Virgin Money logo

Virgin Money Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
6.3/10
Value for money
7.4/10
Policy coverage
6.6/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Claims handling
4.8/10
Trust
6.0/10
Based on 70 Virgin Money car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Virgin Money car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Abysmal service

    Such bad (or lack) of customer service. Cant get through to anyone on the phone after numerous waits between 30-45 minutes. Opted for their 'convenient' SMS service which was also plagued with delays and terse responses. Not helpful at all. Finally got a message my car had been authorised for repair, but no time frame given. Called the panel beater direct for timing, only to be told car was being written off and shipped offsite the next day, so had to be there at opening the next morning to get my belongings from car. Got charged excess, because they didnt bother to investigate claim - I had 3rd party witness that I was stationary when vehicle ran into back of me. Also no refund on remaining months of policy, Saved a few bucks initially with the policy, but feel like I need therapy after going through their claims process - left me very unsatisfied frustrated.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mick, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Worst Insurer I have ever dealt with

    Insured a BMW iX 50 (2021) with them last October. Purchased a new iX (2023) Monday. Called them on preceding Thursday to advise of the transfer of insurance for the Monday. All agreed but they asked me to get back to them on Monday. Monday they advised that it had been referred to underwriter and car too expensive to insure. Crazy given they had insured the previous one for the same money. Trying to speak with someone in charge was hopeless. They had to email underwriting back and fort. After a couple of hours wasting my time, went online and insured with RACV which had a much better policy but slightly more expensive than Virgin. No fuss with RACV and excellent to deal with.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Clive, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    DO NOT GO TO VIRGIN FOR CAR INSURANCE

    No communication Lack of service hard to reach or get a response. Will try not to make payment claims

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Teresa, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Taking advantage of Flood victums car claims

    Appalled at the service and handling of my car insurance claim after my car was flooded in Victoria. My whole family have been paid out and has bought new vehicles. My car was on the news on every channel - How is that not evidence. Virgin Money claims are managed by Auto and General, which have managed the claim unlawfully. My car was inundated by flood water, and it has taken them over a month to assess. What to assess, it's a write-off??? They are attempting to manipulate me by offering to pay for a 15-year-old car instead of the 3-year-old car I had. After over a month and they are still wanting me to wait another 10 - 30 days. Bad Bad Bad customer service and internal management system that hires incompetent. I will NEVER insure with them again.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sue, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Communication below acceptable. No follow through

    Post my accident didn't contact other insurance companies. I was then asked by this company to pay damages. I am fully covered. I contacted virgin and sent them paperwork and no reply. I also contacted other insurance companies and gave them my details including my claim number. Despite this, I am now dealing with debt collectors. It is not my responsibility or job to communicate between the two companies. Also, I shouldn't as a result of their poor handling be dealing with debt collectors and potential bad credit rating when I've done nothing wrong

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Brendan, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great insurance

    Great insurance company. No complaints. No long customer service lines

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Bianca, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    virgin insurance ZERO TRUST

    They are dodgy as they come gift card scam to lure customers in don't trust this dodgy insurer.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Staff very friendly and velocity points are great

    Staff are very friendly and velocity points are great.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Megan, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Would recommend Virgin car insurance to anyone

    Considering the reputation of Virgin, I really think they are competitively priced. They’re only a tiny bit more expensive than Budget direct. Their customer service is great and their cover for theft is as high as other premium comprehensive plans.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Bella, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance

    poor claims service

    Very poor customer service, took 3 months to get a windscreen repair done through preferred repairer, then left waiting at service centre after the re calibration as the service centre could not get confirmation of payment. After all this they then raised out premium. Even for a claim that was not our fault at all they have threatened to drop our rating 1 and increase premium as we forgot to get 1 small bit of info from other party. We provided name, contact details, licence details and rego. Every dealing leaves bad taste.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Brett, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Beware of dodgy assessors

    Had a terrible experience last year trying to get my car fixed properly with Virgin. After the accident I opted to get my car fixed at my chosen repairer. After getting the car assessed I got a call from the senior assessor at virgin saying he had approved the damages to the car. The only issue was he only approved the minor issues (the cheap ones) and avoided the major. I only found out because my repairer advised (and showed photo evidence) that there was other major damages hidden under the car that was caused in the accident and needed to be replaced. When I called the assessor back he was adamant that the repairer was just trying to milk more damages out of the car and that I should just accept it and move on. After going back and forth and getting really frustrated the repairer suggested to me to get a third party assessor in and to let the insurer know that it was dangerous and against the law not to replace the cracked part (called a ''cross member'' from memory?). Not long after I suggested to the assessor that I wanted a third party opinion to come in to re-assess, I then got a text back (not a call) to say that the extra repairs had now been approved (about 5k worth). They were trying to rip me off from the start! Was so angry at the time. I recommend to make sure you have a choice of your own repairer (because they will only fix what they can see on the outside), and secondly get a third party opinion if your repairer suggests it. I'd say most insurers are like this, not just Virgin.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Gift Card is a SCAM

    Scammed by the offer they are currently running for a gift voucher included - 5 months now and still chasing the missing gift card (chasing the card itself for over 2 months). The phone operators mediate between you the customer and virgin so you are not even dealing directly with the company!! I have now switched back to my old provider...just don't waste your time - I would hate to have to handle an actual claim with them - DODGEY - AVOID!!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Trust
    Less
    Lib, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Difficult to cancel policy.

    Customer Portal is a waste of time. Can make some minor adjustments but can't cancel a policy when you sell a car so you have to talk with them. Closed on the Saturday after Good Friday despite what their answering machine states. Presuming will be very difficult to get to them on the phone at all.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Gayle, Tasmania, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Never again.

    Accident occurred three weeks ago. I am the one making all the phone calls. Kept on phone for over 40 minutes at times. Rang again today was told that Virgin were still waiting for images of the car. Told customer service that they had received the images over a week ago. He apologises stating 'oh yes they are here. Tells me the car was written off (something I was told 2 weeks ago). Lady on the phone last week apologises for the delay from Assessment Team and says she has emailed them (7 days ago). Vehicle only valued at $3800 but because it's been written off the claim will be delayed. Thank god it wasn't worth $50,000 I'd be waiting years for a refund. Absolutely appalling customer service. Yes! I should have read the reviews on this company! So I will wait another week to make yet another loooooonnnnnng phone call to hear the next excuse. In the meantime have bought a new car and insured with a reputable insurance company (same one as our other vehicle). Bottom line: don't go with the cheapest, go with the best!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance

    Great price.

    Great price on comprehensive car insurance. Recently switched over and saved almost half.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Elanor, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.