New SA pilot program to give concession holders free solar system


Any Aussie household can understand the value of switching to solar for their electricity source, and thanks to a new South Australian program selected households will get to experience it for free. 

Under the new Switch to Solar pilot program, around 1,000 South Australian concession holders will receive a free solar system, replacing the Annual Energy or Cost of Living concession

Households who are recipients of these concessions are given up to a total of $226.67 and $215.10, respectively each year. 

Meanwhile, this program is set to deliver participants an annual saving of $890 on their energy bill, according to the Marshall Liberal Government.

“Our new Switch to Solar pilot is a win-win for everyone,” said Minister for Human Services Michelle Lensink. “Not only is the Government injecting money into the economy and supporting vital jobs through the purchase of 1000 new solar panels, our concession holders will get big bill savings off their energy bills.”

The suburbs chosen for this pilot are:

  • Hope Valley 
  • Banksia Park 
  • Tea Tree Gully 
  • Vista 
  • Modbury 
  • Modbury Heights 
  • Modbury North 
  • Felixstow 
  • Campbelltown 
  • Newton 
  • Paradise 
  • Athelstone
  • Dernancourt 
  • Holden Hill 
  • Highbury 
  • Redwood Park 
  • Ridgehaven 
  • Goolwa 
  • Hindmarsh Island

The SA government says these suburbs were specifically chosen by the Department for Energy and Mining, as they are able to accommodate the large volume of solar installations. 

Aside from delivering massive savings, the SA government says this program will also boost employment and support the economy. 

If you’d like to learn more about how solar power can transform your energy bill, check out our comprehensive guide. You can also find out other energy rebates or concessions you might be eligible for by having a read of our SA Concessions guide.

Compare energy plans

Find energy plans available in your area.