Bank Australia logo

Bank Australia Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
7.6/10
Price
7.5/10
Features
6.9/10
Customer service
7.6/10
Convenience
7.1/10
Trust
7.7/10
Based on 98 Bank Australia home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Bank Australia home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    I am happy of the services and products offered .

    The Bank’s services and products are good and interest rates are competitive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kunchee, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    I am disappointed with my bank.

    They are not very competitive..don't have the customers best interests.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emma, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Good

    Approved for a loan we own a house with under 30,000 to pay then they changed their mind after we already started to move

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Great benefits

    They are a 'green bank' and provide an offsett account for your mortgage.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Member owned, great service, competitive rates

    Member-owned, green and socially responsible profile. Allowing a green pause on the mortgage payments was a useful way to be able to install solar ahead of the massive electricity price rises. App and website have everything you need for managing current accounts and home loans. I've always found the call centre helpful and responsive, and comms via the secure email via online banking have also been good. Probably not for you if you like visiting local bank branches (but who does that?). There is one in Brisbane though and the only time I had to visit was when I wanted a cash FX transaction ahead of an overseas trip, and that experience was positive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elton, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Ethical bank with great customer service.

    Online only bank for me, due to its location. Great customer service, but the most important factor is their ethical integrity.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Simon, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Banked with them for 4 years with three products

    Terrible bank to be with. 1) lack of customer care in branch 2) lack of customer engagment on phone at times waiting 15 mins to call through to someone. 3) issue over limit or warning letters within an account being overdrawn in 1 hour. 4) cancel facilities and limit movement of money. 5) incorrect reporting to credit reporting bodies. 6) previously sold add on insurance prosciutto to loans incorrectly. Moved all banking away from them. I suggest anyone else do the same.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Terry, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    One of the best, if not THE best, bank we have!

    I'm a long-time customer (back when Bank Australia was just Ed Credit), and have always found them to be there for me. As a result my (now adult) children have converted their own savings accounts (from when they were kids), into their primary accounts in the case of the three still living in Australia, with the fourth maintaining his Bank Australia account even though he now lives and works in the US. Even my two grandchildren have Bank Australia accounts because their mother believes in it!

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elsa, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Bank Australia is morally bankrupt

    My son had his house loan with Bank Australia. He passed away suddenly a month ago at age 54, leaving behind a mortgage and two of his five children who were living with him (twenty two year old and seventeen year old daughters). I notified Bank Australia several days after his passing. There was very little sympathy as I was passed around from one Bank Australia staff member after another. Before we were able to even have him buried, they were after their money. And this chase after the money has persisted for the past month since my son's passing. We have now engaged a lawyer to deal with Bank Australia as it is to stressful for myself and my daughter acting as executives for his estate. I can't believe their thoughtless grab for money. I thought the Banking Royal Commission was going to stop this sort of behaviour by the banks. pparently not so for Bank Australia. So here we are desperately looking for alternative homes for the children and their dog, trying to sell off all my sons possessions to raise some money to keep Bank Australia at bay. My daughter looks like having to take out a loan against her house to meet the payments being demanded. We are under so much pressure due to Bank Australia's behaviour and lack of empathy. Sadly, I was a member of one of the fore-runners of this bank back from the 1970's, to around 2000, when they were the Education Department Credit Union (EDCU). EDCU even occupied the same building that is now Bank Australia's Head Office in Kew, Victoria. So it really hurts to go back to where a very decent and caring bank once stood, and deal with the indecent and uncaring bank that stands there today. If you are looking for a bank with moral ethics, Bank Australia is not for you. I will keep this site updated on my dealings with Bank Australia as the situation progresses. It could well finish up with the Banking Ombudsman.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bill, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Trustable.

    Great customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Pamudini, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    Great Experience

    Great experience with Bank Australia. From the first step everything was very well organised and clear. They did a great job answering all questions that I had and aways made herself available when I had a question. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alex, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    Better than the big banks!

    Exceptional phone customer service, every time, by every staff member!

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wendy, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia

    Great service by staff to meet our financial needs

    We had a very positive experience with Bank Australia, thanks to the assistance we received from the Bendigo branch staff.. We needed to finance a house purchase on a tight deadline and Emily was able to make the necessary arrangements to make the finances available. We really appreciated her expertise and helpful attitude throughout the process. We have been customers with the Bank for a long time and are impressed by its ethical and environmental standards and are happy to recommend Bank Australia.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia

    Bad experience with Bank Australia

    I was very excited to be applying for a loan with Bank Australia due to their ethical stance on the environment and other things such as live animal exports. However, whilst I have always been treated well by CBA and other large banks who I have dealt with in the past, I was given the complete run around from Bank Australia. Their loaning approval staff seem to be completely incompetent and very unhelpful, and I felt they addressed my application with suspicion and arrogance. Not a good experience at all.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Georgina, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier)

    A small fish that easily beats the big boys

    Bank Australia is local and they act like it. They build relationships with their customers and treat them as individuals. Their rates are better than the "Big 4" and their service is better too. The only downside is that they don't have as many branches, so sometimes you have to go out of your way to go to a branch. However, they do a lot of business by post, email or phone, so it's hardly an inconvenience.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robyn louise, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Great Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan 90

      interest rate
      6.04% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.06% p.a.

      Promoted
    • The Better Home Loan Special Offer

      interest rate
      6.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.14% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 463 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.