Thumbnail icon for Coles

Coles Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.6/10
Value for money
8.2/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.4/10
Claims handling
6.5/10
Trust
7.3/10
Based on 640 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Coles car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very good prices & user friendly

    Very competitive prices and great service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elaine, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Coles Insurance is Provided by AIG. Not by Coles.

    I don't have a policy with Coles Insurance Company. Here's something you probably don't know: It doesn't exist. Coles' insurance policies are actually provided by AIG, as are the policies of several other insurance companies. One of them is AAMI. So, before you renew your Coles insurance policy, get a Quote from AAMI, because for one thing, they provide cover for a hire car which apparently Coles does not.

    N/a, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst experience ever - AVOID AVOID AVOID

    I was pleasantly surprised with the premium offered by Coles, however (and please don't think I'm being racist, I'm stating facts) the call centre is offshore, making the staff people who don't have English as a first language and as such there was a miscommunication/misunderstanding about the level of cover. The staff member for some unknown reason added the three additional drivers I requested as policy holders, not listed drivers, their names appear on the policy so it's easy to assume that they are listed drivers. Apparently not. Unfortunately my son was involved in a not at fault accident where the car has been written off and now they're 'reviewing' my claim. The car is in the tow truck yard at $25 a day, and the claims department staff are rude, disinterested, unhelpful and useless. Don't bother asking to speak to a supervisor, that must be in writing and takes up to 48 hours. I could write war and peace on how incompetent and obviously happy to take your premium they are but don't want to pay out. Then you get stuffed around by the claims staff who obviously don't have any interest in you or helping you. I have had to go to the ombudsman just to get the claim moving, and it's still not approved. The claims department staff lied to me (confirmed by information from the person who has now got the claim after I went to the ombudsman) She asked why there wasn't an accident report from the driver or passenger in my vehicle....perhaps it was because none of the incompetent claims staff asked for it?? The other driver was at fault and seeing as he was taken away by ambulance I didn't get his details, fortunately the police did provide me with his name and number, after the claims dept refused to obtain that information saying that was my responsibility to provide that, I thought thats why I paid for insurance? Once I provided that information to them, they told me the other driver had to admit liability for them to pay out! Can't be serious?? The other driver was driving an unregistered (possibly stolen, reading between the lines of the what the police told me) and a large quantity of illegal pills (MDMA) were in his vehicle, I doubt he's going to admit anything seeing the insurance will go after him for the money. Nightmare, stupid stupid me for going with a cut price insurer. Do yourself a favour, do NOT go with Coles (I don't even shop at their supermarkets, never have) if you want proper coverage for your car, onshore call centres where there is no miscommunication or misunderstanding of your insurance needs, go with NRMA.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sophie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Absolutely unconscionable behaviour.

    I was recently crashed into by a driver who was comprehensively insured by Coles. He admitted liability and filed a claim to have my vehicle repaired. Very unfortunately this driver died of a heart attack two weeks later. Two months later Coles contacted me and stated the claim had been rejected because the excess had not been paid. I informed them of the reason for that. They still rejected claim.

    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good website and competitive rates.

    Good price, website was easy to navigate. Have not had to make a claim so unsure on service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Gemma, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid them. You get what you pay for.

    Worst claims service ever. Took over a year, a lot of time on hold and a lot of angry calls to resolve a claim where I was not at fault. I ended up having to make a complaint to the Ombudsman in order to get the claim escalated to their dispute resolution team and eventually resolved. Their standard claims team are lazy and rude. Their dispute resolution team was definitely much better to deal with, but it should never have gotten to that level.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kate, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive premiums, claims process has a flaw...

    Customer service was friendly but the process could have been easier. We had to wait for the at-fault driver to make a claim on their own insurance before we could get our car fixed. I don't understand, if the at-fault driver has insurance and decides NOT to make a claim, we can't get our car fixed!? We had to keep contacting the at-fault driver, trying desperately to convince them that they should make a claim. This is not good policy I'm afraid.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cazza, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good Premiums.

    Good premiums for the first year, will wait and see what the second year is before giving an honest review.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Extremely competitive pricing.

    So easy to deal with. When you phone you speak to someone without waiting, staff are very helpful and explain in clear language. When residential address is changed they contact you and let you know your premium is being reduced and they refund the difference direct to you straight away. Half the price of some competitior quotes and cover the same things. That's good service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lyn, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Cheap but claiming is a nightmare.

    Cheap premiums but when it comes to actually claiming they are a nightmare to deal with. Would never use again.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Cheaper premiums.

    They seem to be a good insurance provider at cheaper premiums.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mick, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good customer service

    Have had no problems with this insurer. They were quick to finalise a claim and quick with the payout

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A+ in price, but still not sure if trustworthy

    I've never had issues with them prior, however they are still a newer insurer so the trust levels are still growing. Their premium was very competitive and led me to switch from Comminsure to Coles!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Gemma, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good insurance from Coles, $25 discount, flybuys

    Coles insurance is about the same as Woolworths insurance. Both offer the same benefits at the same price. I get roadside assistance too with Coles. I am rewarded by using Coles insurance with flybuys points that I redeem for money when shopping.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Charmain, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Very expensive

    Just opted out with them couple of days ago - very expensive. After shopping around, found budget direct so have been with them for a a few days now.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Allan, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.