Thumbnail icon for Coles

Coles Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.7/10
Value for money
8.2/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.4/10
Claims handling
6.5/10
Trust
7.3/10
Based on 637 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Coles car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Absolutely unconscionable behaviour.

    I was recently crashed into by a driver who was comprehensively insured by Coles. He admitted liability and filed a claim to have my vehicle repaired. Very unfortunately this driver died of a heart attack two weeks later. Two months later Coles contacted me and stated the claim had been rejected because the excess had not been paid. I informed them of the reason for that. They still rejected claim.

    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good website and competitive rates.

    Good price, website was easy to navigate. Have not had to make a claim so unsure on service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Gemma, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid them. You get what you pay for.

    Worst claims service ever. Took over a year, a lot of time on hold and a lot of angry calls to resolve a claim where I was not at fault. I ended up having to make a complaint to the Ombudsman in order to get the claim escalated to their dispute resolution team and eventually resolved. Their standard claims team are lazy and rude. Their dispute resolution team was definitely much better to deal with, but it should never have gotten to that level.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kate, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive premiums, claims process has a flaw...

    Customer service was friendly but the process could have been easier. We had to wait for the at-fault driver to make a claim on their own insurance before we could get our car fixed. I don't understand, if the at-fault driver has insurance and decides NOT to make a claim, we can't get our car fixed!? We had to keep contacting the at-fault driver, trying desperately to convince them that they should make a claim. This is not good policy I'm afraid.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cazza, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good Premiums.

    Good premiums for the first year, will wait and see what the second year is before giving an honest review.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Extremely competitive pricing.

    So easy to deal with. When you phone you speak to someone without waiting, staff are very helpful and explain in clear language. When residential address is changed they contact you and let you know your premium is being reduced and they refund the difference direct to you straight away. Half the price of some competitior quotes and cover the same things. That's good service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lyn, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Cheap but claiming is a nightmare.

    Cheap premiums but when it comes to actually claiming they are a nightmare to deal with. Would never use again.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Cheaper premiums.

    They seem to be a good insurance provider at cheaper premiums.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mick, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good customer service

    Have had no problems with this insurer. They were quick to finalise a claim and quick with the payout

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A+ in price, but still not sure if trustworthy

    I've never had issues with them prior, however they are still a newer insurer so the trust levels are still growing. Their premium was very competitive and led me to switch from Comminsure to Coles!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Gemma, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good insurance from Coles, $25 discount, flybuys

    Coles insurance is about the same as Woolworths insurance. Both offer the same benefits at the same price. I get roadside assistance too with Coles. I am rewarded by using Coles insurance with flybuys points that I redeem for money when shopping.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Charmain, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Very expensive

    Just opted out with them couple of days ago - very expensive. After shopping around, found budget direct so have been with them for a a few days now.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Allan, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad experience all around

    If you want a cheap premium price and don't really want to claim then this is the CHEAP choice. I have been with Coles Insurance for 4 years already. My wife claimed before, it took 3 month to fix it. That is ok. This time someone hit and run. I claimed immediately, the accident happened last June, and I'm still waiting for Coles to investigate. It is already 10 months. The first time I called Coles the guy said no worries, Coles would cover you, I shouldn't worry about anything. However, I have called couple of times after that and always been told to wait. It seems no one care about your case, no one follows up with the police report. Coles doesn't want to pay for the report until they have to, then they paid at the last minute, they are not thinking about fixing your car as soon as possible. Someone even rudely hang up my phone when I asked to talk with her supervisor. It doesn't even meet the normal Australian service standard. I feel very disappointed with Coles, as a Flybuys member for more than 10 years. It is absolutely worst ever claim experience I have met. Better stay with RACQ, guys!

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Harry, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good service

    They are very good they try and get my policy to cover what I need for the best price and I get flyby points.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Joy, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Okay

    Coles car insurance is okay.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Anita, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.