Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Savings account reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Price
7.3/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
6.8/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 324 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured savings account from HSBC

Flexi Saver

Maximum rate
1.25% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)
standard interest rate
0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
Govt Deposit Guarantee
Yesup to $250,000

Increase balance by at least $300 in the month

Promoted

Recent HSBC savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Savings Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Shockers.

    Went to close my account today in person due to the balance of my account being in excess of online closure limits but more importantly because I found another bank with a much better interest rate. Was treated like a pariah, they wouldn't accept my uploaded drivers license, which is a service provided by the Australian Government and is accepted by anyone and everyone else. Have never had a problem before. In this pandemic environment and current technology, they still wanted the hard card so they could handle it and possibly infect me which meant I had to go home and back again so they could do so. The account I had did not pay my account the quoted interest rate, they had a million excuses, they talk like robots, couldn't give any reasonable explanations to any of my questions, don't know what they are talking about and this included branch staff members and online customer service. They quoted incorrect fees versus what they actually charged me, yes they charge you to take your money out. I could go on and on but in short, I have had many accounts with many different banks, HSBC is without a doubt the worst. Highly recommend you go elsewhere.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Fred, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Savings Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy to save.

    Good interest rate and it is easy to transfer funds.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mandy, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Serious Saver review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Customer support almost non-existent.

    Only one contact number which goes to an off shore call centre full of people shouting. Staff member there was unable to assist me with even basic account information. Difficult to transfer money out of the account, without downloading a mobile phone app or waiting to receive a secure key device, none of which was explained in the account set up process. I felt very insecure about dealing with this bank due to the lack of customer support.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Alison, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    High interest and branch access.

    They have the highest saving rate among physical banks.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leo, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Poor on-line international transfers.

    International online transfers are not handled well and they don't deliver the service that is expected from them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good rates and great for online banking

    Good rates but not so convenient as far as branch network goes

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Talei, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Savings Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good service.

    Good service

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shashini, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service & overall great product

    HSBC has been the best bank that I have used till now, great service face to face and over the phone, very professional and great customer service and always going that extra bit to assist

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Raymond, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Savings Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Relatively good service.

    No bank fee, but low interest rates.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Harris, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Serious Saver review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great customer service

    Online banking seems to have good security. Easy to transfer funds between accounts.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kate, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Exceptional customer service.

    Exceptional customer service.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    No fees, all the options, rock-solid, reliable.

    Reliable service. Never any problems accessing money. Can use Westpac ATMs without fees. No monthly fees. Cannot recall last time I incurred a bank charge. Convenient branch location in the city. VISA debit card attached to account is FANTASTIC, convenient, useful, fantastic. Have been able to use it online, also for renting cars, etc. Downsides -- HSBC linked to laundering drug cartel money in South America. I had trouble accessing funds while travelling in Africa even after I notified HSBC that I was in Africa.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sean, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HSBC Savings Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good product

    Convenient bank with no fees.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Grace, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    HSBC is an international bank

    Domestic banks are myopic.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Richard, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Limited

    A very basic savings account, very limited in internet usage.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Michele, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Online Saver

      Maximum rate
      1.55% p.a. (for $0 to $500,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.35% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yesup to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted
    • Progress Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.85% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.01% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yesup to $250,000

      Bonus interest when you make a single deposit of $10 or more in a month and no withdrawals

      Promoted
    • Online Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      1.55% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yesup to $250,000

      Ongoing bonus rate if you make at least four tap & go™ payments per month with your Everyday Transaction Account debit card. Purchases must be processed in calendar month to be eligible for bonus interest.

      Promoted
    • Hero Saver

      Maximum rate
      1.25% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yesup to $250,000

      Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

      Promoted
    • Online Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.80% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yesup to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 229 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.