Advertisement

Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Debit Card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Service needs improvement

We have had a few issues with fraud through our debit cards.

Full review

We have had a few issues with fraud through our debit cards.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Alana, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access Smart Access review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great banking experience

Commonwealth are continually delivering excellent services with confidence.

Full review

Commonwealth are continually delivering excellent services with confidence.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gordana, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Debit Card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic service

Westpac are very helpful and have been in my life since the school days.

Full review

Westpac are very helpful and have been in my life since the school days.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jeff, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access Smart Access review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great banking experience

Good services, there is a room for improvement.

Full review

Good services, there is a room for improvement.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Priyanka, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Express Freedom Account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great banking experience

Always happy and friendly service.

Full review

Always happy and friendly service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lee, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Debit Card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic online services with 24hour help

24 hour help, quick and fast online and in branch banking. Safe and secure online banking. Very safe and secure bank to be with.

Full review

24 hour help, quick and fast online and in branch banking. Safe and secure online banking. Very safe and secure bank to be with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maughan, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Police Bank

Police Bank Easy Access Account Easy Access Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic, easy and great customer service

They have affordable loans, and no bank fees. They are just fantastic.

Full review

They have affordable loans, and no bank fees. They are just fantastic.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maughan, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access Smart Access review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Always willing to lend a hand and very helpful. Especially in terms of their telephone banking.

Full review

Always willing to lend a hand and very helpful. Especially in terms of their telephone banking.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Debit Card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Great customer service and rates.

Full review

Great customer service and rates.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Christine, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Debit Card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Mis-spelt name, three times?

Terrible. They miss spelt my name three times when they delivered my debit card.

Full review

Terrible. They miss spelt my name three times when they delivered my debit card.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Christopher, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card) Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card) review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

Everything is so secure and always updated. Excellent bank.

Full review

Everything is so secure and always updated. Excellent bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sonya, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage Access Advantage review

Overall rating   6 / 10

User friendly

They are comparable with the other leading banks.

Full review

They are comparable with the other leading banks.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Leanne, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice Choice review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always great service delivered from Westpac

Westpac has been very good to me and their customer service is second to none.

Full review

Westpac has been very good to me and their customer service is second to none.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darren, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access Smart Access review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent banking

Generally always happy with service.

Full review

Generally always happy with service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tamara, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice Choice review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Overall very good survey

I've banked with Westpac all my life. They're just a really good bank.

Full review

I've banked with Westpac all my life. They're just a really good bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darren, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account Complete Freedom Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Awesome customer service, no monthly account fees

As I only have the one account with St George which is the everyday savings account, I can't really comment on interest rates etc. I have had my everyday account with St George for over 5 years now and I don't get charged a monthly fee for it as...

Full review

As I only have the one account with St George which is the everyday savings account, I can't really comment on interest rates etc. I have had my everyday account with St George for over 5 years now and I don't get charged a monthly fee for it as long as a certain amount goes in on a monthly basis. I have always had excellent customer service with St. George.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nathan, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 3 years ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card) Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card) review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

Great customer service

Full review

Great customer service

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jeremy, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Simply Access Simply Access review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank!

The best bank i been with

Full review

The best bank i been with

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chad, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

NAB

NAB Debit Card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent bank!

Excellent

Full review

Excellent

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Desmond, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account Everyday Account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

I have had no help with Bendigo Bank

As far as customer service.goes, I would say it is quite average. It terms of being helpful and understanding this bank has been below average.

Full review

As far as customer service.goes, I would say it is quite average. It terms of being helpful and understanding this bank has been below average.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Carlo, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account Day2Day Plus Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome bank!

I have to say, I worked previously for a major telco, in a variety of roles but I relate to HR and Senior Training & Development Manager. I would without blinking an eye employ any of FOH or BOH Customer Service Agents. The level of actual care...

Full review

I have to say, I worked previously for a major telco, in a variety of roles but I relate to HR and Senior Training & Development Manager. I would without blinking an eye employ any of FOH or BOH Customer Service Agents. The level of actual care they have when you're either at the counter or on the phone goes beyond what I have had the pleasure of spending time with. They can also quickly assess the situation and think outside the business rules box. They seem to genuinely care and always have time for a small conversation that is not work related whilst multi tasking at the same time. Every time I do business with them, I always walk out smiling. I enjoy going to this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shar, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account Everyday Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great way to do banking with them

I would recommend this bank to anyone

Full review

I would recommend this bank to anyone

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account Complete Freedom Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good bank overall

St. George are always ready to help when I need their assistance

Full review

St. George are always ready to help when I need their assistance

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tom, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

QT Mutual Bank

QT Mutual Bank Current Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A great bank

Found this to be a great bank, good staff and range of services - what else do you need in a bank?

Full review

Found this to be a great bank, good staff and range of services - what else do you need in a bank?

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bruce, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access Smart Access review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and great bank

Everything has generally been great, the only con would have to be the surprise account fee that I was only told about after I opened the account. However other than that it has been perfect. Staff, both in store and over the phone are amazing....

Full review

Everything has generally been great, the only con would have to be the surprise account fee that I was only told about after I opened the account. However other than that it has been perfect. Staff, both in store and over the phone are amazing. Online banking, also amazing.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Maddison, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Suncorp Everyday Options

    Suncorp Everyday Options

    account fee

    $0.00Special offer of $0 monthly account keeping fees when you open a new account

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $1: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 933 Suncorp debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 102 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Hero Transaction Account

    Bankwest Hero Transaction Account

    • Free and unlimited access to Australia's largest bank ATM network
    • 0.75% p.a. variable interest rate on balances up to $5,000
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2k monthly (e.g. salary)

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Payment Ring

    what kind of card

    Debit Mastercard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free and unlimited access to Australia's largest bank ATM network
    • 0.75% p.a. variable interest rate on balances up to $5,000
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2k monthly (e.g. salary)
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.75% p.a.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and MasterCard debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 844 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Everyday Account

    MyState Bank Everyday Account

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 112 MyState Bank debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 7,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 7,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 3575 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement