Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome.

No issues.
Full review

No issues.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Petra (SA), reviewed about 17 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great Bank

I recommend CBA to anyone
Full review

I recommend CBA to anyone

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Will irani (NSW), reviewed about 17 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service but few staff.

I've had a few problems with setting up accounts with them e.g. the person I was dealing with left, and left no details of what I was applying for... My biggest problem with them is the amount of time you wait in line to see a Teller, the line at...
Full review

I've had a few problems with setting up accounts with them e.g. the person I was dealing with left, and left no details of what I was applying for... My biggest problem with them is the amount of time you wait in line to see a Teller, the line at times can have 10 to 15 people in front of you with only 2 Tellers on...but from what I gather this is the norm with a lot of banks. As with most large banks they have fees for everything!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Joanne (NSW), reviewed about 17 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service with brilliant product

It does give a good interest rate and it is very convenience to have an app to do the transaction.
Full review

It does give a good interest rate and it is very convenience to have an app to do the transaction.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mandy (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Quick and easy service

Easy to set up account, straightforward online banking (and banking apps). Lots of ATMs around. Quick transfers using app.
Full review

Easy to set up account, straightforward online banking (and banking apps). Lots of ATMs around. Quick transfers using app.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Corrina (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great product range

CBA is a great bank, customer friendly and have a fantastic range of products. However, recently had an issue with a customer service officer not re-issuing a debit card following an odd transaction. As a result, I'm now waiting over twice the...
Full review

CBA is a great bank, customer friendly and have a fantastic range of products. However, recently had an issue with a customer service officer not re-issuing a debit card following an odd transaction. As a result, I'm now waiting over twice the allotted time for the bank to rectify this.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jen (WA), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic bank

Best bank won't ever bank with anyone else.
Full review

Best bank won't ever bank with anyone else.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carla (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest Business Zero Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not trustworthy

I don't like my bank and would love to change
Full review

I don't like my bank and would love to change

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Theresa (WA), reviewed 7 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

QT Mutual Bank

QT Mutual Bank Current Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and easy online access

I have always found them very helpful. I was able to access a mortgage easily. I find their internet banking easy to use.
Full review

I have always found them very helpful. I was able to access a mortgage easily. I find their internet banking easy to use.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Marie (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Pensioner Security Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Interest rates too high and monthly fees

Everything is fine but the credit card interest rate is too high and they are also charging me $4 monthly. This is disappointing as other banks don't charge monthly fee.
Full review

Everything is fine but the credit card interest rate is too high and they are also charging me $4 monthly. This is disappointing as other banks don't charge monthly fee.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nafisa (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Complete Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Truly deserves an awesome rating

I rate them with a perfect 10 because they're simply awesome . They got everything that I need and wanted from a bank.
Full review

I rate them with a perfect 10 because they're simply awesome . They got everything that I need and wanted from a bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jay (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No issues encountered

Happy using their debit card
Full review

Happy using their debit card

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Crystal (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The peoples bank

I have found my banking experience with Commonwealth to be reliable, trustworthy and dependable! In my opinion there is only one bank and I am a proud member of its community.
Full review

I have found my banking experience with Commonwealth to be reliable, trustworthy and dependable! In my opinion there is only one bank and I am a proud member of its community.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alexander (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I've banked with them for 5 years now and could not ask for a better bank
Full review

I've banked with them for 5 years now and could not ask for a better bank

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Megan (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

BCU

BCU Access Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They are great and easy to talk to

I love being with the Banana Coast Community Credit Union because they are very honest and polite and they always try their best to help find a solution to whatever problems you may have
Full review

I love being with the Banana Coast Community Credit Union because they are very honest and polite and they always try their best to help find a solution to whatever problems you may have

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Theresa (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Pensioner Security Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Tellers are always helpful
Full review

Tellers are always helpful

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Evamaria (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

I have been a loyal customer of ANZ and will always be.
Full review

I have been a loyal customer of ANZ and will always be.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Beatriz (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Bad customer service.

Never had any problems with ANZ, but it's very rare to find a friendly sales assistant when going into a bank.
Full review

Never had any problems with ANZ, but it's very rare to find a friendly sales assistant when going into a bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Ashleigh (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

Helps in everything and they have a great app for transferring money
Full review

Helps in everything and they have a great app for transferring money

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kartavya (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

It's one of the big four so my funds are safer?

Accessing term deposits is made difficult should you need to before the account matures. They are terrible with deposits made to hotels as they take forever to release the funds. However staff in branches are very friendly but seem to be...
Full review

Accessing term deposits is made difficult should you need to before the account matures. They are terrible with deposits made to hotels as they take forever to release the funds. However staff in branches are very friendly but seem to be constrained by so many restrictive procedures.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

I bank at the Booval branch , I find the staff to be very approachable and eager to help.
Full review

I bank at the Booval branch , I find the staff to be very approachable and eager to help.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Wayne (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac 55+ and Retired debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent friendly customer service

I have been with the bank for a lot of years they have assisted me with both personal and home loans and were very efficient. They were also efficient at resolving fraudulent activity on my account. Excellent customer service
Full review

I have been with the bank for a lot of years they have assisted me with both personal and home loans and were very efficient. They were also efficient at resolving fraudulent activity on my account. Excellent customer service

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Margaret (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good

Bank does its job with no extra charges
Full review

Bank does its job with no extra charges

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rory (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Westpac is good

Been with Westpac for 20 years and never had a problem
Full review

Been with Westpac for 20 years and never had a problem

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kim (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Ultimate Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy banking

Always easy to talk to on the phone and I always speak to a real person. Also very affordable rates.
Full review

Always easy to talk to on the phone and I always speak to a real person. Also very affordable rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lucas (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Debit card comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ME Everyday Transaction Account

    ME Everyday Transaction Account

    • Access to thousands of fee-free ME and Westpac Group Australian ATMs with a ME Debit MasterCard®
    • Plus receive refunds on fees incurred at all other Australian ATMs within 30 days of the transaction
    • Make at least one tap & go purchase a week and earn up to 3.60% p.a. variable on your savings

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    ME Bank, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Access to thousands of fee-free ME and Westpac Group Australian ATMs with a ME Debit MasterCard®
    • Plus receive refunds on fees incurred at all other Australian ATMs within 30 days of the transaction
    • Make at least one tap & go purchase a week and earn up to 3.60% p.a. variable on your savings
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, phone, internet and BPAY
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 55 ME debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Use your HSBC Visa Debit Card to enjoy 5% cashback on all payWave purchases under $100
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    HSBC, Westpac, St George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • Use your HSBC Visa Debit Card to enjoy 5% cashback on all payWave purchases under $100
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 33 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    NAB, rediATM

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn up to 10,000 bonus Qantas Points. Limited time only. T&Cs apply
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, Commonwealth

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn up to 10,000 bonus Qantas Points. Limited time only. T&Cs apply
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank, insurer, gas or electricity for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.