Virgin Money logo

Virgin Money Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
6.7/10
Value for money
7.8/10
Policy coverage
6.9/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Claims handling
5.2/10
Trust
6.3/10
Based on 60 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Virgin Money

Price Saver Comprehensive

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Virgin Money car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Beware of dodgy assessors

    Had a terrible experience last year trying to get my car fixed properly with Virgin. After the accident I opted to get my car fixed at my chosen repairer. After getting the car assessed I got a call from the senior assessor at virgin saying he had approved the damages to the car. The only issue was he only approved the minor issues (the cheap ones) and avoided the major. I only found out because my repairer advised (and showed photo evidence) that there was other major damages hidden under the car that was caused in the accident and needed to be replaced. When I called the assessor back he was adamant that the repairer was just trying to milk more damages out of the car and that I should just accept it and move on. After going back and forth and getting really frustrated the repairer suggested to me to get a third party assessor in and to let the insurer know that it was dangerous and against the law not to replace the cracked part (called a ''cross member'' from memory?). Not long after I suggested to the assessor that I wanted a third party opinion to come in to re-assess, I then got a text back (not a call) to say that the extra repairs had now been approved (about 5k worth). They were trying to rip me off from the start! Was so angry at the time. I recommend to make sure you have a choice of your own repairer (because they will only fix what they can see on the outside), and secondly get a third party opinion if your repairer suggests it. I'd say most insurers are like this, not just Virgin.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Gift Card is a SCAM

    Scammed by the offer they are currently running for a gift voucher included - 5 months now and still chasing the missing gift card (chasing the card itself for over 2 months). The phone operators mediate between you the customer and virgin so you are not even dealing directly with the company!! I have now switched back to my old provider...just don't waste your time - I would hate to have to handle an actual claim with them - DODGEY - AVOID!!!

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lib, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Difficult to cancel policy.

    Customer Portal is a waste of time. Can make some minor adjustments but can't cancel a policy when you sell a car so you have to talk with them. Closed on the Saturday after Good Friday despite what their answering machine states. Presuming will be very difficult to get to them on the phone at all.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Gayle, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never again.

    Accident occurred three weeks ago. I am the one making all the phone calls. Kept on phone for over 40 minutes at times. Rang again today was told that Virgin were still waiting for images of the car. Told customer service that they had received the images over a week ago. He apologises stating 'oh yes they are here. Tells me the car was written off (something I was told 2 weeks ago). Lady on the phone last week apologises for the delay from Assessment Team and says she has emailed them (7 days ago). Vehicle only valued at $3800 but because it's been written off the claim will be delayed. Thank god it wasn't worth $50,000 I'd be waiting years for a refund. Absolutely appalling customer service. Yes! I should have read the reviews on this company! So I will wait another week to make yet another loooooonnnnnng phone call to hear the next excuse. In the meantime have bought a new car and insured with a reputable insurance company (same one as our other vehicle). Bottom line: don't go with the cheapest, go with the best!

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great price.

    Great price on comprehensive car insurance. Recently switched over and saved almost half.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Less
    Elanor, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great budget insurer with friendly team

    Virgin money was really great at handling my not at fault claim one week after I was a new customer! Very easy to deal with. Claims team friendly. Get sms updates on phone. Could cover more with comprehensive cover though.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Phoebe, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    poor customer service and claim handling.

    Really poor handling of a windscreen claim too nearly 3 months to finalise as their recommended repairer was very tardy. Then they hiked the premium up as a result of making a claim.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Brett, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Disingenuous and untrustworthy

    Disingenuous in their policy coverage and approach to claim underhanded. Multiple contacts to progress claim and still awaiting outcome. The conduct of the assessor will result in moving policies elsewhere, which in the long run will cost the company more.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Boyo, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Virgin Money are a reasonable insurance company.

    Virgin Money offered a nation-wide roadside assistance for around $80 which is comparable with other car insurers and I’ve used it several times when I’ve broken down, including taking it to one of their sponsored repair garages. While they fixed one problem that needed attention, they missed another bigger problem which was eventually identified by a small garage in the city, but not before the car overheated a number of times. I can’t hold the insurer responsible however for this. I haven’t had to make a claim on my comprehensive insurance company, so I can’t comment on how easy or otherwise they are to deal with. I’ve dealt with customer service to get and renew the insurance. My credit card had changed since I took out the policy and they emailed me to advise the renewal transaction didn’t go through. I missed seeing the email for a couple of days during which time I was uninsured. I think they tried to ring me, but can’t remember. When I spoke to them to pay over the phone, though that went through okay, they forgot to email me my insurance policy documents so that I could check them. I had to phone them again to get the documents and this time the customer service agent was very efficient and emailed them through to me promptly. I really hope that if I need to make a claim that it would go smoothly, but my interaction with customer service so far hasn’t given me any insight into how it would go.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Belinda, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst! - 6 months down still waiting on a claim.

    We bought this insurance as it was competitively priced. However we should have checked reviews prior to purchasing as it is rated one of the worst insurance for claims. Unfortunately we had to go through a claims process for a minor accident which was the fault of the 3rd party. The accident happened in March 2020 and currently in Sept 2020 (6 months later) we are yet to get a resolution from Virgin despite multiple follow-ups from us. It has been an incredibly frustrating process as we as the client need to follow up with them as they never provide any update as promised. It has been a long and weary process for such a minor accident which should have been resolved ages ago. I would discourage anyone from going with Virgin if anyone is hoping to get a claim resolved!

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Harshini, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Laverton smash Repair are untrustworthy

    Virgin use Autogeneral Laverton Victoria for external work on cars. My car had tow bar stolen and it had been driver considerably while in the workshop.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    i like Virgin Money car insurance.

    Good price, easy to deal with. Coverage is what I was after.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gina, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Terrible service.

    Terrible people on their call center, did not want to answer my query at all. Good price but they will not keep you even for one claim made.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Doro, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Virgin Money Car Insurance

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    All providers seem similar to me

    Like anything all providers are similar

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Less
    Brett, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Virgin Money Price Saver Comprehensive

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Competitively priced, friendly to deal with

    They were competitively priced and friendly to deal with on the phone.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Less
    Phil, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.