Thumbnail icon for Illawarra Credit Union

Illawarra Credit Union Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.2/10
Price
6.8/10
Features
6.9/10
Customer service
7.4/10
Convenience
6.5/10
Trust
7.2/10
Based on 11 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Illawarra Credit Union home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Their loan rates are much higher than other banks!

    I moved from ImB to Illawarra Credit Union for a better deal on my home and investment loan a few years back. Over the years I have noticed Illawarra Credit Union rates on both loans haven’t kept up with other competitive market rates. For example, one of my loan rates is 4.4% which is well off market competitive rates of around 3% in today’s market. I have spoken to the sales staff at the Dapto branch on a couple of occasions and have even called up their mortgage services team. Illawarra credit union is of course disinterested in doing anything to make the rate more competitive - more than a week's gone by and I have not heard back from them. I would suggest if you are looking for a home loan or investment loan to consider wether Illawarra Credit Union is the best option for you - as they are not market competitive in the long run from my experience. And you will end up slipping behind other better rates out there and paying more for your loan in the long run.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Philip, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Reward loyalty and very good interest rates.

    Always willing to listen and negotiate best product and interest rate option.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Susan, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good rate

    I'm locked in for 1% lower than the normal rate for the entire loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Heartless

    Would not recommend.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Claudia, Victoria, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome

    Only bank that would give a home loan to a young couple I really appreciate the extent they have been helpful to us.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    All I can say is I am so pleased with the Illawarra Credit Union the staff go out of there way to help you in every way possible it is nothing for one of the local girls to ring and tell you how they can save you money. They look after their interest by looking after my money the best way to save me extra costs.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Arthur watts, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    I have been with ICU for over 10 years, the rates are competitive, the staff are extremely helpful and "local". When on the very odd occasion a problem arises they resolve it quickly, efficiently and with fantastic friendliness and a respectful attitude to its members. They send movie tickets at anniversaries which is a small thing but appreciated.The staff ask YOU if there is anything you might need ie.insurance etc but "DO NOT" try to up sell incessantly until you are driven crazy like other financial institutions.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    They go out of their way to assist .. access is a problem since they moved to campbelltown mall

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Marella, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10

    ICU Home loans do no accommodate flexible payment terms and options. Straight forward loans are probably fine, but once you try to throw in some investments and other options they go into meltdown.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, New South Wales, reviewed almost 10 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    They are friendly and you are not just a number to them but a real person.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, New South Wales, reviewed about 10 years ago
  • Illawarra Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    ICU home loan staff are wonderful, they will help with any problems that you have, they bend over backwards to help with any concerns. Nothing is a problem for them.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Julieanne, New South Wales, reviewed almost 11 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate*
      2.41% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Star Essentials Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 543 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.