Newcastle Permanent bank account reviews

Newcastle Permanent
Newcastle Permanent's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.2 / 10

based on 165 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Top 5 bank accounts 2015

Featured bank account from Newcastle Permanent

Recent Newcastle Permanent bank account reviews

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

Great staff, they are very helpful.

Full review

Great staff, they are very helpful.

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Michelle, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

No - as per above their customer service is poor

I recently had a Fraudulent Claim made against my Visa Debit Card which is attached to My Daily Savings Acct where my pay is deposited. I called NPBS within 15mins of the Claim being made & tried to have them block it. I could show them online...

Full review

I recently had a Fraudulent Claim made against my Visa Debit Card which is attached to My Daily Savings Acct where my pay is deposited. I called NPBS within 15mins of the Claim being made & tried to have them block it. I could show them online that the site claiming Funds had SCAM Alerts listed but they would do nothing. My Statement said Funds still in My Acct but "unavailable". I was greatly distressed to learn that if my whole pay had've been fraudulently siphoned out of my Acct -NPBS would do nothing! They advised me to wait 7 days to see if funds where re-credited -Ha! They then said I could apply for an investigation which would take another 21 to 28 days. I lost $70. Cancelled Visa Debit completely. I have No Faith in NPBS to protect my interests or my money! & thus the poor ratings I gave in your survey above.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Bel, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Newcastle beaches, nights and Newcastle Permanent.

I switched banks recently and while the institution is a lot smaller, everything else about them is more impressive in every way when compared to my old bank.

Full review

I switched banks recently and while the institution is a lot smaller, everything else about them is more impressive in every way when compared to my old bank.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Luke, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Good

Could be better.

Full review

Could be better.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Joshua, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Convenient and great service

Good service and the location is extremely convenient.

Full review

Good service and the location is extremely convenient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Adam, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank

They’re very handy, located locally and always helpful when you go into the branch. I would recommend them to anyone in the Newcastle area.

Full review

They’re very handy, located locally and always helpful when you go into the branch. I would recommend them to anyone in the Newcastle area.

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alicia, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

It's good and east to get to, and close by as well

Good bank as well as good service with a smile.

Full review

Good bank as well as good service with a smile.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Adam, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They make sure I'm happy every time

Newcastle Permanent have treated me like family and now twenty years on I feel like family

Full review

Newcastle Permanent have treated me like family and now twenty years on I feel like family

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nathelle, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

They reimbursed the money that had been hacked out of my bank account.

Full review

They reimbursed the money that had been hacked out of my bank account.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jenny, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good bank

They are the best bank I have been with.

Full review

They are the best bank I have been with.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dan, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Would Highly Recommend

Good all round banking services.

Full review

Good all round banking services.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michelle, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank, very satisfied

Been with them for twenty years and completely satisfied

Full review

Been with them for twenty years and completely satisfied

    Price   10 / 10

Less

Kelvin, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitiveness

All of the above

Full review

All of the above

    Price   8 / 10

Less

Keith, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant customer service

Fantastic customer service, the old style of caring for customers. Friendly, bright and vibrant office and well informed employees. Located in an excellent position. Internet banking and phone app are okay, but need a few improvements. for...

Full review

Fantastic customer service, the old style of caring for customers. Friendly, bright and vibrant office and well informed employees. Located in an excellent position. Internet banking and phone app are okay, but need a few improvements. for example, customers should be able to create new billers in the app and not only on the internet banking side. Highly recommend Newcastle Permanent.

    Price   10 / 10

Less

Treleena, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Pleasure to bank with

Minimal fees associated with any accounts and good discounts to promote higher interest on everyday money such as rapid saver account.

Full review

Minimal fees associated with any accounts and good discounts to promote higher interest on everyday money such as rapid saver account.

    Price   10 / 10

Less

Carol, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fair and reliable

fair and reliable

Full review

fair and reliable

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Kelly, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service

Easy banking, they always know what's happening with my money.

Full review

Easy banking, they always know what's happening with my money.

    Price   5 / 10

Less

Julie, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great community bank

It's a great community bank and they really love to help out the local communities. Staff are always polite, friendly and willing to help.

Full review

It's a great community bank and they really love to help out the local communities. Staff are always polite, friendly and willing to help.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Sandi, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Convenient and easy to bank with

I have been with Newcastle Permanent for the last six years. Overall I am pleased with all that the bank provides for me.

Full review

I have been with Newcastle Permanent for the last six years. Overall I am pleased with all that the bank provides for me.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Todd, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Pleasant service and prompt

Don't really look out for there life long members when in trouble.

Full review

Don't really look out for there life long members when in trouble.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Margaret, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Love it

Pretty good

Full review

Pretty good

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dale, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

Great service at branch and on phone

Full review

Great service at branch and on phone

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rochelle, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Aren't a huge amount of fee's, just hard to deal

I feel like they're the only bank that think it's the 90's. Poor fraud investigations, high fee's, won't give you your money unless you call 24 hours in advance.

Full review

I feel like they're the only bank that think it's the 90's. Poor fraud investigations, high fee's, won't give you your money unless you call 24 hours in advance.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Michael, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service..

Great customer service.. It would be very useful and more convenient if money transfers from one account to other could clear on weekends as well..

Full review

Great customer service.. It would be very useful and more convenient if money transfers from one account to other could clear on weekends as well..

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rene, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

LITTLE BUT MIGHTY!!! Yeah that's my BANK

Super, amazing, awesome financial institution & my family for 27yrs & will be god willing for another 27yrs..happy days

Full review

Super, amazing, awesome financial institution & my family for 27yrs & will be god willing for another 27yrs..happy days

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Pete, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Atm networks: HSBC
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 175 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit, PayTag

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 3606 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fees
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Payment Ring

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fees
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 974 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 530 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases

    account fee

    $10.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit, PayTag

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 3606 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 107 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top