Thumbnail icon for Coles

Coles Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.6/10
Value for money
8.2/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.4/10
Claims handling
6.5/10
Trust
7.2/10
Based on 653 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Coles car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent low-cost option.

    The best part of this insurance is that you earn Flybuys when you pay it! It is the lowest cost insurance that I found on the market. It’s perfect if you are looking for an affordable option and like to collect Flybuys. I have only had good experiences with them.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Angela, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Coles Car Insurance at $20.21 a fortnight upwards.

    This Insurer gives you points on Coles rewards Points. It allows you to change your schedule if youare having a hard time meeting your obligations. The flexibility and services provided are true to the Australian culture. Friendly and reliable.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Maria, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Poor customer service.

    Unfortunately, despite the low fees and inclusive cover, the customer service and claims process was extremely stressful and disappointing. I would prefer to pay a higher premium elsewhere after the poor customer service I was met with following both a not at fault accident and a natural disaster.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Claudia, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 24 days ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great value

    Quick and easy to insure, competitive prices, recommended by trusted family members.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Natalie, Tasmania, reviewed 28 days ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Win win.

    Very helpful to talk to, very easy process. Bonus is the flybuys points! Money off my groceries for paying for something I need to have regardless is a win win for me!

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jaimee, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great insurer

    Great insurer. Quick and easy claims process and cheaper premiums than most other insurers.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Alanah, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great low cost, no frills insurance.

    If you’re after low cost comprehensive car insurance, then Coles car insurance is ideal. The cover is certainly no frills, so it’s important to thoroughly read the PDS so you fully understand what you are and aren’t covered for, but I found them perfect when I owned an older car and wasn’t interested in a lot of extras. When my car was written off due to mechanical issues, claiming a refund on the remaining policy was a quick and hassle free process. I’ve only moved on as I am now leading a car through work and insurance is packaged in.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ashlea, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Always get quotes when renewing your policy.

    I find Coles very easy to deal with through the renewal process and through the claim process. I have had to claim before and it was straightforward I had plenty of options in relation the the repairer. They were able to answer all my questions in a clear and concise way which I could understand. From a renewal perspective they were very open to match a quote I sent to them. I would always recommend getting at least one other quote when you get your renewal notice and don't hesitate to discuss a lower premium with your current insurer. But be sure you compare them so you are getting the same coverage or extras so it is a like for like comparison. A lower quote might have the extras your current policy has so be aware.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Craig, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Competitive prices.

    Friendly phone service. Competitive prices. Inquire online.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Catherine, Tasmania, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Definitely worth concidering

    Good loyalty rewards, great value, covers most required options, easy to contact after hours. Clear options for extra cover e.g. towing, car hire , windshield.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Timothy, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never insure anything with Coles/IAG insurance.

    Our parked and locked vehicle was stolen from our driveway back in April 2020. There were six juveniles involved in the theft of ours and another vehicle, with the juveniles crashing into two police cars, injuring the officers, with our vehicle being declared a write off. The juveniles were charged with drug offences, stealing the vehicle and numerous other charges. Coles/IAG made me send our key to their nominated Key Forensic company, I had to pay for the police reports, and both my 17 year old daughter and myself were interviewed by an IAG funded 'independent' fraud investigator. They have informed me that they are rejecting the claim, stating that the vehicle must have been left unlocked, with a secondary key left inside the vehicle. We have never had possession of a second key and have absolutely no idea where the juveniles have obtained it from. We have owned the car for about 4.5 years, it has been reasonably regularly cleaned, so if there was a second key within the vehicle we would have found it. The juveniles did not break in to our house and steal the key.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jane, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Coles insurance is not customer focused

    I was rear ended by a young P plater 4 months ago at speed while slowly driving up a hill into a blinding setting sun. Driver at scene admitted liability. Had to force driver and owner details from him, said his mother owned his old dodgy 1994 Ute and it was insured in her name he thought but didn't know. Didn't call police as thought it wasn't a serious accident and didn't want to block this bad stretch of road as many people have been seriously hurt or killed in this notorious hundred metre stretch. Did everything Coles asked and more. Claim was paid after car was written off from the straight forward rearimpact rippling chassi. Coles staff said no worries all was good no excess was payable and other driver clearly at fault. I moved on with life taking an 8500 hit on having to purchase a good second hand car. Now 4 months later Coles rings up saying I need to now pay excess as they are getting grief from mummy's insurer who is refuting claim as son now doesn't want to pay his excess and him and sister inventing a new story to avoid age excess and now claiming it is somehow my fault for driving cautiously in to the sun with zero visabilty and trying to pull off road safely in known accident spot at that time of year with setting sun. Unbelievable I have never made any insurance claim before and have impeccable driving record for last twenty years.Told them I will not payexcess as accident was clearly not my fault and told all was settled and paid out. I was lucky I wasn't killed by this speeding idiot and now have been asked to pay an excess? Avoid this company at all costs they are liars,backtracked and do not stand up for their customers and their payouts are lousy too. They say one thing and then do another.Australian company using overseas staff to screw you. I have now been rear ended by both the young speeding P plater and my own insurance company.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Scott, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not insure with Coles insurance.

    Our Honda Odyssey was stolen from our driveway by a gang of six juveniles back in April. The car was locked and secured as it always is. They stole two vehicles, ended up in a police chase, crashing into a patrol vehicle injuring police persons and writing off my car by smashing into a wall. All six juveniles were arrested and the drivers pleaded guilty to stealing and driving the vehicles. The youths also graffitied the vehicle, stole our property, appeared to contain other stolen goods and the car contained a variety of drug paraphernalia when recovered. I have been interviewed via telephone on at least four occasions, and my daughter and I have just been subjected to a two and a half hour face to face taped audio interview with an IAG appointed 'independent fraud investigator'. The car was comprehensively insured with a listed Under 25 driver (being my daughter). The car was found with a key in the ignition, and the insurer is insinuating that either we left the vehicle unlocked, and/or there was a spare key in the car, or our 17 year old daughter or myself were involved in the theft. We purchased the vehicle second hand and were never given a second key. If you had a spare key as if you would leave it in the vehicle! Anyway this has been going on for 4 months. Beware, do not insure your vehicle with this company. One would have hoped that the 2018 insurance and banking Royal Commission would have remedied the poor practice of these companies who are expected to act in the "utmost good faith". This company does not demonstrate those behaviours so steer clear. We will be heading to the ombudsman with this claim.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jane, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very good prices & user friendly

    Very competitive prices and great service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elaine, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Coles Insurance is Provided by AIG. Not by Coles.

    I don't have a policy with Coles Insurance Company. Here's something you probably don't know: It doesn't exist. Coles' insurance policies are actually provided by AIG, as are the policies of several other insurance companies. One of them is AAMI. So, before you renew your Coles insurance policy, get a Quote from AAMI, because for one thing, they provide cover for a hire car which apparently Coles does not.

    N/a, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.