Thumbnail icon for Shannons

Shannons Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.7/10
Value for money
8.4/10
Policy coverage
8.6/10
Customer service
8.8/10
Claims handling
8.3/10
Trust
8.6/10
Based on 408 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Shannons car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst company I have ever dealt with.

    Worst insurers I have ever dealt with. Bunch of incompetent and very unhelpful people. Attached claim to wrong vehicle on our policy, charged wrong excess, booked in wrong car with repairer and refused to contact other party's insurer until other insurer sent me letters directly. Worst service I have ever received. Accident happened in March, it is now last week of May and these idiots are still dragging things on and my assessment isn't approved yet.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Christina, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Don't bother. Too much frustration.

    Hopeless, incompetent, and never on your side. Cover and options are great but that's it. Go elsewhere.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Jolyon, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Real people deal with you on a one to one basis.

    I can talk to a real person who is a car enthusiast and their premium cost is very reasonable for our daily drive and our club cars.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Hidden gotcha's and policies

    Was willing to renew a full year's cover for my car, but mentioned that I was open to selling it if I had an offer that I can't refuse. Immediately was told that I was disqualified from having Shannon's cover. I couldn't believe it! How can a company be so draconian? The sales rep said with her very own mouth that if she was in the same situation as me and received an offer that she couldn't refuse then she'd take the offer and sell it as well? But in the same breath said they can't offer me cover. Anyway, NRMA's Classic Car covered it in 15 mins with absolutely no hassles and signed me up immediately. Well done Shannons... a slow clap for you all.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Shannons and Suncorp are pathetic and incompetent

    Shannons is now owned by Suncorp. Shannons listed the car as written off but then Suncorp took over the claim and declined it (we are fighting that). Shannons de-registered the car 5 months ago without our knowledge. Thanks Shannons and Suncorp for nothing but grief.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Shannon’s don’t pay up.

    I have been a Shannons customer for over 10 years. I have 3 cars insured with Shannons. I made my first claim in all that time, chosen my repairer but Shannons did not approve the quote given by a Lexus approved panel beater because they do not want to pay to have my Lexus ISF repaired properly. Do your homework, Shannons are no longer for the car enthusiast.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Christian, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Enthusiastically terrible.

    Lodgement of claim online, no response, contacted by telephone, no response, follow up on claim no one appointed for claim, contacted them at least 7 times by email and no one responded to deal with claim. Have not have an actual person dedicated to the claim and their contact details. Claim was lodged in 2019. Have heard nothing from them re settlement or further information required. As bad as it gets. Don't insure with them on the chance you may win a holiday. Another insurer is now doing classic cars and were in fact cheaper and with greater cover.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Fergus, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very competitive.

    They have always been up front and honest with me especially when I had to claim, very professional.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    They cover older cars

    I have been with Shanons for at least nineteen years and they have always been very reliable and have always processed my claims and fixed my cars without no fuss.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mary, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Exceptional customer service, very good premiums.

    A lot of people recommended Shannon's to me, but I was sceptical because I believed they were expensive. After comparing a lot of insurance companies, Shannon's were actually among the cheaper ones. Their customer service is second to none. They are passionate about what they insure. I have no experience with claiming from them yet.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Glenys, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rates and quick, easy claims process.

    Very competitive rates and quick, easy claims process.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service and competitive rates.

    Designed for motoring enthusiasts.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Coverage is good and the premiums very resonable

    Use this company for house and contents on two properties.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Gillian, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    The Insurance company that are honest

    Because of the repairer being very dishonest, enough to be in jail or rehabilitation; problems were caused with getting my Pontiac firebird back for quite a long time. However Shannons' helped out a lot.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Alparslan, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Shannons Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very satisfied. No complaints

    I am very happy with my insurer

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Justin, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.