Bank Australia home loan reviews

Bank Australia
Bank Australia's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.7 / 10

based on 35 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Bank Australia

Recent Bank Australia home loan reviews

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service

Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

Full review

Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Easy banking.

Full review

Easy banking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tiffany (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent services with minimal fees

Excellent services with minimal fees and helpful staff.

Full review

Excellent services with minimal fees and helpful staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

They were extremely helpful when I applied for this loan. They were helpful and were patient with all my questions.

Full review

They were extremely helpful when I applied for this loan. They were helpful and were patient with all my questions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carole (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive home loan rates and friendly service

Very competitive home loan rates. MECU interests are its members not shareholders. All profits are invested back into the bank to provide fairer fees and banking for members.

Full review

Very competitive home loan rates. MECU interests are its members not shareholders. All profits are invested back into the bank to provide fairer fees and banking for members.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Belinda (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service and very competitive.

I love this bank. The customer service is outstanding. It is never a problem to contact them and get help when you need it. The staff are so helpful and knowledgeable of their product. The rates are fantastic and if you pay extra it means your...

Full review

I love this bank. The customer service is outstanding. It is never a problem to contact them and get help when you need it. The staff are so helpful and knowledgeable of their product. The rates are fantastic and if you pay extra it means your loan is covered and gets paid off that little bit quicker. I would only say that there are pros to having this bank and would recommend it to all my family and friends.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Like banks used to be

Having dealt with NAB, Commbank, ANZ and Bank of Queensland for home loans, I have found bankmecu to be the best. My contact was always "an expert" rather than just a phone answerer. I never had to meet them personally, or even go into the branch...

Full review

Having dealt with NAB, Commbank, ANZ and Bank of Queensland for home loans, I have found bankmecu to be the best. My contact was always "an expert" rather than just a phone answerer. I never had to meet them personally, or even go into the branch to get a loan, but they were always there whenever I needed them. Simply spectacular service from Rob at the Southport QLD branch. I remember our first home loan with Commbank was good, because we dealt direct with the manager and he made things simple. While legislation has made issuing loans harder, bankmecu have found enough experienced staff to still keep it simple for their clients. Thanks bankmecu.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jim (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Personal with easy access to appropriate staff

They have grown bigger , but retained their personal service touch and genuine enthusiasm to help you. I do recommend them to people & clients.

Full review

They have grown bigger , but retained their personal service touch and genuine enthusiasm to help you. I do recommend them to people & clients.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Roger (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Personal, environmental and responsible

bankmecu provides personal service, even over the phone. Walk into the bank and they will recognise you then recognise your children when they open their accounts. They are responsible - will do their best to help you secure a loan but not if they...

Full review

bankmecu provides personal service, even over the phone. Walk into the bank and they will recognise you then recognise your children when they open their accounts. They are responsible - will do their best to help you secure a loan but not if they do not think you can service it. bankmecu offers greenloans and puts back into the environment. Currently put 100 hectares in Victoria to replant and save endangered species in the area. If a mistake is made, they will fix it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good rates, friendly and helpful.

Local bank full of local people. Good rates and impeccable service.

Full review

Local bank full of local people. Good rates and impeccable service.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Gary (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Can't trust Bank Mecu

I just put my application for Home Loan to Refinance Existing Home Loan. Initial application, they pre approved my loan but after making lots of effort they tried to push me for Home Insurance from them when I didn't want, they said your income...

Full review

I just put my application for Home Loan to Refinance Existing Home Loan. Initial application, they pre approved my loan but after making lots of effort they tried to push me for Home Insurance from them when I didn't want, they said your income is less what you stated in initial application. They should mention it before that your income is low loan. Finally got loan approved from other Financial Institution. Thumbs down for me.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Navdeep (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The BEST!

Bank MECU is ethical, provides best service at the lowest cost and operates for the benefit of the customers who are also the owners. Excellent.

Full review

Bank MECU is ethical, provides best service at the lowest cost and operates for the benefit of the customers who are also the owners. Excellent.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marion (ACT), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates and great customer service

I would highly recommend this bank to anyone. It has the best customer service, best rates, best options to pay off a home loan and no question is too simple to answer. I have bought and sold houses due to the friendly service, efficiency &...

Full review

I would highly recommend this bank to anyone. It has the best customer service, best rates, best options to pay off a home loan and no question is too simple to answer. I have bought and sold houses due to the friendly service, efficiency & knowledge & security of this bank .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sandra (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service. Very highly recommended.

Refinanced an investment loan. Great interest rate, outstanding customer service. Fantastic online banking. Entire process seamless. Would not hesitate to wholeheartedly recommend Bankmecu.

Full review

Refinanced an investment loan. Great interest rate, outstanding customer service. Fantastic online banking. Entire process seamless. Would not hesitate to wholeheartedly recommend Bankmecu.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Ridiculous ordeal to obtain a loan

Decided to refinance a home loan with extra borrowings. Decided on Bankmecu due to offering good rates and fees. What I didn't expect was to have many supporting documents, clearly showing income stream rejected. These included the ATO notice of...

Full review

Decided to refinance a home loan with extra borrowings. Decided on Bankmecu due to offering good rates and fees. What I didn't expect was to have many supporting documents, clearly showing income stream rejected. These included the ATO notice of assessment. Not good enough for them. They wanted every page of my tax return for a couple of years. Why you may ask? Their response was that the taxable income on my tax return was higher than my wages stated on the application. They wanted to know where all the extra income was coming from? "To be responsible lenders" of course. I have never required to provide such fine details for a home loan with any other bank. I promptly informed them that they could withdraw my application. I now realise why they have to offer such good rates to encourage people to go through this ordeal. Never again.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Simon (SA), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great personal service

This has been my bank since 4 years old. 48 years ago. Always helpful, convenient with great customer service. The banks name now is MECU. They have grown and merged over the years. They started out as a community credit union about 54 years ago....

Full review

This has been my bank since 4 years old. 48 years ago. Always helpful, convenient with great customer service. The banks name now is MECU. They have grown and merged over the years. They started out as a community credit union about 54 years ago. I would definitely recommend this bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sylvia (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great Customer Service

The Bank did exactly what we wanted it to do.

Full review

The Bank did exactly what we wanted it to do.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joan (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fantastic customer service

They actually go out of their way to help. Nothing is ever a problem. Great rates and easy to get a hold of. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

Full review

They actually go out of their way to help. Nothing is ever a problem. Great rates and easy to get a hold of. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Brendan (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Poor customer service!

If you really need to apply for a housing loan, go to the head office. Stay away from the other branches, they promise you the world and don't deliver. They think you owe them a favour for bringing your business to them. The regional management...

Full review

If you really need to apply for a housing loan, go to the head office. Stay away from the other branches, they promise you the world and don't deliver. They think you owe them a favour for bringing your business to them. The regional management needs to investigate how these "staff" conduct the service they are supposed to give to customers.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Frank , reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Escape the tyranny of the big banks!

I love bankmecu. They are customer owned (not out to make big $$$ from you) and have a social and environmental conscience. Plus they offer great rates and great products. Escape the tyranny of the big banks!

Full review

I love bankmecu. They are customer owned (not out to make big $$$ from you) and have a social and environmental conscience. Plus they offer great rates and great products. Escape the tyranny of the big banks!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Paul (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Much better than a traditional bank

When we were looking for our mortgage bankmecu were by far the best choice for our needs. The lowest interest rates with the best features. They are also far easier to deal with than a traditional bank.

Full review

When we were looking for our mortgage bankmecu were by far the best choice for our needs. The lowest interest rates with the best features. They are also far easier to deal with than a traditional bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tara (ACT), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Ethical and awesome!

In a week where Oxfam has slammed the BIG 4 banks (yes, all of them!) for their involvement in land grabs, illegal logging, environmental destruction etc, my bank had an article on its web blog talking about the humane treatment of asylum seekers!...

Full review

In a week where Oxfam has slammed the BIG 4 banks (yes, all of them!) for their involvement in land grabs, illegal logging, environmental destruction etc, my bank had an article on its web blog talking about the humane treatment of asylum seekers! I know I have made the right call to ditch the big banks Awesome customer service also!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dave (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick actioning

So easy to communicate with and the assistance was excellent.

Full review

So easy to communicate with and the assistance was excellent.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Helen (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poor service

I waited 2 weeks for a response to a mortgage application. After being a member here for 15 years, the 'we forgot' just didn't impress me. Shopping round for a new bank.

Full review

I waited 2 weeks for a response to a mortgage application. After being a member here for 15 years, the 'we forgot' just didn't impress me. Shopping round for a new bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Lauren , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Been with them for over 40 years

This bank has very helpful staff, excellent rates of interest and hassle free loans adjustable if circumstances change.

Full review

This bank has very helpful staff, excellent rates of interest and hassle free loans adjustable if circumstances change.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Katherine (SA), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 525 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top