Shannons logo

Shannons Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.5/10
Value for money
8.3/10
Policy coverage
8.5/10
Customer service
8.6/10
Claims handling
8.2/10
Trust
8.4/10
Based on 432 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Shannons car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommended

    I recently had my car stolen but was recovered with some damage, Shannon’s have been a pleasure to deal with and nothing has been a problem. My car came back in showroom condition and can’t rate them highly enough.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Abandon Shannons

    I'll soon be changing insurance from this lot. I have 4 cars and greenslips with them however not for much longer. I have had an ongoing refund issue with them for a greenslip and each time I ring I'm on the phone for half an hour or more only to be told the same thing each time 'the cheque is in the mail'. That was over a month ago and still no sign of receiving my money back. And when they supposedly go off to speak with a supervisor they leave you on that endless phone queue with that ghastly music.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Wayne, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Would not recommend

    Really not impressed with the service, had a bad experience with this company and would not recommend them.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Neil, Queensland, reviewed 17 days ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Classic or historic car enthusiasts beware.

    I have been with Shannons for 27 years, I currently have 9 policies with this insurer from iconic aussie muscle cars to historics and modern vehicles, but all is about to change. In 27 years I have never made a claim until August 2020 and here it is December and still no joy. In the claims process for Shannons they change their hat to Suncorp and the enthusiast and loyalty claims fly out the door. They want you to accept sub-par repairs, cut corners or take a deflated payout , they don't care one iota about you or how long you've been paying them, you're just an annoying number. My beef with them is over a few lousy thousand dollars to get my vehicle back to where it was but instead its a major hassle. So if you want to insure with them good luck to you but it ain't Shannons you will be dealing with. If there is anyone that stands guilty of insurance fraud its them.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Shannons are hopeless

    I have 4 cars, 1 bike ,and my house fully insured. Hit a pothole which damaged my rims, tyres and suspension. My car came back worse than before despite it apparently being fixed. Hopeless not happy at all. I am cancelling all my policies with them and going elsewhere. Call themselves the car enthusiasts specialists, what a joke. I would steer clear go elsewhere, total waste of money.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Matthew, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Modern means of communication have eluded them.

    For anyone insured with Shannons Insurance, be aware that they have not yet discovered the internet or email. In February 2020 due to some glitch a debit was rejected by my bank for the insurance of the bike and the car. They posted the notice out. Unfortunately I hadn't updated my address. So, the upshot is that I've been driving/riding without insurance for 9 months. I have had the same email address for many many years. What's the point of advising companies of your email address if they don't have the ability to use it? I'm surprised they don't use pigeons! My attempts on two occasions to contact them were met with silence so it seems the email address they advertise is a fictional one as well. My reason to contact them was to cancel both policies as they are overpriced, so while I have saved a few dollars it could well have bankrupted me had I been involved in an accident. My advice? Don't touch them with a 40 foot barge pole.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ric, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Absolutely appalling customer service

    Absolutely disgusted with the claims handling process. With only one car in the family, I took the Shannon's consultant's advice on going with their recommendation of repairer that would be the quickest option, eight days later I am still without a car and the repairs have not even been started yet! I called Shannon's to make a complaint and try for a partial resolution in getting a hire car supplied but they would not help at all and just kept saying the time taken to repair is the claims process. Very unhappy and will not be staying with them after we finally get the car back!

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Cherise, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend Shannons for your insurance needs

    I have had Shannons insurance for over 20 years. They offer great customer service. The agreed value on their policies is fair. The staff are always well mannered and courteous. The West End Qld branch team are very helpful. I have car, motorbike and home contents with Shannons and will continue to use them in the future. They are happy to assist and answer all your questions.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Johnpaul, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Passionate about what they insure.

    They are extremely helpful and are passionate about the cars and bikes they insure, among house insurance etc.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cassidy, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurance

    Shannon’s is the best car insurance. They care and provide prompt and professional service. I have been with Shannon’s for many years and claimed twice, both times they were so easy to deal with, provided great support and my vehicle was repaired to the highest standard. Would recommend Shannon’s to everyone.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best out there.

    Great insurer that insures modifications at an agreed value.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Hal, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy to talk to car enthusiasts & great price.

    User friendly online and phone options, genuine motor enthusiasts from the very first phone call. Provided a better premium than others (NRMA & Allianz).

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Annette, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent for motoring enthusiasts.

    They understand motoring enthusiasts who love their car and offer important options such as choice of repairer. They are also reasonably priced.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jennifer, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great for classic cars.

    Great for classic cars. Allow insurance amounts that recognise collectible vehicles.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Agreed value comp insurance for special vehicle.

    Good agreed value comprehensive cover with inclusions for 30 year old vehicle.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Graham, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.