Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great banking experience

Commonwealth are continually delivering excellent services with confidence.

Full review

Commonwealth are continually delivering excellent services with confidence.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gordana (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic service

Westpac are very helpful and have been in my life since the school days.

Full review

Westpac are very helpful and have been in my life since the school days.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jeff (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great banking experience

Good services, there is a room for improvement.

Full review

Good services, there is a room for improvement.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Priyanka (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Express Freedom Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great banking experience

Always happy and friendly service.

Full review

Always happy and friendly service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lee (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic online services with 24hour help

24 hour help, quick and fast online and in branch banking. Safe and secure online banking. Very safe and secure bank to be with.

Full review

24 hour help, quick and fast online and in branch banking. Safe and secure online banking. Very safe and secure bank to be with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maughan (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Police Bank

Police Bank Easy Access Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic, easy and great customer service

They have affordable loans, and no bank fees. They are just fantastic.

Full review

They have affordable loans, and no bank fees. They are just fantastic.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maughan (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Always willing to lend a hand and very helpful. Especially in terms of their telephone banking.

Full review

Always willing to lend a hand and very helpful. Especially in terms of their telephone banking.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Mis-spelt name, three times?

Terrible. They miss spelt my name three times when they delivered my debit card.

Full review

Terrible. They miss spelt my name three times when they delivered my debit card.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Christopher (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

Everything is so secure and always updated. Excellent bank.

Full review

Everything is so secure and always updated. Excellent bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sonya (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

User friendly

They are comparable with the other leading banks.

Full review

They are comparable with the other leading banks.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Leanne (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always great service delivered from Westpac

Westpac has been very good to me and their customer service is second to none.

Full review

Westpac has been very good to me and their customer service is second to none.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darren (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent banking

Generally always happy with service.

Full review

Generally always happy with service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tamara (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Overall very good survey

I've banked with Westpac all my life. They're just a really good bank.

Full review

I've banked with Westpac all my life. They're just a really good bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darren (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Awesome customer service, no monthly account fees

As I only have the one account with St George which is the everyday savings account, I can't really comment on interest rates etc. I have had my everyday account with St George for over 5 years now and I don't get charged a monthly fee for it as...

Full review

As I only have the one account with St George which is the everyday savings account, I can't really comment on interest rates etc. I have had my everyday account with St George for over 5 years now and I don't get charged a monthly fee for it as long as a certain amount goes in on a monthly basis. I have always had excellent customer service with St. George.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nathan (ACT), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

Great customer service

Full review

Great customer service

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jeremy (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

I have had no help with Bendigo Bank

As far as customer service.goes, I would say it is quite average. It terms of being helpful and understanding this bank has been below average.

Full review

As far as customer service.goes, I would say it is quite average. It terms of being helpful and understanding this bank has been below average.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Carlo (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome bank!

I have to say, I worked previously for a major telco, in a variety of roles but I relate to HR and Senior Training & Development Manager. I would without blinking an eye employ any of FOH or BOH Customer Service Agents. The level of actual care...

Full review

I have to say, I worked previously for a major telco, in a variety of roles but I relate to HR and Senior Training & Development Manager. I would without blinking an eye employ any of FOH or BOH Customer Service Agents. The level of actual care they have when you're either at the counter or on the phone goes beyond what I have had the pleasure of spending time with. They can also quickly assess the situation and think outside the business rules box. They seem to genuinely care and always have time for a small conversation that is not work related whilst multi tasking at the same time. Every time I do business with them, I always walk out smiling. I enjoy going to this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shar (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great way to do banking with them

I would recommend this bank to anyone

Full review

I would recommend this bank to anyone

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good bank overall

St. George are always ready to help when I need their assistance

Full review

St. George are always ready to help when I need their assistance

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tom (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

QT Mutual Bank

QT Mutual Bank Current Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A great bank

Found this to be a great bank, good staff and range of services - what else do you need in a bank?

Full review

Found this to be a great bank, good staff and range of services - what else do you need in a bank?

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bruce (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and great bank

Everything has generally been great, the only con would have to be the surprise account fee that I was only told about after I opened the account. However other than that it has been perfect. Staff, both in store and over the phone are amazing....

Full review

Everything has generally been great, the only con would have to be the surprise account fee that I was only told about after I opened the account. However other than that it has been perfect. Staff, both in store and over the phone are amazing. Online banking, also amazing.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Maddison (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Every thing with this bank is great

Service and everything about them is so beautiful

Full review

Service and everything about them is so beautiful

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lataniga. (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Citibank

Citibank Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Online banking service is good

No ATM fees, no Account keeping fees, no international transaction fees and it also works as a debit credit card for online purchases. Citibank is a really great bank.

Full review

No ATM fees, no Account keeping fees, no international transaction fees and it also works as a debit credit card for online purchases. Citibank is a really great bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sabzeena (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I wouldn't bank with anyone else.

I think my debit card account works really well for me.

Full review

I think my debit card account works really well for me.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leeanne (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great flexibility

Always prepared to help with any issue and very polite.

Full review

Always prepared to help with any issue and very polite.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    HSBC, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 33 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, Commonwealth

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $100 voucher for opening a new account by 18/12/16 & using your Visa Debit card 3 times by 08/01/17
    • New ANZ Access Advantage accounts via this link only. Eligibility T&C’s apply. Consider if product is right for you
    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    ANZ

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $100 voucher for opening a new account by 18/12/16 & using your Visa Debit card 3 times by 08/01/17
    • New ANZ Access Advantage accounts via this link only. Eligibility T&C’s apply. Consider if product is right for you
    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1842 ANZ debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.