HSBC logo

HSBC Savings account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 328 savings account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC savings account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Savings Account

    Awful customer service

    It takes about 45 mins to open an account. They treat customers like criminals, so rude and unprofessional. Always issue to get through to them over the phone

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sara, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Bonus Savings

    Good interest

    We chose this bank because the interest was higher than our previous bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Savings

    HSBC Serious Sav account seriously not transparent

    Serious Saver said it was offering 2 percent followed by variable rate after four months. However, it turns out the 'introductory offer' (only for those who don't have an account with them) is also variable. Hang on, if you offer an 'introductory offer' that is variable, say in clear terms that it may vary from the day you begin banking with them. That's what happened. I put a large amount in this account but in less than a month, the rate dropped 0.5 %. And it could go down again, and again. An 'introductory offer' is a clever disguise for HSBC. I also put some money into the Macquarie Savings account offering a 'welcome rate' (again for those who have no prior account with Macquarie). The difference is, the 2 percent is fixed. HSBC needs to be more transparent.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Everyday Savings

    New app is better.

    I opened this account to get the honeymoon interest rate and bonus $100. I had heard that the app was atrocious but they’ve put out a new Australian app which is much better. The process to open an account is a bit clunky, but I got there in the end.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Caitlin, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Savings Account

    Shockers.

    Went to close my account today in person due to the balance of my account being in excess of online closure limits but more importantly because I found another bank with a much better interest rate. Was treated like a pariah, they wouldn't accept my uploaded drivers license, which is a service provided by the Australian Government and is accepted by anyone and everyone else. Have never had a problem before. In this pandemic environment and current technology, they still wanted the hard card so they could handle it and possibly infect me which meant I had to go home and back again so they could do so. The account I had did not pay my account the quoted interest rate, they had a million excuses, they talk like robots, couldn't give any reasonable explanations to any of my questions, don't know what they are talking about and this included branch staff members and online customer service. They quoted incorrect fees versus what they actually charged me, yes they charge you to take your money out. I could go on and on but in short, I have had many accounts with many different banks, HSBC is without a doubt the worst. Highly recommend you go elsewhere.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Fred, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Savings Account

    Easy to save.

    Good interest rate and it is easy to transfer funds.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mandy, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • HSBC Everyday Savings

    Customer support almost non-existent.

    Only one contact number which goes to an off shore call centre full of people shouting. Staff member there was unable to assist me with even basic account information. Difficult to transfer money out of the account, without downloading a mobile phone app or waiting to receive a secure key device, none of which was explained in the account set up process. I felt very insecure about dealing with this bank due to the lack of customer support.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alison, Queensland, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • HSBC Bonus Savings

    High interest and branch access.

    They have the highest saving rate among physical banks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Leo, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • HSBC Bonus Savings

    Poor on-line international transfers.

    International online transfers are not handled well and they don't deliver the service that is expected from them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • HSBC Bonus Savings

    Good rates and great for online banking

    Good rates but not so convenient as far as branch network goes

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Talei, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Savings Account

    Good service.

    Good service

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shashini, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Bonus Savings

    Great customer service & overall great product

    HSBC has been the best bank that I have used till now, great service face to face and over the phone, very professional and great customer service and always going that extra bit to assist

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Raymond, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Savings Account

    Relatively good service.

    No bank fee, but low interest rates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Harris, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Everyday Savings

    Great customer service

    Online banking seems to have good security. Easy to transfer funds between accounts.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kate, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Bonus Savings

    Exceptional customer service.

    Exceptional customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, Western Australia, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Boost Saver with Go Account

      Maximum rate
      1.50% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Intro bonus rate of 1.50% for first 3 months, reverting to 1.20% after. Deposit $2,000 each month and make 5 eligible payments from your Go Account. If you are between 18 and 25 deposit $1,000.

      Promoted
    • Grow Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.65% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make at least 1 deposit and no more than 1 withdrawal, including internal transfers or external payments.

      Promoted
    • High Interest Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      1.35% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      0.25% p.a.(for $0 to $250,001)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 214 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.