Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Seem competitive and give me very good service.

They treat me decently and don't seem to charge me high fees. Rather, at times they waive some fees sometimes.

Full review

They treat me decently and don't seem to charge me high fees. Rather, at times they waive some fees sometimes.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian (ACT), reviewed 1 day ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very good

They are always very professional, and you don't get charged withdrawing your money from the auto teller.

Full review

They are always very professional, and you don't get charged withdrawing your money from the auto teller.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

A good bank..has great customer service.

Full review

A good bank..has great customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kripesh (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Number 1 for quality service and products.

I have been banking with this bank for over 10 years now and I love how they have helped my through hard times. Their fees are very good and I would recommend them to everyone.

Full review

I have been banking with this bank for over 10 years now and I love how they have helped my through hard times. Their fees are very good and I would recommend them to everyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Corina (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent

Friendly service

Full review

Friendly service

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Denis (TAS), reviewed 3 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and accessibility

Convenience and easy accessibility. The bank is reliable with excellent customer service. The deposit system is also good, many branches and ATM's nearby

Full review

Convenience and easy accessibility. The bank is reliable with excellent customer service. The deposit system is also good, many branches and ATM's nearby

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tabish (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Savings

It's the best bank I find out there

Full review

It's the best bank I find out there

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Amber (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service good-phone banking GREAT.

We have found after some 40+ years of NAB banking, credit cards, debit cards, former business loans & house mortgages that we can still operate with flexibility & security when travelling. We have been able access our cash easily - even when in...

Full review

We have found after some 40+ years of NAB banking, credit cards, debit cards, former business loans & house mortgages that we can still operate with flexibility & security when travelling. We have been able access our cash easily - even when in out of the way places in Europe & South America!! We find that the personal service has considerably diminished- but that is everywhere these days - technology rules!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Margaret (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best bank ever

I would recommend St George to anyone in a heartbeat that is how good St George is

Full review

I would recommend St George to anyone in a heartbeat that is how good St George is

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

St.George

St.George debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank.

St. George is a really good bank I would recommend it to anyone

Full review

St. George is a really good bank I would recommend it to anyone

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service

Easy online banking

Full review

Easy online banking

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Faith (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Great

Full review

Great

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tiana (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and good customer service

I like their customer service and products are competitive.

Full review

I like their customer service and products are competitive.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kerry (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome customer service and very polite

Easy to get to friendly staff and no long queues

Full review

Easy to get to friendly staff and no long queues

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Craig (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fast service

Trusted and best service

Full review

Trusted and best service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rajdeep (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Over pressured

Charge me overdraw fee and don't have overdraw access

Full review

Charge me overdraw fee and don't have overdraw access

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Phill (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

I have been banking with the commonwealth bank for approximately 25 years and thank them for there excellent service and would proudly recommend them.

Full review

I have been banking with the commonwealth bank for approximately 25 years and thank them for there excellent service and would proudly recommend them.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Melinda (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

?

Cash-less cash withdrawals is my most used way of getting cash

Full review

Cash-less cash withdrawals is my most used way of getting cash

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Shanon (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

ME

ME Everyday Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy and helpful

This bank has been absolutely great to me. They are easy to talk to, provide assistance when required and are friendly.

Full review

This bank has been absolutely great to me. They are easy to talk to, provide assistance when required and are friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anthony (SA), reviewed 3 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome service and competitive rates

This bank is a community bank and therefore any profits are redirected to the community. They also provide competitive rates and awesome service.

Full review

This bank is a community bank and therefore any profits are redirected to the community. They also provide competitive rates and awesome service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Duuglas (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

SCU

SCU Access Savings debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

They are improving slowly

Not enough ATM's in the CBD and inner suburbs....

Full review

Not enough ATM's in the CBD and inner suburbs....

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Annette (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

BankSA

BankSA Complete Freedom Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Atm fees, minimum staff and low interest

There is no interest on my debit card to speak of. The bank has down scaled all their branches and only have a couple of people in the branches. I have had to pay a fee to withdraw money outside of South Australia.

Full review

There is no interest on my debit card to speak of. The bank has down scaled all their branches and only have a couple of people in the branches. I have had to pay a fee to withdraw money outside of South Australia.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carol (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great staff.

Friendly staff always willing to help in any way.

Full review

Friendly staff always willing to help in any way.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Dielle (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Banks a bank

Banks a bank. They need more ATMs, and their fees are a little steep I guess but IV had my account with them since I was a Dollarmite.

Full review

Banks a bank. They need more ATMs, and their fees are a little steep I guess but IV had my account with them since I was a Dollarmite.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Amy (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service 9/10. Rates are average.

My debit Mastercard started off great then for some reason it was rejected even though there was money in there to cover my purchases. I went to the bank where the teller was really helpful but frustrated with the slow connections and issues they...

Full review

My debit Mastercard started off great then for some reason it was rejected even though there was money in there to cover my purchases. I went to the bank where the teller was really helpful but frustrated with the slow connections and issues they were having themselves in branch. Eventually the card was relinked to my account and I was good to go, less than a week later, Mastercard refuses purchases again?!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bianca (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    ANZ

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01%pa.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1842 ANZ debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    HSBC, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 33 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    NAB, rediATM

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.