ING logo

ING Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Value for money
7.9/10
Policy coverage
7.5/10
Customer service
7.7/10
Claims handling
5.6/10
Trust
6.8/10
Based on 12 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent ING car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic service.

    ING has been my insurer for over a year now and have fantastic support and customer service. Everything is explained so you can understand and you speak to someone who is real and understands what they are selling. They are very helpful with any questions and easy to get in contact with unlike other banks.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Cassie, Victoria, reviewed 17 days ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best car insurance company EVER.

    I’ll tell you why I LOVE my car insurance company - they are saving me money. For an Early Childhood Educator who is already on a low income paying rent, bills & a car loan off - the last thing I wanted to do was fork out money for car insurance (and I tell you, I was not going to insure my car - just so I could have extra money to live off each week) until I spoke with ING (who I bank with) and they gave me the cheapest full comp I’ve ever been with. Not to mention that you get a 15% off discount if you already bank with them (money win!) My last car insurance company was Allianz and I was paying $190 full comp per month, ING I pay $60 FULL COMP. Say no more!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tamara, Victoria, reviewed 29 days ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    they are simply the best ever.

    except the charging price they are simply the best ever.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Johel, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • ING Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Service starts off ok and then deteriorates a lot.

    I have had to make a claim and it has worked out that I have to keep chasing everything up. Initial contact regarding the claim was good. The towing company sent me a message that they had gotten my car and were taking it to a repairer in Marrickville (30 kms away from where I live and this was done so repairs would be done faster. The accident happened on 3 November. However, I then had to call and see where things were up to. The initial person in claims had not put her phone extension number on the email nor letter advising me of things. She told me I didn't have to pay the excess yet. Then immediately sent me a letter that I did. I called and got a different person in claims and found out how to pay my excess and promptly did so. Then I got a letter saying please pay your excess and if you have, call this number. It was dated 5 November and it was already past that date again I noticed the original person had not given me a phone extension number. I phoned again to check that they had the excess. Yet another person assured me it had been received. That was three calls I made because I had not heard from the insurance company. I called the assessor department and spoke to someone who told me to call the repairer and sent through an email with the repairer's phone number etc. I called the repairer a few times until I got to speak to someone. They told me yes they had my car there and work was progressing. They told me that the estimated time of being fixed was 2 December. I called today since it was 2 December and I had heard nothing and had not been contacted by either the insurance company or the repairer. They told me they are waiting on a subframe part that had been back-ordered. They told me that they expect it maybe in mid-January and blamed COVID (convenient for lots of things). No one called to tell me this - not the insurance company nor the repairer. I had to call and find out myself. All this ringing around that I have had to do and anticipate that I will have lots more to do of it. Sorry, but I expect better. Reasonable premium rates alone don't cut it! As far as I can work out, the only way I find out anything is for me to be calling around. Otherwise they don't keep you updated and they don't care. I feel like I have been doing their job. I don't work for them, they should be working for me. I am very disappointed with all of this and I do not think much of ING nor the company that underwrites their insurance. They started off OK, but then have left it all to me to chase things up. Otherwise I would have no idea of what is going on.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive and super friendly.

    Incredibly competitive rates and every time I have spoken to the customer service on the phone, they have been knowledgeable, helpful and really friendly.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Natalie, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    I am happy with ING for my car insurance

    I like ING and like that they remind to pay and send messages to pay not to expensive.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jacqui, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic price and service

    So easy to use! Especially for all the barefoot investors out there who already have ING accounts. I can check my policy when I co eco my bank statements. Absolutely love it. And very price competitive.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Stephanie, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 7 months ago
  • ING Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Convenient insurance

    Easy to work with, affordable compared to other insurers, linked in with my bank account.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    ING Black Horse?

    This insurer communicates with us and isn't annoying trying to sell us more things. We are really happy and it's been cheap.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Less
    Andrea, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent

    Changed from AAMI to ING and would never go back. Two policies, both comprehensive for 80% less than one previous policy with AAMI. Easy to deal with. Exceptional customer service, Very professional.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharna, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor service.

    Just changed insurers from CGU to ING. The biggest mistake I’ve ever made. They don’t tell everything. I’ve sent through via email the same documents three times and I get a reply email stating it’s been received. Every time I call them still waiting for said documents. Documents finally appear. Prior to waiting for the documents to arrive in their inbox I get told that all I need is to pay my excess. But was told that until my first initial direct debit comes out they can’t process the claim. So now I have to wait a further two weeks before having my car repaired. I’m a shift worker so therefore the wait is two weeks. I will never ever recommend ING to anyone. Absolutely disgusting.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Maria, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • ING Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Go with anyone not underwritten by Auto & General

    Do not go with ING. I was rear ended, had to take my car to their preferred repairer, even though I swapped from Budget and I had a preferred repairer there (it was meant to be an exact policy change, obviously wasn't). Instead of actually having some common decency, the customer service representative I spoke with decided to read out a disclaimer from the product disclosure statement. Absolutely no care for the customer. Especially in a situation where I wasn't at fault, where my car is only just over a year old, and the person who hit me made the claim, I'd expect more. At the least some sort of empathy. Unsure as to why insurance agencies need to make things so difficult for the customer for the sake of money! Sad that at the end of the day that's more valuable to them. Will be changing insurance providers as soon as we get our car back!

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Monique, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.