Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Online app is easy to use

Just a great bank to deal with.
Full review

Just a great bank to deal with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lorraine (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

For the brave only.

The bank keeps its every word. Do not enter here unless you are interested in what they offer.
Full review

The bank keeps its every word. Do not enter here unless you are interested in what they offer.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Leslie (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Lite Direct Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy to be a loyal Bankwest costumer.

I've had a Bankwest debit card for over 6 years now and I haven't had any issues with my account or Bankwest I am happy with all aspects of my account and Bankwest that I will continue being a loyal Bankwest costumer in the future.
Full review

I've had a Bankwest debit card for over 6 years now and I haven't had any issues with my account or Bankwest I am happy with all aspects of my account and Bankwest that I will continue being a loyal Bankwest costumer in the future.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jade (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

ANZ

ANZ debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and super

I like the $1000 overdraft
Full review

I like the $1000 overdraft

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kelsey (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank, fails in customer service.

They have lots of branches. It's easy to find a branch because of the colour scheme. Their internet banking is easy to navigate. The biggest irritation is that they do not put enough tellers to work, so there is a significant wait for service....
Full review

They have lots of branches. It's easy to find a branch because of the colour scheme. Their internet banking is easy to navigate. The biggest irritation is that they do not put enough tellers to work, so there is a significant wait for service. Another irritation is the greeters in the bank. I know what I want to do, I do not want them interfering in my business.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Warwick (TAS), reviewed 13 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service at my local branch

Very convenient and have always been willing to help and provide solutions.
Full review

Very convenient and have always been willing to help and provide solutions.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Bill (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great work with this one

Like my bank as l can check my account any time and not have to travel to and throw if l need money it is there.
Full review

Like my bank as l can check my account any time and not have to travel to and throw if l need money it is there.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 13 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Yes very good and I would recommend your bank.

I love the service from the staff I get and hours that your bank gives to their customers which is working on Saturday.
Full review

I love the service from the staff I get and hours that your bank gives to their customers which is working on Saturday.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Fikret (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low fees and excellent customer service.

I like that they don't charge a lot of fees. In fact there are hardly any fees which is great. Their online and telephone banking is easy to use and their customer service is great. One thing that they could improve on is ATM availability. There...
Full review

I like that they don't charge a lot of fees. In fact there are hardly any fees which is great. Their online and telephone banking is easy to use and their customer service is great. One thing that they could improve on is ATM availability. There are not enough NAB ATM's and I often find myself having to use another banks ATM and get charged a fee.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Tori (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome customer service and simple online banking

I like this bank because the staff are friendly, the online banking is super easy, and they set up my account that best fits my personal needs.
Full review

I like this bank because the staff are friendly, the online banking is super easy, and they set up my account that best fits my personal needs.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sammie (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Westpac is my fave bank

I love cardless cash and beimgg able to lock and unlucky lost cards
Full review

I love cardless cash and beimgg able to lock and unlucky lost cards

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Bianca (WA), reviewed 13 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Commonwealth is great

Commonwealth is reliable and so helpful whenever I call for help. Very trustworthy and great customer service.
Full review

Commonwealth is reliable and so helpful whenever I call for help. Very trustworthy and great customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Veronica (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Simply Access debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great honest customer service

I like staff in all branches and with phone call, response is immediate and person is Australian.
Full review

I like staff in all branches and with phone call, response is immediate and person is Australian.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jennifer (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

St.George

St.George debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Is reasonably competitive but not outstanding.

The bank is good in regards to customer service but they don't seem to have any rewards or loyalty for long term customers.
Full review

The bank is good in regards to customer service but they don't seem to have any rewards or loyalty for long term customers.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Leanne (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Would prefer if my total went over the limit more.

I love the convenience of having a NAB visa debit.
Full review

I love the convenience of having a NAB visa debit.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Serica (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome bank

They're a great bank for centre link customers. No fees...
Full review

They're a great bank for centre link customers. No fees...

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joanne (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like this

Most supportive customer care
Full review

Most supportive customer care

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sebimol (VIC), reviewed 13 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy to use, convenient and great customer service

It is very convenient. There are ATM's everywhere. It is easy to use and I trust them. They tend to charge fees etc if you sell shares, etc. but i guess all banks are like that. Service is very good. If I call them, they usually answer quickly and...
Full review

It is very convenient. There are ATM's everywhere. It is easy to use and I trust them. They tend to charge fees etc if you sell shares, etc. but i guess all banks are like that. Service is very good. If I call them, they usually answer quickly and answer my queries quite well.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mana (ACT), reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great Customer Service

Have been with them for years and they have always treated me right
Full review

Have been with them for years and they have always treated me right

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sandra (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Citibank

Citibank Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All

The service is great always very helpful, when going overseas and at home.
Full review

The service is great always very helpful, when going overseas and at home.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mona (QLD), reviewed 21 days ago

St.George

St.George SENSE Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Can't go wrong

Even though other banks I believe offer more. St George has not let me down with products and services.
Full review

Even though other banks I believe offer more. St George has not let me down with products and services.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bronts (QLD), reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very aware of current customer demands

LOVE the commbank app and the constant addition of new features that prove CBA are keeping up with new tech
Full review

LOVE the commbank app and the constant addition of new features that prove CBA are keeping up with new tech

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jess (VIC), reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

It is amazing to bank with commonwealth

Commonwealth is an a great bank to bank with. It has low cost and low free of interest unless you over drown.
Full review

Commonwealth is an a great bank to bank with. It has low cost and low free of interest unless you over drown.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sankara (VIC), reviewed 21 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Reliable service

The support while traveling overseas is great, and customer service is friendly and helpful
Full review

The support while traveling overseas is great, and customer service is friendly and helpful

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Grant (TAS), reviewed 21 days ago

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank and friendly

Best card ever
Full review

Best card ever

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barbara (SA), reviewed 24 days ago

Debit card comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    HSBC, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 33 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    NAB, rediATM

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • 24/7 worldwide protection with ANZ Falcon fraud monitoring

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    ANZ

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • 24/7 worldwide protection with ANZ Falcon fraud monitoring
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01%pa.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1842 ANZ debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME Everyday Transaction Account

    ME Everyday Transaction Account

    • Free access at any ME or Westpac Group Australian ATMs
    • Receive refunds on fees incurred at all other Australian ATMS within 30 days
    • Make a weekly tap & go purchase to earn up to 3.60% p.a. variable on your savings

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    ME, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free access at any ME or Westpac Group Australian ATMs
    • Receive refunds on fees incurred at all other Australian ATMS within 30 days
    • Make a weekly tap & go purchase to earn up to 3.60% p.a. variable on your savings
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, phone, internet and BPAY
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 55 ME debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.