Thumbnail icon for Virgin Money

Virgin Money Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.2/10
Value for money
8.1/10
Policy coverage
7.2/10
Customer service
7.6/10
Claims handling
5.8/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 51 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Virgin Money

Price Saver Comprehensive

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Virgin Money car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Virgin Money are a reasonable insurance company.

    Virgin Money offered a nation-wide roadside assistance for around $80 which is comparable with other car insurers and I’ve used it several times when I’ve broken down, including taking it to one of their sponsored repair garages. While they fixed one problem that needed attention, they missed another bigger problem which was eventually identified by a small garage in the city, but not before the car overheated a number of times. I can’t hold the insurer responsible however for this. I haven’t had to make a claim on my comprehensive insurance company, so I can’t comment on how easy or otherwise they are to deal with. I’ve dealt with customer service to get and renew the insurance. My credit card had changed since I took out the policy and they emailed me to advise the renewal transaction didn’t go through. I missed seeing the email for a couple of days during which time I was uninsured. I think they tried to ring me, but can’t remember. When I spoke to them to pay over the phone, though that went through okay, they forgot to email me my insurance policy documents so that I could check them. I had to phone them again to get the documents and this time the customer service agent was very efficient and emailed them through to me promptly. I really hope that if I need to make a claim that it would go smoothly, but my interaction with customer service so far hasn’t given me any insight into how it would go.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Belinda, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst! - 6 months down still waiting on a claim.

    We bought this insurance as it was competitively priced. However we should have checked reviews prior to purchasing as it is rated one of the worst insurance for claims. Unfortunately we had to go through a claims process for a minor accident which was the fault of the 3rd party. The accident happened in March 2020 and currently in Sept 2020 (6 months later) we are yet to get a resolution from Virgin despite multiple follow-ups from us. It has been an incredibly frustrating process as we as the client need to follow up with them as they never provide any update as promised. It has been a long and weary process for such a minor accident which should have been resolved ages ago. I would discourage anyone from going with Virgin if anyone is hoping to get a claim resolved!

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Harshini, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    i like Virgin Money car insurance.

    Good price, easy to deal with. Coverage is what I was after.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gina, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Terrible service.

    Terrible people on their call center, did not want to answer my query at all. Good price but they will not keep you even for one claim made.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Doro, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    All providers seem similar to me

    Like anything all providers are similar

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Less
    Brett, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Competitively priced, friendly to deal with

    They were competitively priced and friendly to deal with on the phone.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Less
    Phil, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very good service

    I process of claiming now couldn't fault service

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Less
    Ian, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great claims process - very easy

    Pros: Cheaper, great claims process

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    They cancelled policy.

    I didnt give proof of ncb and they cancelled.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Brad, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent customer service and great prices.

    The girls on the phone were sweet And, premiums I found rather cheap I compared them with NRMA But with Virgin Insurance I did stay.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Grant, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Could improve

    Mediocre

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Halina, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Nil service

    I had a claim for approx $1200. Accident happened on private property. I was at fault. They claimed I did not give them full disclosure of my driving history (Points)...I have never been suspended. I paid the excess of $600 and after some time they finally paid the claim. They then told me that they would bill me for a extra fee for my premium immediately..not when it was due once again. I argued against their unwarranted decision. They didn't care about my concerns. I had two other policies with them and I said I would cancel those policies along with my current policy. Which I did immediately. At no time (And they did not dispute) did they ask me about whether I have reached high points on my licence. They did ask me whether I had licence suspension. Which I had not had and still have not. My previous insurer RACQ Had been my insurer for many many years and I had a rating one for life. They took this from me. Virgin Money and Budget are not trustworthy nor will I recommend them to anyone.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dennis, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Well rounded

    Great overall , would recommend. Not had to claim.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Karla, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Well priced premiums

    I liked them because of the fact they promised not to increase the premium for the next year. Also their roadside assistance package.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Larry, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service helpful team

    Extremely helpful, I move on a regular basis and they always keep my details up to date, easy to talk to, very friendly, and you don't end up with a headache after the call ends!

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Bec, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.