ING logo

ING Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
5.5/10
Value for money
6.2/10
Policy coverage
5.7/10
Customer service
6.0/10
Claims handling
4.3/10
Trust
5.5/10
Based on 32 ING car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent ING car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ING Car Insurance

    You get what you pay for

    If I could give a zero I would. Long wait times - never call you back or keep you updated. I made a claim on 24th December - it’s now 21st February and I’m nowhere near getting my car back. Took them 20 days to approve repairs. I chose them because they offered a hire car benefit but there are lengthy delays and “processing times” or “assessment times” which take up most of your hire car benefit.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Alicia, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Great People to deal with and excellent service.

    They fully covered me after a car accident on 6th Dec last year which involved them needing to pay out on both cars as I was at fault.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Esther, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    worse insurance

    the worst insurance I had to deal with in my whole life! when you try to call them , they never answer. when you email them they never answer. they are liars as they said they will investigate and look at both parties cars and they did not. They just took my excess. this story lasted for 11 months, 11 months!1 for something very tiny or non existent. I am glad I left them ! do not join this insurance at all you will never be able to get someone to help you as they just ignore you!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Unstatisfied, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Six Months with No Vehicle - VERY BAD

    My car has now been sitting in a garage for 6 months not being driven which is causing damage to my vehicle. They can't get the parts so they leave customers in hardship. I have had no car for 6 months. It is stated that if the vehicle is irreparable then it is a write off. In my case, my car is not repairable, but they refuse to pay me out. This has caused me so much hardship financially and mentally. I have paid registration and car insurance to have my car on the road. I have had no transport. I have been going through a complaints process where they refused to find an alternative. Don't go with this insurance company, it is not worth the trouble and hardship.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Esther, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Bad insurance company

    Very very bad insurance company very bad service I don't recommend it to anyone stay away from it .very bad handling claims and answering phones I lodge a claim 3 month ago and nothing happened they ask you to ring and you stay on hold for over an hour with no response also they never reply to ur email .I really had a bad experience with this unprofessional insurance company .ING and auto general are really bad

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mohammed, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Trustworthy insurance worth having a look

    When I changed from my previous car insurer a few years ago I shopped around before signing up with ING. I have since purchased a new car and after checking the market again I chose to stay with ING. The whole process was made really easy. I found customer service helpful and clear. If you are in the market for a new insurer they are worth getting a quote.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Sherridan, South Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Won’t recommend to anyone

    So unhelpful and unprofessional. No follow up calls to customers. Just an overall bad experience.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Thai, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Don’t recommend, expensive and horrible service

    It took them 2 weeks to process my claim and once I took the car to their mechanic they didn’t even check and follow them up to see when I can get the car back. I pay extra for a car hire every month and they only gave me the car for 14 days only. My car has been with their mechanic for a month and 4 days. A very bad experience horrible service. Even Bingle (operate by computer) can do so much better than ING/AUTO GENERAL. They are expensive, slow and they do not care about the customer except their money. My excess fee was $900 and during my claim they add an extra $500 on top. I do not recommend them to anyone or anything.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Titi, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Highly recommend ING for Car Insurance!

    I can't recommend ING highly enough! My 18yr old son crashed my 3yr old car and it was a total loss. I was devastated and the customer service was above and beyond. Not only were they sympathetic but within a few days I received the money for personal effects in my bank account! After a week or so, the ING assessor told me the market value which I was more than happy with and was paid out within two days! Wow, I will be insuring with them again once I buy my new car. ING was absolutely wonderful, from start to finish!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Janet, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Do not recommend!!

    Roadside is autogeneral, told me to put oily rag in petrol tank. Left me in the city with no assistance. Dont like ING not helping melb customers locked in for 264 days. Dont like Customer service who dont listen or update details correctly.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kathryn, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Overall good policy

    The main reason that I decided to be insured through ING was because that's who I bank with. It's easy to see all my accounts and policies in the one app. That being said the ING app has been performing poorly for some time now. The only thing that I would like to change about the policy is the windshield excess, with my previous insurer there was no fee to have your windshield replaces as long as it wasn't more than once per year.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jesse anne, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Highly recommend ING

    Highly recommend ING for all you banking and insurance needs.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Cory, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • ING Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Lack of service & responsibility. Stay away

    Stay away from this insurance. I feel they had a lack of service towards my son. In the end, he withdraw the claim. They want you to do so much running around, doing what they are meant to do instead of providing the service paid for. Seems they will do what they can to avoid taking responsibility. I highly don't recommend them and ING ins will definitely not be used again by my family!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rose, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Poor service & extremely inefficient

    I recently made a claim on a minor not at fault claim on an expensive vehicle. I was told repairs were authorised & car was booked into repairer - 1 week later the car is still untouched as ING are reviewing paperwork. Every time I call I get a different story its nothing short of a nightmare. I would never recommend ING based on this experience the staff have been rude & dismissive telling me my claim is in a queue after 1 week in repair yard. Save yourself the stress & insure with someone else.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lenore, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • ING Car Insurance

    Terrible service. Would never recommend.

    Had a not at fault accident. Called ING to arrange hire car, towing to assessors etc. Told I couldn't get a hire car until they towed my car (which they delayed). I called a few days later asking for the status and was told by ING that I'd have to contact the panel shop myself to find out. Called them. Was told it had been sitting there for days. Called back ING who said they forgot to finalize processing my claim so I had to go through half the process again before they could arrange a car. Once I got a hire car I heard nothing until I chased ING again asking for the status of my claim. Car was eventually written off. I was told I had to *immediately* return the hire car despite not having received my funds etc. or I'd have to pay extra fees. So I'm currently without a hire car and without the payout for my car. Despicable service, I had better service from RACV, CGU, AAMI. My mother worked in insurance for over 30 years and says she's never encountered such bad service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.