Bank Australia home loan reviews

Bank Australia
Bank Australia's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.8 / 10

based on 79 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Bank Australia

Recent Bank Australia home loan reviews

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fast service

I love their services and features of my home loan.

Full review

I love their services and features of my home loan.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kevin, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

They are always courteous and helpful.

Full review

They are always courteous and helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Debra, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service

Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

Full review

Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

    Price   4 / 10

Less

John, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Easy banking.

Full review

Easy banking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tiffany, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent services with minimal fees

Excellent services with minimal fees and helpful staff.

Full review

Excellent services with minimal fees and helpful staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

John, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

They were extremely helpful when I applied for this loan. They were helpful and were patient with all my questions.

Full review

They were extremely helpful when I applied for this loan. They were helpful and were patient with all my questions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carole, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive home loan rates and friendly service

Very competitive home loan rates. MECU interests are its members not shareholders. All profits are invested back into the bank to provide fairer fees and banking for members.

Full review

Very competitive home loan rates. MECU interests are its members not shareholders. All profits are invested back into the bank to provide fairer fees and banking for members.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Belinda, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service and very competitive.

I love this bank. The customer service is outstanding. It is never a problem to contact them and get help when you need it. The staff are so helpful and knowledgeable of their product. The rates are fantastic and if you pay extra it means your...

Full review

I love this bank. The customer service is outstanding. It is never a problem to contact them and get help when you need it. The staff are so helpful and knowledgeable of their product. The rates are fantastic and if you pay extra it means your loan is covered and gets paid off that little bit quicker. I would only say that there are pros to having this bank and would recommend it to all my family and friends.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Like banks used to be

Having dealt with NAB, Commbank, ANZ and Bank of Queensland for home loans, I have found bankmecu to be the best. My contact was always "an expert" rather than just a phone answerer. I never had to meet them personally, or even go into the branch...

Full review

Having dealt with NAB, Commbank, ANZ and Bank of Queensland for home loans, I have found bankmecu to be the best. My contact was always "an expert" rather than just a phone answerer. I never had to meet them personally, or even go into the branch to get a loan, but they were always there whenever I needed them. Simply spectacular service from Rob at the Southport QLD branch. I remember our first home loan with Commbank was good, because we dealt direct with the manager and he made things simple. While legislation has made issuing loans harder, bankmecu have found enough experienced staff to still keep it simple for their clients. Thanks bankmecu.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jim, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Personal with easy access to appropriate staff

They have grown bigger , but retained their personal service touch and genuine enthusiasm to help you. I do recommend them to people & clients.

Full review

They have grown bigger , but retained their personal service touch and genuine enthusiasm to help you. I do recommend them to people & clients.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Roger, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Personal, environmental and responsible

bankmecu provides personal service, even over the phone. Walk into the bank and they will recognise you then recognise your children when they open their accounts. They are responsible - will do their best to help you secure a loan but not if they...

Full review

bankmecu provides personal service, even over the phone. Walk into the bank and they will recognise you then recognise your children when they open their accounts. They are responsible - will do their best to help you secure a loan but not if they do not think you can service it. bankmecu offers greenloans and puts back into the environment. Currently put 100 hectares in Victoria to replant and save endangered species in the area. If a mistake is made, they will fix it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

great features

Extremely good bank with great customer service

Full review

Extremely good bank with great customer service

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jenni, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good rates, friendly and helpful.

Local bank full of local people. Good rates and impeccable service.

Full review

Local bank full of local people. Good rates and impeccable service.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Gary, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

The assistant bank manager was more than helpful and was the reason we switched over

Full review

The assistant bank manager was more than helpful and was the reason we switched over

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jodi, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

Best rate, no account keeping fees Where else can you get a rate like 4.

Full review

Best rate, no account keeping fees Where else can you get a rate like 4.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Margaret, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Can't trust Bank Mecu

I just put my application for Home Loan to Refinance Existing Home Loan. Initial application, they pre approved my loan but after making lots of effort they tried to push me for Home Insurance from them when I didn't want, they said your income...

Full review

I just put my application for Home Loan to Refinance Existing Home Loan. Initial application, they pre approved my loan but after making lots of effort they tried to push me for Home Insurance from them when I didn't want, they said your income is less what you stated in initial application. They should mention it before that your income is low loan. Finally got loan approved from other Financial Institution. Thumbs down for me.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Navdeep, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value

Good value

Full review

Good value

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Michael , , reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The BEST!

Bank MECU is ethical, provides best service at the lowest cost and operates for the benefit of the customers who are also the owners. Excellent.

Full review

Bank MECU is ethical, provides best service at the lowest cost and operates for the benefit of the customers who are also the owners. Excellent.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marion, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates and great customer service

I would highly recommend this bank to anyone. It has the best customer service, best rates, best options to pay off a home loan and no question is too simple to answer. I have bought and sold houses due to the friendly service, efficiency &...

Full review

I would highly recommend this bank to anyone. It has the best customer service, best rates, best options to pay off a home loan and no question is too simple to answer. I have bought and sold houses due to the friendly service, efficiency & knowledge & security of this bank .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sandra, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service. Very highly recommended.

Refinanced an investment loan. Great interest rate, outstanding customer service. Fantastic online banking. Entire process seamless. Would not hesitate to wholeheartedly recommend Bankmecu.

Full review

Refinanced an investment loan. Great interest rate, outstanding customer service. Fantastic online banking. Entire process seamless. Would not hesitate to wholeheartedly recommend Bankmecu.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Ridiculous ordeal to obtain a loan

Decided to refinance a home loan with extra borrowings. Decided on Bankmecu due to offering good rates and fees. What I didn't expect was to have many supporting documents, clearly showing income stream rejected. These included the ATO notice of...

Full review

Decided to refinance a home loan with extra borrowings. Decided on Bankmecu due to offering good rates and fees. What I didn't expect was to have many supporting documents, clearly showing income stream rejected. These included the ATO notice of assessment. Not good enough for them. They wanted every page of my tax return for a couple of years. Why you may ask? Their response was that the taxable income on my tax return was higher than my wages stated on the application. They wanted to know where all the extra income was coming from? "To be responsible lenders" of course. I have never required to provide such fine details for a home loan with any other bank. I promptly informed them that they could withdraw my application. I now realise why they have to offer such good rates to encourage people to go through this ordeal. Never again.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Simon, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great personal service

This has been my bank since 4 years old. 48 years ago. Always helpful, convenient with great customer service. The banks name now is MECU. They have grown and merged over the years. They started out as a community credit union about 54 years ago....

Full review

This has been my bank since 4 years old. 48 years ago. Always helpful, convenient with great customer service. The banks name now is MECU. They have grown and merged over the years. They started out as a community credit union about 54 years ago. I would definitely recommend this bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sylvia, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great Customer Service

The Bank did exactly what we wanted it to do.

Full review

The Bank did exactly what we wanted it to do.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joan, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fantastic customer service

They actually go out of their way to help. Nothing is ever a problem. Great rates and easy to get a hold of. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

Full review

They actually go out of their way to help. Nothing is ever a problem. Great rates and easy to get a hold of. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Brendan, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Poor customer service!

If you really need to apply for a housing loan, go to the head office. Stay away from the other branches, they promise you the world and don't deliver. They think you owe them a favour for bringing your business to them. The regional management...

Full review

If you really need to apply for a housing loan, go to the head office. Stay away from the other branches, they promise you the world and don't deliver. They think you owe them a favour for bringing your business to them. The regional management needs to investigate how these "staff" conduct the service they are supposed to give to customers.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Frank, , reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access

    interest rate

    3.49% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.53% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access
    • Interest rate: 3.49% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.53% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - $10/month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Special rate of 3.66% p.a. comparison rate applies to a maximum LVR of 80%
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause for eco-upgrades to your home or maternity leave

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Special rate of 3.66% p.a. comparison rate applies to a maximum LVR of 80%
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause for eco-upgrades to your home or maternity leave
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 79 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR 70-80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR 70-80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • 100% offset account available
    • Free online redraw

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $567

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • 100% offset account available
    • Free online redraw
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $567
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $535.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $749,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 19 Homestar home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 499 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top