St.George logo

St.George Credit card reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 1207 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from St.George

Vertigo - Cashback Offer

Purchase rate
13.99% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
2.99% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.49% p.a.
Annual fee
$55 $0 in the first year
Rewards program

Promoted

Recent St.George credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Credit Card

    Avoid St George bank like the plague.

    Strongly recommend you avoid St George bank like the plague. I don't think there could be much worse service. I applied for a credit card in order to gain airline points. Nearly two weeks later I was told it was declined - no further information. After two hours on the phone to incompetent staff, and after being mysteriously hung up on twice, I learned apparently I had insufficient capacity to make payments. I living in my own house, which I have more than 50% equity in; my credit score is 872 or "Excellent"; my total basic expenses are only 62% of my full time employment income; and my minimum house payment (included in expenses) is only 16% of my income. In other words, St George have rocks in their heads.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jack, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George No Annual Fee

    It is time and trustworthy

    St Georges Bank is very reputable bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Really good

    Been with this bank since young but their handling of accounts has always been professional. If you have problems with English, there is always staff there to handle the language barrier to ensure you get the best possible experience out of accessing your services. Can also tailor an account according to your plans too.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    William, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Apply at your own risk

    I work for public hospital. Currently have salary packaging and novated lease. Have a 2nd highest credit rating. Earn a 6 figure salary, with approx 65% outgoings. Credit card application took over 2 weeks to return as declined (which during this time, St George kept asking for documentation which was already submitted in the initial submission). Took continuous phone calls to finally find out that St George does not assess salary packing + the tax free component of novated lease as income (by the way, also found out that St George did not look at half of the key documents which I had submitted). That is approx $20k of income that St George refuses to consider as income. This is even when it is clear the income is indicated in my bank statement as being received on a regular basis. Credit rating hit, plus a waste of time. Imagine if you are applying for a home loan? $20k less per year would equate to considerable amount of borrowing power. My advice is, if you work in a public sector, where you have taken on salary packaging (this is not salary sacrifice, which St George keeps thinking what this is), I would avoid. Unless you do not mind risking borrowing way less than what other banks may offer you (for a home loan) or getting declined for credit cards. My opinion is, St George assessment or verification team needs education and training.

    Customer service
    Less
    Stan, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Vertigo - Cashback Offer

    Reliable bank. Decent credit card.

    St. George have always been good with customer service. Their branches and ATMs are disappearing but that is happening with all of the banks. The credit card I have is fine enough for my needs. The only thing I really don't like about St. George is that they are rated poorly regarding ethics.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Amplify Rewards Signature (Rewards)

    Appalling service in fraud and scams team.

    The reason I am giving them a terrible review is the appalling customer service by their fraud and scams team. If you are a customer who has just been financially violated by a scammer who has charged your credit card you want your bank to care and answer the phone in a timely manner. It took me 8 attempts and 7 hours to finally speak to their frauds team. Once I did the operator was cold, rude and completely uncaring. I had details of the scammer and she didn’t want them. How would the shareholders of St. George bank feel about that? Let alone me the traumatised victim of fraud. Absolutely disgraceful. I have $2 million dollars of loan with them on mortgages etc. First thing tomorrow, I am looking at refinancing and never returning to this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Grace, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Amplify Rewards Platinum (Rewards)

    Outstanding product and service year after year.

    I’ve been with this bank for six years and I’ve had amazing customer service. They always make my needs and help me on the phone answering promptly and changing whatever I need. Changed products and services offered are outstanding. Always happy to give you better options.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lauren, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Would highly recommend

    Been in St George for several years reliable bank and they have great customer service

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nanie, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Worst banking experience ever

    Worst banking experience ever. I applied balance transfer Vertigo Visa Card somewhere around 13 January and still they verifying documents. Verification team wouldn’t ask the documents they need at once. They ask one or two documents at a time, some times same document twice and will make sure you are busy. Had to call many times still didn’t get the answer. If you are not in hurry and have plenty of time to waste, this is the place.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Higgoda, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    3 Months Of Time Wasting and Incompetence

    I would not recommend getting a credit card through this bank. 3 months on, 7 phone calls, several emails, and 2 visits into the bank, and I still haven't received an additional card for my wife. It took 3 attempts for my card to arrive, which was painful enough, and now I have attempted 4 times for my wife's card to arrive. It was promised to be express mailed, never arrived. It takes weeks for the bank to respond to complaints, or they don't respond at all. I have never experience such incompetence from a bank like this before.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    3 months and no resolution.

    No service, no product, no follow up, no ethics, no resolution, zero satisfaction and absolutely zero stars. Application for credit card negatively impacted credit score due to incorrect procedures by St George. Total lack of follow-up and any kind of communication caused loss of significant bonus Qantas points. Plus tens of thousands of shopping points over the Christmas period which would have been earned with a reputable bank, was prevented by St George's refusal to behave in any kind of fair and professional manner when they dragged the application on for three months. And still waiting for the follow up call promised many times by many different reps. Disgusting.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Elle, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Best to avoid unless you like a challenge

    I have had a lot of credit cards over the years from all the big banks and providers and are currently in the process of applying for a St George credit card. I have to say that their call centre is the worst that I have felt with, every time you talk to them they change their minds about what you need to provide. It is like they are making it up as they go. If it was not for the bonus points - and my own stubbornness I would just give up. I have been at it for three weeks now with constant phone calls and have found that the only way you get someone who knows what they are talking about is to demand to talk to The Australian supervisor. Probably best to avoid this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Great Bank

    St George is a great bank. Interest rates are a little high but good service.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Anthony, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George No Annual Fee

    Friendly, caring customer service.

    Staff are very friendly, kind and ready to help. Even the store manager helps out when they are busy. Nothing is an issue.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bernadette, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Credit Card

    Great customer service

    Always been helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elaine, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 25 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Rewards Card

      Purchase rate
      20.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 20.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      PayPal Rewards

      Promoted
    • Black Card

      Purchase rate
      20.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Kogan Rewards Points

      Promoted
    • Low Rate - Cashback Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 215 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.