Bank Australia logo

Bank Australia Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 90 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bank Australia home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Bank Australia is morally bankrupt

    My son had his house loan with Bank Australia. He passed away suddenly a month ago at age 54, leaving behind a mortgage and two of his five children who were living with him (twenty two year old and seventeen year old daughters). I notified Bank Australia several days after his passing. There was very little sympathy as I was passed around from one Bank Australia staff member after another. Before we were able to even have him buried, they were after their money. And this chase after the money has persisted for the past month since my son's passing. We have now engaged a lawyer to deal with Bank Australia as it is to stressful for myself and my daughter acting as executives for his estate. I can't believe their thoughtless grab for money. I thought the Banking Royal Commission was going to stop this sort of behaviour by the banks. pparently not so for Bank Australia. So here we are desperately looking for alternative homes for the children and their dog, trying to sell off all my sons possessions to raise some money to keep Bank Australia at bay. My daughter looks like having to take out a loan against her house to meet the payments being demanded. We are under so much pressure due to Bank Australia's behaviour and lack of empathy. Sadly, I was a member of one of the fore-runners of this bank back from the 1970's, to around 2000, when they were the Education Department Credit Union (EDCU). EDCU even occupied the same building that is now Bank Australia's Head Office in Kew, Victoria. So it really hurts to go back to where a very decent and caring bank once stood, and deal with the indecent and uncaring bank that stands there today. If you are looking for a bank with moral ethics, Bank Australia is not for you. I will keep this site updated on my dealings with Bank Australia as the situation progresses. It could well finish up with the Banking Ombudsman.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bill, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Trustable.

    Great customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Pamudini, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Great Experience

    Great experience with Bank Australia. From the first step everything was very well organised and clear. They did a great job answering all questions that I had and aways made herself available when I had a question. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alex, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Better than the big banks!

    Exceptional phone customer service, every time, by every staff member!

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wendy, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank Australia

    Great service by staff to meet our financial needs

    We had a very positive experience with Bank Australia, thanks to the assistance we received from the Bendigo branch staff.. We needed to finance a house purchase on a tight deadline and Emily was able to make the necessary arrangements to make the finances available. We really appreciated her expertise and helpful attitude throughout the process. We have been customers with the Bank for a long time and are impressed by its ethical and environmental standards and are happy to recommend Bank Australia.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank Australia

    Bad experience with Bank Australia

    I was very excited to be applying for a loan with Bank Australia due to their ethical stance on the environment and other things such as live animal exports. However, whilst I have always been treated well by CBA and other large banks who I have dealt with in the past, I was given the complete run around from Bank Australia. Their loaning approval staff seem to be completely incompetent and very unhelpful, and I felt they addressed my application with suspicion and arrogance. Not a good experience at all.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Georgina, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    A small fish that easily beats the big boys

    Bank Australia is local and they act like it. They build relationships with their customers and treat them as individuals. Their rates are better than the "Big 4" and their service is better too. The only downside is that they don't have as many branches, so sometimes you have to go out of your way to go to a branch. However, they do a lot of business by post, email or phone, so it's hardly an inconvenience.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robyn louise, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Local manager that can make decisions. “Green “

    Local branch with manager authorised to ok loans quickly. Green conscious with money sourcing and investing. Members ie customers own bank. Little feed back review once loan is established.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rob, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Made the whole home loan process easy.

    The experience I've had with Bank Australia has been exceptional. Both through my lender and teller at a branch. Professional, dedicated, and thorough, as well as being decent people they genuinely seem care about the work they do and providing great customer service. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Bank Australia, nor the Home Loan team.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gob, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%) (Package)

    Ethical bank and top customer service.

    Competitive rates and low fees. Bank Australia does a good job at being ethical, unlike almost all the rest. Customer service is the best I have ever experienced.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Col, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Competitive rates.

    Competitive rates and usually good customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lauren, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Fast service

    I love their services and features of my home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kevin, Western Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Premium Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%) (Package)

    Great customer service

    They are always courteous and helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Debra, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Good service

    Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

    Price
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Great customer service

    Easy banking.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tiffany, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 501 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.