Bank of Melbourne logo

Bank of Melbourne Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 187 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bank of Melbourne home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank of Melbourne Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package)

    Personalised and great service

    They care for their customers, a more personalised bank like the were big4 in the 1980/90s. They have a can do approach, easy to get through to & always willing to assist. Being ex bankers (both me & husband of 2 major banks). We found that’s operations have changed dramatically since our days, staff are only knowledgeable in their field without understanding all the background leading to it, whereas in our days (we’re only in our 50s) we started at the bottom of the banking chain, through ledgers, telling, processing, personal bankers & then moved up to senior positions having all the background knowledge. Having closed a business in 2015 we were left with home loan & business loan which our bank could not refinance (ANZ) nor could the others of the big 4. The refinance with BOM was straight forward & have never looked back, their service is still outstanding 5 years on Have since encouraged two of our sons to approach BOM for their first home loan, even though it’s not their bank, they did & were very content with the service, they are now loyal customers, our 3rd son will do same next year without a second thought.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daniela, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    a great one stop bank for all your needs !

    The bank of Melbourne team are second to none in their customer service and deals. I would recommend this bank to any and everyone!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bevis, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    Appalling customer service, not reliable

    I would not recommend BOM. Terrible customer service. Have been waiting months for my loan application to go through and when I call I am told its approved and will take a week and am being told this info every week for months now. This has been ongoing since August and still no service and no answers. You call the branch and mortgage manager and no one can tell me anything. Bank of Melbourne has no purpose to achieve positive result for their customer, just appalling.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    a great one stop bank for all your needs !

    bank of Melbourne is a great bank for all your needs. I have changed almost all my banking over to them and would recommend them to anyone!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bevis, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    Over the horrible service

    Use to love the bank, been trying to combine a small personal loan and home loan into one, they have cancelled meetings and then I had to chase up to get a rebook, they then did a credit check with some company that has screwed up (put another family members on my name wtf?!) and has done nothing to help the situation and even though it shouldn’t actually effect the situation they aren’t going through with anything. Think they are just dragging out any excuse to not settle loans that better off customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nicole, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    Shocking

    Terrible trying to get home loan switched over to them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bill, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Home Loan

    Home loan application process

    I have gone through a private broker to gain a home. Loan application. This process begun in Feb 2021 and it’s now May. I have jumped through every hoop, been asked to provide the same paperwork at least 3-4 times and still no definite answer. They are laziest, most Poorly trained cohort of staff and it’s clear that applications obviously just get passed around the credit teams without follow through. I’m so angry, I have put my buying process on hold for months and continue to until they get their arses into gear.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maddie, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Home Loan

    Not sure if I would recommend BOM

    Terrible customer service. Have been waiting 5 months for my loan application to go through and when I call I am told its approved and will take a week and am being told this info every week for 5 months now. This has been ongoing since January and still no service and no answers. You call the branch and mortgage number and no one can tell me anything and they cannot locate me as a customer

    Price
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Sophie, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    Worst bank with worst customer service.

    Don’t even think to go with bank of Melbourne. They have the worst customer service and I cannot think of anything worse than BOM. I am trying to settle my loan but they are dragging it over a month now and no one can give me an update, they just don’t care about their customer needs at all. If you are going with BOM be ready to call them twice a day and the waiting time to get the line is more than 30 minutes and you will never get a solution.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lakmini, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Home Loan

    Slow and stupid bank.

    It take ages for this bank to get an approval, employees need more motivation. Avoid this bank when getting a home loan very slow and idiots.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elias, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Home Loan

    Don't do it with BOM

    For 6 months BOM have keep us hanging waiting for approval for a loan. We have jumped through every single hoop and they are still to give an answer. Withdrawing the application and going elsewhere.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kris, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne

    Very disappointed due to the situation

    I wanted to increase our loan by $20,000 but was rejected because I was made redundant, even though our house was valued at $950,000.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vicki, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Home Loan

    Fantastic.

    We are changing banks to Bank of Melbourne. Their interest rate is very competitive and our loans officer is so helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Colleen, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package)

    Fast approval great rate and service

    We had multiple applications and Bank Of Melbourne came through with the fastest approval and the best rate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emma, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Home Loan

    Best bank.

    Love this bank. I got a mortgage with just one pay slip and at a very competitive rate. So easy to talk to.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brendan, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.14% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.39% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 475 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.