Judy (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Great when I graduated from Uni

Full review

Great when I graduated from Uni

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nicole (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly with great customer service

I've been with the bank for over 30 years, everything has always been smooth.

Full review

I've been with the bank for over 30 years, everything has always been smooth.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jane (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great for teachers and their relatives

Low fees and good interest

Full review

Low fees and good interest

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

James (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Sometimes smaller is better

For a smaller bank, they are very good at communicating with customers and ensuring information is available.

Full review

For a smaller bank, they are very good at communicating with customers and ensuring information is available.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Stephen (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad

Good bank but a lot of bank fees.

Full review

Good bank but a lot of bank fees.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Nic (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and competitive premiums.

They appear to have the customer's needs as a priority.

Full review

They appear to have the customer's needs as a priority.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jo (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Almost no fees and great telephone service

The bank is A+ rating on fees and charges to the extent that a normal resident like me would get virtually no bank fees at all. For example I receive 5 fee free ATM withdrawals per month from normal banks and then I receive unlimited fee free...

Full review

The bank is A+ rating on fees and charges to the extent that a normal resident like me would get virtually no bank fees at all. For example I receive 5 fee free ATM withdrawals per month from normal banks and then I receive unlimited fee free withdrawals so long as I use the partner Commonwealth Bank ATM machines. The only downside is that the bank is located at only two sites - both in Melbourne. There are limited in bank transactions available at the Commonwealth e.g. Cheque deposits.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service

I always get excellent service from the VTMU.

Full review

I always get excellent service from the VTMU.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service

They have competitive interest rates,easy to read statements and phone service.They send out regular newsletters to keep you up to date with what they are up to.

Full review

They have competitive interest rates,easy to read statements and phone service.They send out regular newsletters to keep you up to date with what they are up to.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dianne (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fees and great customer service

No fee, highly convenient account.

Full review

No fee, highly convenient account.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gordon (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Ease of access & fabulous customer service.

Accessing my money is easy whether in Australia or overseas. They're just a phone call away & you speak to someone from the bank not from a call centre.

Full review

Accessing my money is easy whether in Australia or overseas. They're just a phone call away & you speak to someone from the bank not from a call centre.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sue (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A real person deals with you.

Always able to speak to a 'real' person not automated. They get back to quickly and service is always professional.

Full review

Always able to speak to a 'real' person not automated. They get back to quickly and service is always professional.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Helen (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and great product.

I love Vic Teach, great service and great product.

Full review

I love Vic Teach, great service and great product.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheryl (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We are all on the same side of the ledger

They keep everything,simple and straightforward so I don't need experts to guide me through when I want to do business with them.

Full review

They keep everything,simple and straightforward so I don't need experts to guide me through when I want to do business with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Roger (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Always explain everything I have needed to know

Free transactions!

Full review

Free transactions!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sherryn (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank

Brilliant bank, with very helpful customer service team. They are willing to assist with anything. Only flaw is that to change your PIN numbers you are required to attend a branch (which is impossible when you live interstate) or order a new card....

Full review

Brilliant bank, with very helpful customer service team. They are willing to assist with anything. Only flaw is that to change your PIN numbers you are required to attend a branch (which is impossible when you live interstate) or order a new card. Other than that, they're a great bank with great prices/interest rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leah (NT), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Efficient, competitive and customer focussed

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank are a low cost and very professional bank. I would highly recommend them for their efficiency, customer care and competitive rates.

Full review

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank are a low cost and very professional bank. I would highly recommend them for their efficiency, customer care and competitive rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Teresa , reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great features and great customer service

They are an awesome bank. I love that they don't charge hefty bank fees. It makes it makes it possible to keep track of the money!

Full review

They are an awesome bank. I love that they don't charge hefty bank fees. It makes it makes it possible to keep track of the money!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stephanie (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great, supportive staff

Exceptional staff who are always looking to update your product for your advantage.

Full review

Exceptional staff who are always looking to update your product for your advantage.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Frances (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Leaves the big banks behund

VTMB continues to be a reliable and efficient bank, providing competitive products and great services to its members. It's definitely a bank with its customers foremost in mind.

Full review

VTMB continues to be a reliable and efficient bank, providing competitive products and great services to its members. It's definitely a bank with its customers foremost in mind.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First First Saver Account savings account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Friendly

Bank staff are lovely, but need to go to the branch often.

Full review

Bank staff are lovely, but need to go to the branch often.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Natalie (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Only downside is VTMB is in Victoria, and I live in Queensland.

Full review

Only downside is VTMB is in Victoria, and I live in Queensland.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Louise (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No fuss online banking

No fuss savings account. I've not paid any fees at all in the 2 decades I have banked here. Excellent online banking options.

Full review

No fuss savings account. I've not paid any fees at all in the 2 decades I have banked here. Excellent online banking options.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jessie (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First First Saver Account savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service all round

They make you feel they are there for you! Look for options that give you a great deal and make your money work for you.

Full review

They make you feel they are there for you! Look for options that give you a great deal and make your money work for you.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carolyn (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Savings Maximiser

    ING Savings Maximiser

    • No ING fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre

    special rate*

    2.80% p.a. (for $0 to $100,000)

    For customers who have an Orange Everyday and deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month

    standard interest rate

    1.00% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre
    • Special rate conditions: For customers who have an Orange Everyday and deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 428 ING savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    AMP Saver Account

    AMP Saver Account

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)

    bonus rate for 4 months

    standard interest rate

    2.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account.
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 24 AMP savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Serious Saver

    HSBC Serious Saver

    • No monthly fees
    • No minimum deposit
    • Apply online in under 10 minutes

    special rate*

    3.00% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)

    No withdrawals in the month. Bonus rate for first 4 months, reverting to 1.60% bonus rate after

    standard interest rate

    0% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • No minimum deposit
    • Apply online in under 10 minutes
    • Special rate conditions: No withdrawals in the month. Bonus rate for first 4 months, reverting to 1.60% bonus rate after
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 45 HSBC savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    ME Online Savings Account

    ME Online Savings Account

    • Ongoing bonus interest when you tap & go weekly (T&Cs apply)
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees

    special rate*

    2.85% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit Mastercard.

    standard interest rate

    1.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ongoing bonus interest when you tap & go weekly (T&Cs apply)
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit Mastercard.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 119 ME savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • CUA eSaver Boost

    CUA eSaver Boost

    • Earn a generous maximum interest rate of up to 2.75%
    • No monthly account or online transfer fees
    • Free online and mobile banking transactions

    special rate*

    2.75% p.a. (for $0 to $500,000)

    Minimum deposit of $250 and no withdrawals in the month

    standard interest rate

    0.25% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn a generous maximum interest rate of up to 2.75%
    • No monthly account or online transfer fees
    • Free online and mobile banking transactions
    • Special rate conditions: Minimum deposit of $250 and no withdrawals in the month
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 155 CUA savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 217 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

Back to top