Thumbnail icon for Southern Cross Credit Union

Southern Cross Credit Union Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.3/10
Price
5.6/10
Features
5.5/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.2/10
Trust
6.1/10
Based on 7 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Southern Cross Credit Union home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Lack customer focus and don't match market rates.

    I had a sizeable home loan (over $500k) with Southern Cross Credit Union. When I queried why they were not matching market rates and passing on the full rate reductions, I was told to shop around and get something in writing from another provider to then provide to them and they would consider it! I did and moved on. Don't go there.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, LVR <80%) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    I wouldn't recommend SCCU

    They encouraged me to swap from Westpac because their rates were "so much better". They have passed on less than 35 percent of the reserve bank interest cuts and I had to beg for those. Don' t make the same mistake.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Robyn, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Standard Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    I wouldn't recommend SCCU.

    When we first moved to SCCU, I negotiated a very good rate and they promised us good rates and that they would look after us. Since then SCCU has absorbed for themselves well over 50 percent of the reserve bank interest rate reductions instead of passing them on to us. They don't seem to have any system whereby the rates are passed directly on to the customer. You have go call the BBC bank a week after the reserve bank cut to ask why your rate hasnt dropped. On one recent Reserve bank cut they passed on 0 percent of the cut to me. I would not recommend SCCU.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Robyn, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    The management and staff are very helpful and understanding. They all seem to go the extra yard to make sure we can continue business with them. I highly recommend them.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tony, New South Wales, reviewed almost 10 years ago
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    For me this product is perfect. The service at teh credit union is very friendly and personal so you can speak directly to the bank manager (an actual person) whenever you need to and they are very informed and competitive.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Claudia, New South Wales, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    very good service friendly people very helpful in all things i have nothing bad to say about them

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Craig, New South Wales, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    I have had very good service over 25 years.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 11 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Nov
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Nov

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.
      fixed 4 years
      comparison rate
      2.90% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.