RAC car insurance reviews

RAC
RAC's overall rating for car insurance

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.1 / 10

based on 223 reviews

Value for money

Policy coverage

Customer service

Claims handling

Trust

Recent RAC car insurance reviews

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent provider

I have never had a problem with RAC and I've been with them for more than 20 years. They have always looked after me with great rates and service.

I have never had a problem with RAC and I've been with them for more than 20 years. They have always looked after me with great rates and service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Greg (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good value

Very reliable insurer and I've had no hassles with them. My car is insured no matter who drives as long as they are licensed.

Very reliable insurer and I've had no hassles with them. My car is insured no matter who drives as long as they are licensed.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and courteous customer service

I would never go anywhere else for insurance as RAC has been fantastic. I find they have a friendly courteous customer service. Every time I call they know how to meet my needs and they are eager to help.

I would never go anywhere else for insurance as RAC has been fantastic. I find they have a friendly courteous customer service. Every time I call they know how to meet my needs and they are eager to help.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sonja (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great services and lots of customer benefits

Last year, a red P plater crashed my car from behind. RAC was very helpful with the claim handling. They gave simple instructions on where I should bring the car for them to inspect and what the cost would be to fix the damages. The quote was...

Last year, a red P plater crashed my car from behind. RAC was very helpful with the claim handling. They gave simple instructions on where I should bring the car for them to inspect and what the cost would be to fix the damages. The quote was given to me on the very same day and the money was transferred in a day. They were very efficient and I was very happy with their services.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jewels (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent coverage and fair prices

Easy to deal with and plenty of coverage. Prices are a little high and claims can be difficult sometimes.

Easy to deal with and plenty of coverage. Prices are a little high and claims can be difficult sometimes.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kevin (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fantastic provider

Best insurance dealer I've had.

Best insurance dealer I've had.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kayla (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Local, friendly and always have your back

Reliable, friendly service and well worth membership for movie ticket discounts and the like.

Reliable, friendly service and well worth membership for movie ticket discounts and the like.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (WA), reviewed 4 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Very friendly staff. They made sure everything I wanted was included in my deal.

Very friendly staff. They made sure everything I wanted was included in my deal.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alisen (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Insurance worth having.

Fantastic when it comes to payouts - no hoops to jump through.

Fantastic when it comes to payouts - no hoops to jump through.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lucy (WA), reviewed 12 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Reliable

Always ring after receiving renewal, can get a better price. Do your insurance comparisons every year.

Always ring after receiving renewal, can get a better price. Do your insurance comparisons every year.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Higher agreed values

Customer service is terrible especially online chat no point in having online chat if they advise to contact the call centre for a simple change

Customer service is terrible especially online chat no point in having online chat if they advise to contact the call centre for a simple change

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Tishen (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good, reliable service

They seem to be fine. I have heard horror stories of other insurers being difficult to pay out, or harassing people. RACV does not do this.

They seem to be fine. I have heard horror stories of other insurers being difficult to pay out, or harassing people. RACV does not do this.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Felicity (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The best available

Good value

Good value

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Graham (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Will stay with RAC till I die

They have always been great with me, will always stay with RAC

They have always been great with me, will always stay with RAC

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Casey (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and value for money

RAC is great because they are there for you for everything from a flat tyre to a stolen or damaged car.

RAC is great because they are there for you for everything from a flat tyre to a stolen or damaged car.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jamie (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

All in one, assistance in all areas

We recently had a claim, spoke over the phone and all details were emailed to me including the claim form, which I duly signed, sent back online and had my claim paid out the next day straight to the bank. Wonderful service.

We recently had a claim, spoke over the phone and all details were emailed to me including the claim form, which I duly signed, sent back online and had my claim paid out the next day straight to the bank. Wonderful service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   -1 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lonja (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Premiums are good and competitive

It's a loyalty thing passed down to 4 generations of this family, whilst it might be good in my response I have always had good dealings with the company.

It's a loyalty thing passed down to 4 generations of this family, whilst it might be good in my response I have always had good dealings with the company.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

They have a variety of payment options and their customer service is very good

They have a variety of payment options and their customer service is very good

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Samantha (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The Best

Awesome - always so helpfull

Awesome - always so helpfull

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Josie (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to deal with and good customer support

Easy to deal with and good customer support

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Anil (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Road side system good, but office service destroy

The office service is terrible. They were holding our car for 2 days without any explanation, and the office staffs are offensive.

The office service is terrible. They were holding our car for 2 days without any explanation, and the office staffs are offensive.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ya chi (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Provide what they say they will. No surprises

They are good - no loopholes. Are honest & provide a good service

They are good - no loopholes. Are honest & provide a good service

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Terri (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive premiums and quick and easy claims.

I like this insurer as the initial claim was very easy to set up and was done over the phone. The pros for this insurer would be that they are very competitive, they have very flexible payment options, very efficient and when I made the claim it...

I like this insurer as the initial claim was very easy to set up and was done over the phone. The pros for this insurer would be that they are very competitive, they have very flexible payment options, very efficient and when I made the claim it was resolved quickly with no delay. The con would be that I live so far away from a physical office as it would be convenient to speak to staff face to face.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lacie (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall excellent customer service.

They know the makes of vehicles, their market values and estimates of coverage for them and conditions of what is realistic of insurance premiums.

They know the makes of vehicles, their market values and estimates of coverage for them and conditions of what is realistic of insurance premiums.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mr (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Helpful service.

Good company always there to help.

Good company always there to help.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jess (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Back to top